Poetic License – January 2011

 

Poetic License now has a definite post date. You can expect to see Poetic License posted on the first Monday of every month. As I have done since last September, there are seven poems from mostly WordPress poets below. This month my poem is a collaboration of sorts. It is my tribute to one of my favorite musicians, Prince. Every other line from the poem is a line from one of his songs and the other is an original thought from my head. I wonder if you can figure out the 26 songs I used.

The poem has nothing to do with my relationship with April, just in case the subject matters makes you question. Next month is February, the month of love. The eight featured poems will have love as the common theme. Love that is romantic, sensual and erotic. I would have to say that a few of the poems in February are for the 18 and above crowd only.

January also marks the first time I am combining the previous four months of poetry into one. Make sure to click on the link below to see the Tri-Annual Poetic License Magazine. If you allowed me to showcase your poetry anytime in 2010, you will find it once again in the magazine. I hope you like it.


First Kiss
by Emily T.

Only sounds
Are those
Of  crickets
And rain

Drops slide down
Foggy windows
Leaving long
Clear streaks

My first kiss
Wasn’t meant
To be
Like this

It was meant
To be sweet
Tender
Loving

Not fast
Hasty
Empty
Unemotional

Entirely wrong.

So
by Iris Orpi

So you want me to talk to you
about loneliness.
So you want me to tell you
how cold the days are
even at high noon
and how hollow the darkness
of the nights
unable to hide
the glowing green eyes
of brokenness,
how I wake up each morning
in a state of panic
because the world ahead
has no warmth in store for me
and go to sleep each night
with my heart
heavy as lead.
So you want me to tell you
emptiness is a centipede
with a hundred feet
that noiselessly tread
the cracks on the walls
of my soul
that used to be a dam
of abundant emotion
in which I used to dip
my fountain pen for ink.
So you want me to explain
how whispers
bounce off the ear drums
of the deaf.
So you want me to explain
a painting
to the blind.

But I have no reason to,
and there are no words
in any language
or any dictionary translation
of silence
to describe how much I miss you.

From A Daughter To A Mother
by Aiswarya Gopan

You gave birth to me and brought me into this world
You watched over me, fed me, read to me, and sang me lullabies
You taught me how to take my first steps, held my hands through it all
As I learnt how to put one foot in front of the next
Letting go of your grip, when you were sure I wouldn’t fall
You made sacrifices for me, putting my joys before yours
All the time driven by a dream to make my life better than the life you had
Molding me into the person I am today
Infusing life into me with every lesson you taught
You have cried infinite tears of joy, through all phases of my life
No words would be sufficient to thank you for all that you have done for me
Mother, you have been the best teacher I could ever ask for
For you taught me how to live my life, and be proud of who I am today
For that, more than merely bringing me into this world, I will forever be indebted to you
As only a daughter can be towards her mother
I am humbled yet liberated as I confess the love I have for you
For everything you have been to me – my strength, my meaning, my maker, my mother

What A Lie
by Shyaire Ganglani

Look at me. I lied.
Watch me as I fall.
Try to pick me up and realise that I’m broken.
That the pieces fall everywhere.
Mock me as I crawl away.
Taunt me in the corner.
You don’t need stick and stones.
You’ve got words.
The world has words.
Throw them at me piece by piece and watch them cut my soul.
Watch me bleed the liquid hurt.
Watch me as I fall apart.
Piece by piece, word by word,
Look at me;
I’m broken.


Magic In The Backyard
by Kellie Elmore

Soft spoken eyes, infectious laughter,
her spirit so young, a dreamer, a doubter
On the dewy grass beneath the sun,
sun-kissed cheeks, dreams ready to run

Curly blond locks, sweet dimpling smile
A wonderland awaits in the mind of a child
For all that she sees, through innocent heart
A whimsical journey only she can take part

Pinks and purples illuminating her sky,
she looks to the heavens, lays back with a sigh
She takes up her journal and begins to pen
coloring the pages with what she puts in

Capturing the essence of all that she sees
The sweat on her neck now cooled by the breeze
The dew on the grass and sun in the sky
Just she and her pen and swatting at flies

She tells the pages a story that’s  hers
and makes her backyard magic with words
Painting fairies and princes from flowers and trees
Penning perfection with grass-stained knees


The One With The Curls
by Luke Prater

What became of my summertime girls?
On that field grazes a cow
what became of the one with the curls?

This malaise like a flag, it unfurls
on that field lazes a plough
what became of my summertime girls?

Through Winter, desolation uncurls
those people and places are gone, now
what became of the one with the curls?

