Poetic License – November 2010

Poetic License is that part of Morning Erection that allows me to showcase some of the great poets that I found in my travels throughout the Internet. I have found that by posting works by other bloggers often brings more traffic to their site and that is a good thing. If you missed the first Poetic License, please check it out.

Each month I will share seven poems with you from other bloggers, mostly from the WordPress community and one from myself. If you like poetry, I hope you come back each month for more! Beginning in January Poetic License will be featured on the first day of each month.

This month’s Poetic License features the normal seven poets but this month two of the poets are sisters, Karina and Isamar.

Stained Glass
by David Jones

Fingerprints
On my window
Reflecting
Stained glass
Randomness
Blurring
The light of day
Like frosted
Memories
Reaching out
From my past
Seeking to touch
My psyche
One last time


Basic Decency
by Sina Saberi

We don’t have to talk with words
Our actions speak in many colors

Our manner shows what our inner holds
And speaks so loud though we keep it hither

We show our inner, out in the open
Our outer lies though, at times, it’s okay

We speak of lies, of blue and purple
Our heart but glows with golden orange

I lie not now, I have never ever !
To me at times; to you but never

I utter none, though I do quite often
So close you ears, keep your eyes wide open

I play my part, I spill my heart
I do it every single minute

Just open up and read my message
Rip your soul and feel me damaged

I’m here today and I’ve become
What my thoughts are; what my actions are

See what I do and that’s who I am
That’s who I am; so, nice to meet you!


My Last Day
by Kimberly LaRocca

I would wake up a little late
Open my eyes
Gazing upon your face
Make love to you
Without saying a word
Not worry about
What could be heard

I would call in sick
Enjoy the day
Take a walk on the beach
Or by the bay
Hold your hand
Our fingers intertwined
Me in your heart

You on my mind
I would make a meal
For you and I
Feed you by hand
Sitting by your side
Wash your feet
Late that night

Silently gazing
In your eyes
I would promise you
My love always
And that id never leave
Forever stay
We’d live this way eternally, id say

That’s how I would spend
My last day


You Should Have Said No…
by Karina Sparks

You should have said no
You should have stayed by my side
you shouldn’t have been blinded by fake love
you shouldn’t have stayed and not walk into her arms
do you not see the tears run down my cheeks?

Do you not see my love for you?

Do you not see the mistake you are making?
You walk away with my heart in your hands
it breaks into pieces with each step you take towards her…
as you walk into her open arms my heart finally dissolves into dust
but in the end is she worth it?


Listen Dear Heart
by SaFire Mirza

Someone should tell the heart to give up
The battle ended before it even begun
Lines have already been drawn
White flags hung out to dry

Someone should tell the heart
Destiny cannot be averted
You tried switching the scroll
Piercing the lines of your hands

But here you are
standing in the same place
saying the same words
feeling the same pain
Smiling the same smile
wiping the same bitter sweet tears
dreaming the same elusive dreams

You will walk on the same path
jump over the same old fence
Breathe in the familiar
scent of grass wet with dew
smile wistfully at the orange glow
crunch the same autumn under your shoes
wrap the same scarf
entwine the same gloved fists
Dream the same elusive dream

together…

and fear

being left alone..

catch the breath in your dry throat
hear the heart gallop miles per second

Someone should tell the heart
to not make itself bleed
to not try to
foolishly avoid the inevitable
to not run away
you will look back..

Someone should tell the heart
where the souls are connected
letting go
would render you incomplete
living alone is not an option
and if it is made a choice
you will be one of those ghosts
who did not listen to their
Heart.


Goodbye
by Isamar Sparks

Here we are, under the rain with tears running down my face
with pain growing on my chest
as my hands hold my heart silently falling apart
holding back not to regret I won’t forget the endless nights
here we are with a gaze of no love a gaze we could no longer hide
hold me for the last time let me hear your heart
here and now as the cold wind blows my hair it whispers hope
tears born on those eyes who saw my soul
here we slowly turn away leaving a memory behind as we softly say goodbye.


Captured
by Rockhead

Like you counted
The hairs upon my head
You caught
Every single tear I shed
Like you separated
My transgressions from me
You spread your arms wide
And sacrificed yourself for me
You rose upon my life
Like the sun
With healing on your wings
You sent your rain down
Love poured down
From your eyes to mine
Enraptured and captured
I bask in all of You

Forsaken
by Tom Baker

Alone, abandoned in the rain
Resting on this cold park bench
The wind whips by without a word
Picks me up and carries me away
Time creeps by as I grow older
My flesh withers and my skin wrinkles

Sol plays less and less with me now
I miss its warmth and comforting touch
I miss my family and friends scattered all over
The times I remember spent just hangin’ around
Help me, I’ve fallen and can’t get back up
Such is the life of a leaf at this time of year…

All Rights Reserved © by their respective authors. Tom Baker and his Morning Erection blog make no claims to any poetry other than his own.

