Giving Thanks…

I was very surprised to find out that Thanksgiving is not just a North American holiday. Food is a very important part of life so it stands to reason that when other nations choose to set aside a day for being thankful, food is at the center of the day.

I am very thankful for so many things that I could not begin to name all of them, so alas, I will take the easy way out and name none (wiping the smirk off my face)! Happy Thanksgiving. Enjoy time with family and friends, watch football, eat to your heart’s content and help clean up the dishes for your mom.

I found this information on About.com and Yahoo! Answers.

Ancient Chinese
Chung Ch’ui, was celebrated during harvest time.

Ancient Greeks
Celebrated during autumn, a festival to honor the goddess of corn and grains, Demeter.

Ancient Romans
Celebrated during autumn, to honor the goddess of corn, Ceres.

Brazil
Dia Nacional de Acao de Gracas, 4th Thursday of November.

Japan
Labor Thanksgiving Day, is on November 23.

British Isles
Lammas Day is a harvest festival.

Canada
Thanksgiving Day or Fete de Grace, or Harvest home Festival, is celebrated on the second Monday in October.

Israel
Sukkot, the 5th day after Yom Kippur.

Liberia
Thanksgiving Day is celebrated on the first Thursday in November.

Mexico
Independence Day, is celebrated on September 16th.

Germany
Erntedankfest, is celebrated on the first Sunday in October.

Switzerland
The Federal Day of Thanks, Penance, and Prayer, 3rd Sunday in September.

Korea
Chusok, is celebrated on the 15th day of the eighth lunar month of the traditional Korean calendar.

, , ,

  1. #1 by barrycyrus on November 25, 2010 - 1:05 PM

    We don’t do thanksgiving here. But to you who celebrate it, Happy Thanksgiving Day! :)

    • #2 by Tom Baker on November 25, 2010 - 1:40 PM

      Barry, thank you very much. How have you been lately? Thanks for stopping by once again.

  2. #3 by Chris on November 25, 2010 - 11:42 AM

    Happy Turkey Day Tom!

    • #4 by Tom Baker on November 25, 2010 - 12:30 PM

      Same to you Chris. Don’t eat too much!

  3. #5 by Melinda on November 25, 2010 - 8:04 AM

    Happy Thanksgiving! I didn’t know there were so many similar celebrations…many from countries you’d never think about having a harvest celebration yet it makes sense.

    • #6 by Tom Baker on November 25, 2010 - 8:10 AM

      I was shocked as well. I say Happy Thanksgiving on my blog and realize so many of my cyber friends aren’t even in the U.S. I got curious and this post is the result. Thanks for coming by Melinda. Still hoping you will do a guest post in the coming year!

  4. #7 by Scent of my heart on November 24, 2010 - 5:02 AM

    Happy Thanksgiving to you Tom, hope you have a good one! Loved the post! Here is a link to the other photographer I did a post about http://scentofmyheart.wordpress.com/2010/10/27/hhd-6-inspirations-i/ Will send you an e-mail later on about the poetry, when I have a bit more time, thanks for visiting Scent of my heart. Be well!

    • #8 by Tom Baker on November 24, 2010 - 8:04 AM

      I remember that post. Blaga, I would like to visit all my favorite blogs more often and I feel bad because you stop here everyday. I’ve subscribed to your blog but I forget to check my subscriptions. I hope to do better!

      • #9 by Scent of my heart on November 24, 2010 - 8:56 AM

        That’s fine, don’t worry! You don’t need to feel bad! Smile!

        • #10 by Tom Baker on November 24, 2010 - 9:43 AM

          Nonetheless, I am thankful for your friendship.

          • #11 by Scent of my heart on November 25, 2010 - 12:46 AM

            Check your e-mail sent you few links and names, also waiting to see the work between you and Melissa, I saw she said yes for the interview, very happy about it, cause she is a nice person!

          • #12 by Tom Baker on November 25, 2010 - 6:06 AM

            Speaking of nice people… so are you! Thank you very much. I have the questions in place and as soon as I’m satisfied with them, I will send them to her. You are very kind to have allowed me to interview her when you could have done it. Many thanks.

  5. #13 by Cherlyn on November 24, 2010 - 4:21 AM

    A great post! I love learning about other cultures traditions :) Happy thanksgiving to you sir!

    • #14 by Tom Baker on November 24, 2010 - 8:06 AM

      Again, and I guess it’s because Alex Trebek is from Canada, I got the Thanksgiving date question right on Jeopardy because of your post last month. I’m not winning any money but I like getting Jeopardy questions right — just for myself! Thanks!! I knew I liked you for a reason!!!

Leave Me With A Portion Of You ...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 442 other followers