What became of her sweet smile of pearls?
I need dreams to help me along, now
what became of my summertime girls?

I’m far from these fanciful whirls
the maze up ahead asks me: how?
What became of the one with the curls?

The Ladies have all met their Earls
ach! Wo ist meine Frau?
What became of my summertime girls?
What became of the one with the curls?

Living Upside Down
by Kelly Hay

I’m living upside down
in a right side up world
being tossed and tumbled about,
like in a dryer with no off switch
having been left for far too long
heart battered and bruised, I emerge
soul singed and wrinkled.

And yet still you try to fold me
vainly attempting to smooth life’s creases
with your hand, an exacting science,
precise measurements, a life molded to fit
into a drawer of your own choosing.

Who is this demographic god
and can he be slaughtered?
Maybe I would rather be hung up,
air dried or casually tossed upon the floor
to stretch out.  We should all refuse to be
folded, trimmed, shaped, mended to fit
someone else’s framed box.

Purple Reign
by Tom Baker

Our relationship is flawed; dysfunctional but
I never meant to cause you any sorrow
We are once again two lonely souls adrift in the cosmos
Funny but it seems that u’re alone like me
It’s not written in stone that we must stay that way
So here I sit in my lonely room
Wishing you were here again and all mine

It’s just another manic Monday
Another sad day after a lazy week’s end but
I never meant to cause you any pain
Hate that I’m the reason you cried
For the tears in your eyes if they’re tears of sorrow
Cut me to the core and I don’t want to continue hurting you
Why do we scream at each other

I fantasize about forgiveness when we’ll be one again
We all want the stuff that’s found in our wildest dreams
Remember at the beach caught in the down pour?
I only want to see you laughing in the purple rain
We vowed then to stay married forever, no matter what cause
Something ’bout the clouds and you mixed
Now the sun is out but now we are miserable

This condition I got is crucial
We were always meant to be together; wedding rings attest
Everybody always told me good things come 2 those who wait
My prayers were answered in you
I prayed that I could have u all 2 myself
God heard my prayer and sent you to me
All the other kids would love to love you but you’re my little private joy

Opposites attract, they always do my social butterfly
I was the kind of man who’d rather stay at home
Selfishly I didn’t want to share you with the world
Vous etes tres belle
I was blinded by your beauty and so was he
The beautiful ones, they hurt u every time
I forgave you now you forgive yourself and come back

If I could just look u in the eye
And tell you how much I miss you, want you, love you
If I was your one and only friend
Would you forget the past and be my wife again?
I get so discouraged, I never see you anymore
Tears of joy will pour down when once again we embrace then
Let’s kiss with one synonymous notion

A marathon of sad thought traverse my mind
Nothing can stop this lonely rain from falling
Not unless you drop everything and run back to your man
Rain is wet, sugar is sweet
Whenever we make love so are you; my arms miss you so
I’m blinded by the daisies in your yard
Still captivated by the aroma of your nectar

How come you don’t call me anymore
Wait, I see you there coming up the steps, opening the door
The most beautiful girl in the world
Wanting to still and always and forever be mine
I only want to see you bathing in the purple rain
Let’s start anew again forsaking all others because

 

All Rights Reserved © by their respective authors. Tom Baker and his Morning Erection blog make no claims to any poetry other than his own.

If your poem is featured on Poetic License please consider adding the graphic to your site. It definitely is not required but you would make me a happy camper!

Poetic License, The Tri-Annual Magazine

Poetic License began in September 2010. I think it has been a great success as a segment on Morning Erection. I have compiled the last four month’s of poetry into one magazine style post. For everyone who contributed a poem, I hope you like the tri-annual magazine and will share the link with readers on your site. Feel free to distribute the magazine and come back in May and September for future editions. Poetic License, The Tri-Annual Magazine.

To still and always and forever be mine

, , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Alex Tan on February 21, 2012 - 7:18 AM

    Wow, I love Purple Reign! Well so far I have read three or four Poetic License posts, read how you and your friends have helped Anne, skipped through some of your 31 days of honesty and even read your very early posts. I’m hoping you don’t stop posting. I hope you find the desire to continue blogging. Pencil Pillow, yours and only a handful of other peoples blogs keep my interest so you must continue. Time to get ready for school.

    • #2 by Tom Baker on February 21, 2012 - 2:16 PM

      I’m glad you like the poem Alex. Leave as many comments as you want and keep coming back. Hopefully I will start blogging once again.

