Second Annual Community Network Meme

Come one, come all, to the second annual community meme (pronounced ‘meem’).

Last year’s meme was lots of fun for everyone that took part in it. This year the goal is to get the ones who participated last year to do so again this year and to also find at least one other person to play along.

The idea of the meme is to post questions that many bloggers will answer and do so on the same day and time. Then visit other bloggers, read their responses and leave meaningful comments. Many new friendships were made last year that still exist today and many new readers were gained for many bloggers. Last year Sunday Stealing found my blog and posted their answers days in advance of the day we chose. No big deal, however this year I have taken steps to prevent the premature posting of answers. Here is how the 2011 meme will work.

1. If you want to participate, send a message to me using my contact page and in turn I will email you a copy of the meme questions.

2. You will compose your answers in a post along with the Meme graphic (grab from above) and schedule the post for December 11th at 12.01 am based on your time zone. Last year everyone posted at 12.01 but with 24 time zones we spent a lot of time waiting for some blogs to get posted. This year all posts will be simultaneous (data to be posted at a later date) based on time zones and not clocks.

3. A master list of everyone participating will be generated and posted along with your answers in December so you will be able to pick whose blogs you would like to visit.

Community Network Rules of Participation

You must agree not to post your answers until everyone else does.
You must agree that you will visit at least five blog links that you have never visited before and leave a comment on their responses.
You must answer each of the twenty questions and do so with more than a simple yes or no response.
You must post the entire Master Meme Blog List of blogs participating, regardless of how long the list may grow to be, below your answered questions.
You must title your post the same as everyone else, “Community Network Meme 2011″.
You must direct all interested parties to Morning Erection’s Contact Page to get the questions. You may not give them a copy of yours. Remember, we are trying to avoid Sunday Stealing from stealing and posting before December 11th.
You must promote the Community Network Meme at least once on Facebook or some other form of social media, even if it is just your own blog to get more bloggers to participate. Provide the link back to the original post so they can post this in its entirety on their blogs, just like we did.
If you would like to participate and write the post in your language and not English, feel free to translate it or you could post both translations.
Make sure to either vote for or like the post appropriately if on the WordPress platform.

If this is all very confusing, please check out last years posted answers. Two semi-retired bloggers, Rose Reynolds and Quianna Kim, who are not participating in the meme provided the remaining five questions. I hope this year is as much fun as last.

This year Cherlyn Cochrane of Over A Cup of Coffee provided 75% of the meme questions. She is playing an integral part in this years meme and I wanted to publicly acknowledge her input. Thank you Cherlyn.

,

  1. #1 by Jamie Dedes on December 13, 2011 - 2:16 PM

    Wonderful! I’m not able to participate this year, but I just read Blaga’s post and wanted to stop by and complement you on the questions. Fabulous. I see that our dear Cherlyn had a part in that as well. I’ll go visit her.

    Meanwhile, thanks for setting this up and all the work and imagination that went into it.

    Blog on …

    Wishing you all the best for the holidays, Tom
    Jamie

    • #2 by Tom Baker on December 13, 2011 - 7:54 PM

      Hello Jamie, it’s been a while for both of us. I have to stop by your blog soon. Cherlyn is responsible for 15 of the questions and two other young ladies are the other contributors. I know that a meme doesn’t fit into the scope of a lot of blogs, especially poets but if you ever feel inspired, we are doing it again in July and then December 2012. Everyone had such insightful answers into their psyches!

      I’m glad you enjoyed reading Blaga’s. I’m bloggin’ on!

  2. #3 by AnonymousBurn on December 10, 2011 - 11:29 AM

    Hey did I miss the “data to be posted at a later date” for my time to post?

    • #4 by Tom Baker on December 10, 2011 - 11:32 AM

      Your time is 12:01 EST!

    • #5 by AnonymousBurn on December 10, 2011 - 11:32 AM

      Ah heck. I’m a dope. I’m in the sweet zone. 12:01am EST.

  3. #6 by wordsfallfrommyeyes on November 25, 2011 - 5:40 AM

    Firstly thank you Cheryln – you really have done a great job. Second though, when you say 12:01 11 December – is that Greenwich mean time or is that USA New York time or something? thanks – do you mind responding to my hotmail because I never tick ‘notify me of follow up comments’ because then there’s an avalanche of words and I don’t like words in showers, I like them just floating around and I pluck out the ones I want at my leisure.

    Thanks.

    • #7 by Tom Baker on November 25, 2011 - 9:39 AM

      I am going to post a graphic of when everyone by time zone should schedule their post. I think that should help everyone out.