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Kavita on December 10, 2010 - 6:22 PM

    Hi Tom… I see you stumbled upon my blog, and liked it enough to feature one of my poems here on your site! That sounds great!! I read some of the poems here, and they were simply superb! I would certainly consider it quite an honor to be part of such cool poets/writers… it’s very sweet of you to ask me.. thanks..

    • #2 by Tom Baker on December 10, 2010 - 6:47 PM

      Yes, you have a great blog with wonderful poetry. It will be featured in April and I appreciate you allowing me to use your poem. This month’s Poetic License comes out on December 13th! I like to think I only choose the best poems to feature and that’s why I asked you. Thank you again.

  2. #3 by katia68 on December 10, 2010 - 3:54 AM

    I am so glad you found my blog, now I can enjoy some of this soul food poetry. Thanks so much for a great blog! We can all use some poetry in life.

    • #4 by Tom Baker on December 10, 2010 - 5:59 AM

      I do like poetry and I have found it is much easier to read than write! Thanks for stopping by Katia!

  3. #5 by Kelly Hay on November 23, 2010 - 10:28 AM

    First time reading your monthly poetry post ~~~ these are wonderful! Really enjoyed reading them!

    • #6 by Tom Baker on November 23, 2010 - 10:51 AM

      Thanks for coming by Kelly – I love new visitors! I have really been lucky to find so many great poets willing to let me showcase their poetry. It is turning out to be one of the most popular posts on the site.

  4. #7 by Rose on November 21, 2010 - 4:44 PM

    Tom, another great month of wonderful poetry. I’m surprised I figured out your poem before I finished it. Great photo this month as well.

    • #8 by Tom Baker on November 22, 2010 - 8:33 AM

      You guessed it was a leaf before finishing it. I guess I didn’t do a good job of hiding the meaning. Thanks for coming by Rose.

  5. #9 by 1MereMortal on November 20, 2010 - 1:02 PM

    Tom,

    I enjoyed reading the selection of poems and it is an honor to be among them. I am going back to the previous posts of Poetic License because I feel I may have been missing the great work of others. Thank you so much and I look forward to future posts.

    David

    • #10 by Tom Baker on November 22, 2010 - 8:30 AM

      David I appreciate it that you allowed your poem to be showcased here. Believe it or not, the future posts of Poetic License are completed all the way up to February. I just need four more for February. If you know someone who writes sexy, sensual or erotic poetry for February, please let them know I am looking. Thanks.

  6. #11 by Cherlyn on November 20, 2010 - 8:59 AM

    An amazing selection of poetry! I have to say this is one of my favourite segments of your blog, I love seeing all the different styles of poetry, and all the different messages being conveyed. So much talent too!

    Oh and I totally forgot to add something to my Bucket List (I’m going to add it right after this) – sometime in my life I’d love to meet some of my favourite bloggers (You and Blaga including)

    • #12 by Tom Baker on November 22, 2010 - 8:28 AM

      Cherlyn this is one of my favorite segments as well. I really like your bucket list and maybe one day we could all meet. You can’t be that far away from Indiana. I have to worn you tho’, my blog is far more interesting than I.

      • #13 by Scent of my heart on November 23, 2010 - 10:08 PM

        Lucky both of you, at least there isn’t an ocean and few mountains, 14 hours flight and few small details to stay on the way to meet :) Cherlyn very sweet of you! Tom your dinner on dec1 would’ve been the best of the best if could’ve been real!

  7. #15 by Kimberly's Page on November 20, 2010 - 8:59 AM

    Great job everyone. I really like the different styles. Nice compilation.

    • #16 by Tom Baker on November 22, 2010 - 8:26 AM

      I’m glad you liked them and thanks again Kimberly!

  8. #17 by Scent of my heart on November 20, 2010 - 12:58 AM

    Nice collection here! Very well done to everyone! …Such is the life of a leaf of this time of year / this is what will stay in my mind/ !

    • #18 by Tom Baker on November 22, 2010 - 8:26 AM

      They are all great. I spend a lot (too much) time looking over WP for all these great poets. If only this segment was more popular I would have people asking to be added and I wouldn’t have to search. Maybe one day soon. Then I could do the feature twice a month or even more. Maybe I should check out Jingle’s site.

      • #19 by Scent of my heart on November 23, 2010 - 10:06 PM

        ‘ve met quiet a lot of poets if you like I can direct you where is a good stuff IMO of course!

        • #20 by Tom Baker on November 24, 2010 - 8:10 AM

          I appreciate that. I would love to fill up all of next year’s Poetic License posts. That’s seven per month and twelve months, January is almost finished so about 80 poems would take me through Dec. 2011! I look forward to your email!! No pressure though…

  1. Check Out “Poetic License” – November 2010 (MorningErection.Wordpress.com) « 1MereMortal

Leave Me With A Portion Of You ...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 442 other followers