  2. #3 by hedgewitch on February 3, 2011 - 5:09 PM

    Tom, RE your request to include my poem Fever Dream on your blog, you are more than welcome to do so as all poetry on my site is licensed under Creative Commons 3.0 Unported to be shared as long as correct attribution is given and nothing is altered. If you need anything further from me, please let me know. Thank you for letting me know, as I do appreciate being advised when my poetry is posted elsewhere.

    • #4 by Tom Baker on February 7, 2011 - 8:36 AM

      Hedgewitch, thank you. I really appreciate being able to feature Fever Dream. I hope you come back because today is the February Poetic License!

  3. #5 by addybee on January 16, 2011 - 1:43 AM

    This is such a beautiful selection of poetry! I am absolutely honoured that you want to include my poem :) I’m glad you stumbled on my blog. Thank you so much! <3

    • #6 by Tom Baker on January 17, 2011 - 9:41 PM

      I’m glad you liked the poetry. It is I who am honored that you want your poem featured. Thanks again.

  4. #7 by Desiree on January 10, 2011 - 7:29 PM

    Great poems.. y’all keep it up!

  5. #8 by prinsesamusang on January 10, 2011 - 6:37 AM

    great selection as always! the tri annual magazine is so cool! i can’t believe i see my name on it. thank you so much. i actually feel proud of myself. lol

    • #9 by Tom Baker on January 11, 2011 - 6:48 AM

      I’m very glad you like it. I hope to be able to use another poem of yours, if you don’t mind!

  6. #10 by angelnjuly on January 9, 2011 - 7:11 PM

    Interesting site for poems. Really inspiring.

    • #11 by Tom Baker on January 10, 2011 - 5:17 PM

      Thank you and I appreciate you coming by.

  7. #12 by Melinda on January 6, 2011 - 6:14 PM

    Great poems!! I’m taking back my fanatical Prince fan status because I didn’t know them all…eeekk…but a lot I did and I could just hear him singing in your poem. So creative, Tom.

    • #13 by Tom Baker on January 7, 2011 - 6:32 AM

      You can still be fanatical! Some of the songs were a lot later on than the heights of his 80′s popularity.

  8. #14 by The Reason You Come on January 5, 2011 - 10:21 AM

    Hi Tom, this is a wonderful collection of poems! I have three favorites, but they’re all awesome literary works. I love what you have done here, Poetic License is a great idea.

    Also, I think your “Purple Reign” is an inspired and clever piece of work. Sad and sexy at the same time, and reads like a song. Happy New Year! :)

    • #15 by Tom Baker on January 5, 2011 - 11:14 AM

      I’m glad you dropped in. Please visit the sites of your favorite three and let them know! Your kind words are an inspiration. Prince is the man! Your poem comes up next month I believe!

  9. #16 by Aiswarya on January 5, 2011 - 7:34 AM

    hey Tom, this issue is really nice.. i love your concept of poetic license. thank you for putting my poem out there, and giving me (and so many fellow poets like me) a chance at greater readership! :)

    • #17 by Tom Baker on January 5, 2011 - 9:22 AM

      Thank you Aiswarya and I’m hoping it does increase your readership! It was nice of you to let me feature your poetry.

  10. #18 by Scent of my heart on January 5, 2011 - 5:40 AM

    Lovely collection here! I’m a big fan of Luke’s poetry, really professional level of writing, but the rest were good too! Well done Tom and salutes to all writers and their effort!

    • #19 by Tom Baker on January 5, 2011 - 9:17 AM

      Thank you Blaga. You know I only look for the best and I believe it was you who led me to Luke’s site.

  11. #20 by heather grace stewart on January 4, 2011 - 9:54 PM

    Just found you, thanks to Kellie Elmore. Love what you’ve done here. Cheers!

    • #21 by Tom Baker on January 5, 2011 - 9:14 AM

      Thanks for coming by Heather. Kellie’s great! I hope you come back often and I hope you got a chance to check out the new Poetic License magazine.

  12. #22 by Denim on January 4, 2011 - 4:31 PM

    Greetings,

    I followed Kellie Elmore’s link from her blog and really glad I did, interesting space you have created…LOVE, LOVE the title…inspiring indeed!

    Cheers,
    Denim

    • #23 by Tom Baker on January 4, 2011 - 6:45 PM

      I appreciate visitors and especially those that don’t mind my title! Glad you enjoyed your stay.

  13. #24 by tekia on January 4, 2011 - 12:02 PM

    Hey Tom, loved your Purple Reign poem. I think it’s cool how your wrote it. Great piece! Enjoyed my reads very much.