  4. #8 by lovelylici1986 on November 23, 2011 - 10:07 AM

    This looks like a lot of fun. The only part I’m not excited about is posting all of the links to all of the posts with answers. I like to know what I’m linking (sending my blog readers) to, and I don’t know that I’ll be able to read EVERY post. Any way the links can be posted somewhere central, and we can all link to THAT page? That way, our own posts are messy and long with a billion links, AND we don’t send our blog readers to a zillion posts, some with questionable material. Annnd, if we REALLY like some of the posts, we can link to those in particular, and send a better quality of links to our followers, and a greater quantity (in the long run) of real visitors to those posts b/c people are more likely to visit 3 links than they are to sort through a list of 50 links. Is this making sense? Lol.

    • #9 by Tom Baker on November 24, 2011 - 1:45 PM

      Hey Lovely, it makes a lot of sense and it is great that you care so much about your readers. I will email you soon.

  5. #10 by Bluejellybeans on November 17, 2011 - 7:05 PM

    Sounds like fun. I’m in!

    • #11 by Tom Baker on November 19, 2011 - 8:34 AM

      If I have not already, I’ll get those questions to you very soon. Glad to have you on board.

  6. #12 by wordsfallfrommyeyes on November 14, 2011 - 2:47 PM

    I just clicked on Scott Moore to see about his style. My thing is, if I find an interesting page I click on their commenters to see what they’re up to because a page like yours has to have interesting followers. ANYway, so I clicked on him & I see his post is last year’s meme. 10 questions & 69 blogs to roll – that doesn’t look too hard. Hope the questions are interesting though. I’d hate to be interviewed and be asked boring questions bec that invites boring answers… or not! ;)

    • #13 by Tom Baker on November 19, 2011 - 8:24 AM

      The rules of the meme can be hard to understand. I wish I knew how to explain myself better so it doesn’t seem so daunting. I don’t think Scott blogs anymore but I’d have to check on that.

  7. #14 by wordsfallfrommyeyes on November 14, 2011 - 2:01 PM

    Ha ha – yes your blog’s got a great name! I dropped in on you because you’re on Pakistani Boy’s blogroll. He’s got thoughtful stuff on his page.

    I’m so glad I clicked here though because this meme thing sounds really interesting. Whose idea was this? When did it start? I’d love to know! It’s just a beaut idea, although being worldwide that list of participants sure could be long… but of course I’ll follow the rules.

    I wonder, could I copy what you’ve written above and just ‘tweak’ it more in my speak a bit – but of course say that I got it all from you (and provide your link of course so people can see this, Mr Morning Erection – I only ask because you’ve explained the whole thing so simply and easily)??

    Lastly, I never tick the box ‘notify me of follow-up comments via email’ because I get enough email directly from my blog – can’t handle the extra – so could you kindly please respond to me via my blog? I’d appreciate that.

    I’m really impressed with what you’ve got going on here. I’m not part of much community in my real life so this feel pretty wonderful, this wordpress community – I only joined in August! :)

    • #15 by Tom Baker on November 19, 2011 - 8:22 AM

      I do like Pakistani Boy’s blog. I don’t get the chance to visit as many blogs regularly as I want to but I try. I like his poetry. I had a problem with hotmail so I had to create a new email address to get the meme questions to people with hotmail addresses. I see you finally got yours. Also I wanted to thank you for all the many posts you have commented on. It is appreciated!

      I will send you an email about the meme and try to answer your questions but an upcoming post might answer all of them for you. By the way, you can tweak it and make it yours.

  8. #16 by The Hook on November 11, 2011 - 12:33 PM

    Very cool concept!

    • #17 by Tom Baker on November 11, 2011 - 1:07 PM

      I hope you might take part in this Hook. It was great fun last year.

    • #18 by wordsfallfrommyeyes on November 14, 2011 - 2:27 PM

      I agree The Hook – it’s a cool concept; let’s “do it” :)

  9. #19 by Juan Busy on November 1, 2011 - 11:16 PM

    Hi Tom. I haven’t received the questions yet. :(

    • #20 by Tom Baker on November 2, 2011 - 7:25 AM

      I sent them on October 30th. Please check your spam folder. I can resend them if you cannot find the email.

  10. #21 by Kat on October 30, 2011 - 11:56 PM

    I am so IN! This is my first time to participate in this kind of thing and I am so excited. Thanks for inviting me Tom! Will wait for my copy of questions :)

    • #22 by Tom Baker on November 2, 2011 - 7:43 AM

      Kat, my friend… I sent the questions to you this morning and it looks like there are about twenty or more people doing the meme so far. Some people from last year don’t blog anymore so we need new people to replace them and new bloggers to join in! Thanks.

  11. #23 by Jackie Paulson (Author) on October 30, 2011 - 11:35 PM

    I want to do this too! I am going to try hard at it too

    • #24 by Tom Baker on November 2, 2011 - 7:41 AM

      I sent the questions to you this morning. I look forward to your answers.

  12. #25 by Scott Moore on October 30, 2011 - 8:06 PM

    I can’t believe it’s been almost an entire year since the last meme. It was the last post on my micro blog. It’s good to visit here again and I wish I could take part. Have fun.

