Poetic License – October 2010

Poetic License is that part of Morning Erection that allows me to showcase some of the great poets that I found in my travels throughout the Internet. I have found that by posting works by other bloggers often brings more traffic to their site and that is a good thing. If you missed the first Poetic License, please check it out.

Each month I will share seven poems with you from other bloggers and one from myself. If you like poetry, I hope you come back each month for more!

These Three Words
by MoZaic

These three words
powerful and sweet
speak volumes much
louder than crowds
& softer than whispers

These three words
cause hurt & pain
cut deeper than
razors leaves
wounds open
wider than
the Atlantic

These three words
I can’t live without
hearing or feeling
expressing or receiving

These three words
are reserved only
for you the one
the only the one
I need the one
I want the one
I give it
to freely
you

These three words
I Love You

Why I Write
by Shelbie M. Moore

Someone once asked me
“What do you want to do with your life?”
I thought and said, “I want to write”
“Write what?” they asked
Here’s what I responded

I don’t want to write what’s been written
I don’t want to create a story that everyone’s heard
I want to be original
I want to be important
I want my mind to matter over my body
I want to be judged for my allusions, motifs, and hyperboles
I want to be known for the rhythm my tongue makes
As it literally rolls under my words
I want to influence using only my vocabulary
I want to have a dream
I want to make women feel phenomenal
I want to write by any means necessary

I want to make people feel every cliché
ever written by an author or poet
I want my readers’ blood to pump
I want to make their adrenaline sprint through their veins as their heart physically skips beats
I want people to blink back tears and think of their lovers as I recite words such as
“Everyone has their flaws
but yours are so microscopic I don’t feel the need to point them out”
I want my phrases to build marriages
And comfort divorces
I want my rhymes to make a guy reminisce on that one special kiss
That makes him regret every mistake he’s made
I want to piss off the men and women who’ve wronged me and I’ll use their tears to fill the ink in my pen

I want families to read my poems on holidays
I want grandmothers to recite my stories by heart
I want to be remembered for the talent I possessed
I want to be known for my intellect, creativity, and smile
A smile I’ll show at every
Performance, book signing, slam, or presentation

And whenever a child grabs a biography of me
I want one quote engraved in their memory
“All Shelbie wanted to do is write
So that’s how she spent her life”


Heart Beat
by Meghan Lee

This pen is my vein
This ink is my blood
This thought is my pulse
Badump
Badump

This page is my memory
These words are my legacy
This hour is short
Badump
Badump

When the veins are collapsing
When the blood has run dry
When the pulse beats no more
Badump
Badump

When the memory has faded
When the hour is up
This legacy lives on
Badump
Badump

In Love’s Light
by SeeNote

In Love’s light, I find myself.
Unobscured,
And with a splintering conscience.
A veiled passion no longer disguised
Finds me depraved and insolent
Standing alone foremost and within
A room where the walls are both boundless and absolute.
I turn away to avoid Love’s reproach.
I am Revealed and displayed for truth’s sake
Instinctively scowling with downcast eyes.
Searching not for the blissful dole of Love’s impatient gaze -
I recoil and voraciously ensconce the rapture I have come to embrace;
Clinging to the agony it has wrought.
Any pursuit of celestial adoration has long subsided
And since been substituted with earthly inclination.
I’ve made an acquaintance of simple satisfaction -
And it has been enough for me.
Still no affinity is forged without compromise:
My intricacies have not afforded me any exception.
The blinding illumination beyond my closed eyelids has dimmed to a subtle glow.
I am left alone again, to my own device.


Autumn’s Seduction

by Cherlyn Cochrane

The leaves, stripped of their green,
now brilliant shades of orange and red,
fall slowly to the ground – their bed -
once more, never again to be seen.
With a gentle hint of summers end,
and a breeze carrying a fall shiver
(just enough to make me quiver) -
Autumn is here, it transcends.
The darkness from nightfall shrouds
the moon; the shadows move and creep,
prowling around those that sleep -
there is no light peaking from the clouds.
Autumn brings beauty, and it brings fright -
two opposing forces balanced at one time.
For it is breathtaking and sublime,
and it brings those that wander the night.