    • #25 by Tom Baker on January 4, 2011 - 2:32 PM

      Thank you Te’Kia! It was fun writing it and I’m glad to hear that you liked it. Keep coming back!

  14. #26 by Kelly Hay on January 4, 2011 - 11:16 AM

    Just wanted to let you know that I finally added the Poetic License Graphic to the sidebar of my blog. Took me a while to figure out how to do it since I’m not that technologically savvy!!

    Thanks again for sharing my poem with your readers!

    • #27 by Tom Baker on January 4, 2011 - 2:31 PM

      Kelly, thank you for adding the graphic. Since it’s not required, I really appreciate it. I’m honored that you let me feature your poetry. I hope you got a chance to check out the magazine too.

  15. #28 by Kellie Elmore on January 4, 2011 - 9:59 AM

    I am thrilled to be included with this selection of wonderful poets. Thank you for allowing me to be a part of Poetic License!
    Would you possibly consider allowing me to do a brief interview (Q & A) with you for my series “Exposure Worthy”? If you would like to take a look at previous participants you may do so by clicking my Exposure Worthy tab below the header of my blog. Let me know what you think. Thanks again!

    Kellie Elmore

    • #29 by Tom Baker on January 4, 2011 - 10:45 AM

      Kellie, I keep asking a lot of other people so I think it only right that I say maybe… Let me know the details and I can give you a more definitive yes.

  16. #30 by Cherlyn on January 4, 2011 - 3:57 AM

    Another great poetic license! There were a number of poems this month that I could really relate to, and I’m blown away by the talent of the writers. Your poem was very well done too Tom, the idea of using song lyrics is really interesting, and I think it turned out well in the end :)

    • #31 by Tom Baker on January 4, 2011 - 6:19 AM

      Thank you Cherlyn. You don’t know how much it means that people allow me to showcase their poems. Thanks also for the compliments about Purple Reign. Have a great day. By the way, just send me any poem that you want and I would be happy to use it in Poetic License.

      • #32 by Cherlyn on January 6, 2011 - 3:08 PM

        Sounds good, I’ll get working :)

  17. #34 by David (1MereMortal) on January 4, 2011 - 1:03 AM

    The Poetic License Third Tri-Annual Issue 2010 is very nicely done.

    • #35 by Tom Baker on January 4, 2011 - 6:22 AM

      Thanks David. I was hoping the ones who supplied the poems would like it the most.

  18. #36 by David (1MereMortal) on January 4, 2011 - 12:01 AM

    Great selection of poems from a wonderful group of writers.

    • #37 by Tom Baker on January 4, 2011 - 6:23 AM

      I agree. All the poets featured are very talented.

  19. #38 by Akira on January 3, 2011 - 9:23 PM

    I’m in with Ron’s group. I’m not sure I have ever commented except on your first few posts. These poems are amazing. I see why Ron talks up your blog all the time. Good blog and great name!

    • #39 by Tom Baker on January 4, 2011 - 6:24 AM

      Hello Akira. I’ve seen some of your posts. Thanks for the compliments.

  20. #40 by Jamie Dedes, all rights reserved on January 3, 2011 - 9:22 PM

    This is a fine selection of poets and poems. A couple of the poets are new to me, so I appreciate the intro and will come back to link to their sites to read more by and about them. First poem I’ve read by you. Fine work. … And the magazine is an inspired idea. Good luck with it. Will look into it. Tonight is my catch up night and have about 25 blogs to visit and savor.

    Blog on … Good stuff here. Apprecaited.

    • #41 by Tom Baker on January 4, 2011 - 6:29 AM

      Jamie I’m glad you were able to find fresh poets and new blogs to explore. I try to find a wide variety of poets and where they can be found but it is so easy to find them on WordPress that sometimes other blogging platforms like Blogger or Typepad get left out. I am trying to rectify that though. Thank you for your kind words about my attempt at poetry!

  21. #42 by smileyx on January 3, 2011 - 6:49 PM

    Hi Tom! The magazine was amazing :D Thank you for choosing one of my poems to be featured in it. I hope that later one of my poems would be featured on your site and/or the magazine again. Thank you again :D

    • #43 by Tom Baker on January 3, 2011 - 6:56 PM

      I’m so very glad you liked it. I hope you don’t mind me moving your comment from Upcoming to Poetic License. I will feature every poem in a magazine like that every four months. I would be happy to feature another one of your poems. Just email it to me. June through December is open so just email it to me. You can download the magazine or even get prints if you like. I thank you again for letting me feature the poetry. Have a great year!