Let It Be Known
by Helen Howell

To be awake but not awakened
and, oh, this is a merry life
that keeps one in the mire
of reality’s conspiracy.

And then there is the light
but no enlightenment
and knowledge but no wisdom
and love but no loving.

Peace is there somewhere
but no peacefulness
because it cuddles up to joy
and hides in discontent.

Let it be known I know
how great we are to live this farce
and play-act with intensity
the simulated genuine.

But of the genuine who knows
if ere upon a dusty shore
if will rise in true force, effect,
and stand as one triumphant?

Let it be known I don’t know
but maybe in a future time
there’ll be a misfit speck of past
that shows I should have known.

The awake, enlightened, wise,
the peaceful and the joyous,
all specks within the folds of time
that one day will make a … whole!


Tell Them
by Dawn Gibson

Tick tock
Goes the clock
Seconds, minutes,
Hours to days.
Eternity waits
with each breath you take
Are you ready to go?
None of us knows
The hour, the day,
The time.
In one moment
You will find
everything left behind.
Then it’s too late
You’ve sealed your fate
Please don’t wait…
Tell them you love them.
Now.
While you still have the chance.


The Dance
by Tom Baker

Swaying, twisting
A glimmer, a shimmer
You move and you turn
You’re blue then you’re orange

Waving, twirling
A slither, a glide
I watch as you step slowly then
You dart and you dash

Rolling, jaunting
A scurry, a trot
Intoxicating, entranced, I can’t look away
Mimic the daylight, parting the dark

You’re dancing, your light
On my wife’s naked flesh
I watch the shadow of your flame
Enjoying the motion, the beauty

Of the candle’s naughty dance

All Rights Reserved © by their respective authors. Tom Baker and his Morning Erection blog make no claims to any poetry other than his own.

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by MeghanLee on October 31, 2010 - 1:42 PM

    Thank you so much for including my poem this month. All of the pieces are excellent!

    • #2 by Tom Baker on October 31, 2010 - 2:24 PM

      Actually again I want to thank you for allowing me to use it on the site. I hope it has brought new visitors to your site!

  2. #3 by Quianna Kim on October 29, 2010 - 6:25 AM

    Very nice Tom! I didn’t see where you were going with the dance, but writing poetry for your wife is beautiful. All the poems are great! I fell in love with MoZaic’s These Three Words right away. I’m going to check out last months. Great idea, great post.

    • #4 by Tom Baker on October 29, 2010 - 4:29 PM

      I’m glad you like poetry and enjoyed these. My November post is already to go. I’m glad people want to share and are allowing me to showcase their works.

  3. #5 by gibsongirl247 on October 27, 2010 - 10:59 AM

    I enjoyed reading all the poems. Excellent.

    • #6 by Tom Baker on October 29, 2010 - 8:40 AM

      Thanks for letting me include yours Dawn. I’m glad you liked everyone’s poems.

  4. #7 by Cherlyn on October 27, 2010 - 10:23 AM

    I was really blown away by all the poems! I can’t pick a favourite, but one that really resonated with me emotionally was Let It Be Known. They were all terrific, and just amazingly well written – especially yours Tom :)

    Thank you for having me in this month’s Poetic License, it is an honour to have my work alongside such great writers :)!

  5. #8 by lusysunsetgirl on October 27, 2010 - 1:28 AM

    Things have been pretty rough down here lately – natural disasters everywhere so this post is a great reminder of life. Thank you to all 8 poets for sharing these.

  6. #9 by Scent of my heart on October 27, 2010 - 12:23 AM

    8 lovely poems! Well done to all writers … it’s hard to have favorite, because they are all good!

    • #10 by Tom Baker on October 29, 2010 - 4:24 PM

      I like them as well Blaga. I have a favorite but I won’t say! It’s not mine though.

      • #11 by Scent of my heart on October 30, 2010 - 12:42 AM

        :)

  1. Check Out “Poetic License” – November 2010 @MorningErection.Wordpress.com | 1MereMortal

Leave Me With A Portion Of You ...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 440 other followers