  22. #44 by Angela Smythe on January 3, 2011 - 11:50 AM

    Wonderful collection of poems. I think I like From A Daughter To A Mother best. It just speaks volumes to me. Gonna check out the mag now.

    • #45 by Tom Baker on January 3, 2011 - 12:54 PM

      I’m glad you liked the poems. I always hope people like what I like. It means a lot to have the authors allow me to feature them. Thanks for dropping by again.

  23. #46 by Iron Cook Carl on January 3, 2011 - 11:23 AM

    Tom the Tri-annual magazine is fantastic. I’m sure all of the people featured will be overwhelmed when they see it. It’s a great idea and I bet nobody was expecting anything like that. I’m a huge Prince fan and I think I got all the songs. This month’s poetry is a good as any before! Good work all.

    • #47 by Tom Baker on January 3, 2011 - 12:49 PM

      I hope they like it. I’ve only heard from one person so far, but the day is young!

  24. #48 by Kelly Hay on January 3, 2011 - 10:06 AM

    Another great selection of poetry! (Plus I already get to mark off one of my New Year’s Resolutions :: being featured on Poetic License!! Thank you, Tom!!)

    BTW – love Prince … he used to be my absolute fav “back in the day…”

    • #49 by Tom Baker on January 3, 2011 - 12:52 PM

      Wow! Glad to be able to assist with your resolutions. Lots of folks love His Royal Shortness, err, I mean Badness!

  25. #50 by Luke Prater on January 3, 2011 - 10:00 AM

    Thanks for including my villanelle The One With the Curls. Enjoyed reading all of these. Nice work. Cheers mate.

    Luke @ WordSalad

    • #51 by Tom Baker on January 3, 2011 - 12:50 PM

      Thanks again Luke. I appreciate the use of your poem.

      • #52 by Luke Prater on January 27, 2011 - 2:56 PM

        Hi Tom – I’ve now switched to the self-hosted version of WordPress, so my URL has changed – it’s the same minus the ‘wordpress’ bit, viz -

        http://www.lukepraterswordsalad.com

        be glad if you could change the link that is connected to the poem.

        Cheers mate, great scene you got going on here

        Luke

  26. #53 by Rose Reynolds on January 3, 2011 - 9:20 AM

    Iris, such an honor to have the guest post and a great poem here too. All the poems are great and I admit to not being able to figure out all the songs Tom. Great way of creating a poem. I’m not too sure Prince would approve but I do.

    • #54 by Tom Baker on January 3, 2011 - 12:50 PM

      Let’s not tell Prince then!

    • #55 by irisoniris on January 3, 2011 - 7:09 PM

      It is indeed an honor! And actually Tom said he was going to surprise me which poem he would pick. (This is a pleasant surprise.) Great selection, Tom. I liked the Purple Reign – both content and execution.

  27. #56 by jurline's Blog on January 3, 2011 - 12:17 AM

    I love Prince! Tom, you never cease to amaze me. My goal is to have one of my poems posted here one day!!!!!!

    • #57 by Tom Baker on January 3, 2011 - 6:32 AM

      Jurline, send the poem you would like featured to my email and I will post it. I believe I still have room for May! Thank you. Prince is a genius.

  28. #58 by Judy Marie Santiago on January 3, 2011 - 12:09 AM

    I love the poem that you wrote, Tom! :) And WOW. Thank you for giving me a whole page for your beautiful and lovely compilation of Poetic License! Ahhhh you sure are loved by all the poets that you’ve featured! I’ve been writing poetry in Filipino, sadly. But I hope that even through Google Translate, you may understand what my poems were about. Thanks heaps Tom! I really appreciate your kindness. Cheers!

    • #59 by Tom Baker on January 3, 2011 - 6:35 AM

      Thank you Judy for liking my poem. My kindness is here always for you. I’m really glad you liked the magazine.

    • #60 by jurline's Blog on January 3, 2011 - 11:22 AM

      OMG! Tom I will email one to you for your review! Thanks so much! Have a great New Year!!!!! I am loving forward to next month’s love poems!!!!! Yes, our Prince is a genius!!!!

  1. Gone | Transience Way
  2. Love Again & Again, Explained « Dwritewell Posting Daily For the Sake of Writing
  3. Poetic License – January 2011 (via Morning Erection) « Magic in the Backyard
  4. 60% Off a Closet System » Get your daily Groupon deals
  5. Gone | 1MereMortal
  6. Our Automotive Blog » What You Ought To Do After An Vehicle Accident

Leave Me With A Portion Of You ...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 444 other followers