    • #26 by Tom Baker on October 30, 2011 - 8:10 PM

      Start a real blog man! You can still try to take part in this. Just go to the contact page! You know you wanna!

    • #27 by wordsfallfrommyeyes on November 25, 2011 - 5:47 AM

      Scott Moore, what THE! I clicked on you (this is my first year of meme) because I was interested in what kind of people get drawn into this – and I get a post of last year’s Meme questions! At least I see now how it should look! At first I thought you’d leaked the questions. That’d be bad. I like all the mystery. OK, I’ll wait to ZE day & check you out then :)

      • #28 by Tom Baker on November 25, 2011 - 9:35 AM

        Scott hasn’t blogged since the meme and he hasn’t signed up to do it this year.

  13. #29 by Melinda on October 27, 2011 - 8:10 AM

    Yay!! I’m in! That was so much fun last year. I’m spreading the word.

    • #30 by Tom Baker on October 28, 2011 - 7:17 AM

      Oh, I am so glad that you are going to take part in the meme again Melinda. I will send the questions to you tomorrow.

  14. #31 by disjointedrhymings on October 25, 2011 - 11:28 AM

    I’m in! I suspect I shall have a bit of fun with my answers too… =)

    • #32 by Tom Baker on October 28, 2011 - 7:11 AM

      It was extremely fun last year getting to know all sorts of new people and how they respond to the same questions. I’m going to finish my post today and then try to concentrate on promoting it. I will send your questions via email tomorrow. Thanks for taking part.

  15. #33 by Cherlyn on October 25, 2011 - 4:19 AM

    Whoops sorry for not commenting – I had written one but must’ve moved away from the page before it actually went through. You know of course I’m participating :D. Thanks for hosting this again!

    • #34 by Tom Baker on October 25, 2011 - 7:02 AM

      No Cherlyn, without your questions there would be no meme this year. I, my dear am thanking you. So far I think ten people have asked for the questions.

  16. #35 by therealsharon on October 21, 2011 - 6:41 PM

    This sounds fun…I admit to being a bit confused, though. Would you post all questions AND answers on the 11th at 12:01 a.m.? And do you promote the Meme before December 11th with the same information you gave or after?

    • #36 by Tom Baker on October 22, 2011 - 5:54 PM

      I am going to send you the questions today. You will post the answers during the time zone in your area that corresponds to 12:01 am EST. Sharon you should promote the meme as soon as possible on your site to get more people involved. After you explain everything (and you can just copy and paste from here), refer them to my contact page so I can include them in the master site list and also send them the questions. Glad to have you a part of this!

      • #37 by therealsharon on October 28, 2011 - 10:27 PM

        What name did you use to send me the email cause I can’t seem to find it :(

        • #38 by therealsharon on October 28, 2011 - 10:32 PM

          Never mind, I JUST found it! Sorry for bothering ya!

          • #39 by Tom Baker on October 29, 2011 - 5:14 AM

            Never a bother Sharon!

  17. #40 by savesprinkles1234 on October 21, 2011 - 8:50 AM

    I want to participate and I sent you my email! :)

    • #41 by Tom Baker on October 21, 2011 - 9:20 AM

      It’s an honor. I will send the questions out to you tomorrow. I hope all is well with you.

      • #42 by savesprinkles1234 on October 22, 2011 - 10:30 AM

        Cool, I just tweeted this for you! :) All is well, just very busy! :)

        • #43 by Tom Baker on October 22, 2011 - 6:36 PM

          Thank you. It would be great to have even more people this year.

  18. #44 by Broken Sparkles on October 20, 2011 - 3:42 PM

    Count me on! :) Curious to see the questions, knowing Cherlyn, it will be fun!

    • #45 by Tom Baker on October 20, 2011 - 8:31 PM

      Glad that you are a part this year Blaga. Hasn’t the year gone by so fast? Cherlyn put together some great questions and I think I might start my answers tonight! I will send the questions to everyone who has requested them sometime this weekend.

  19. #46 by Mariana on October 20, 2011 - 2:42 AM

    Just sent in my message.
    Can’t wait to see the questions!

    • #47 by Tom Baker on October 20, 2011 - 6:51 AM

      I got your email and I will be forwarding the questions this weekend. Thank you for being a part of this meme. The great part about it is you can finish the post early and just schedule it for December. I appreciate you dropping by.

  20. #48 by PrinceConnoisseur on October 19, 2011 - 3:34 PM

    Last year was a blast Tom and I would love to join this year but since we’re closing the site on Dec. 31st, every day in December is already spoken for. Good luck my man.

    • #49 by Tom Baker on October 19, 2011 - 8:17 PM

      I understand. I was looking at your posting schedule and December is full. I thank you again for entrusting me with taking care of your site. Sorry to see it come to an end shortly but iMagazine went out with a bang. Take care Ronald.

  21. #50 by Eve Montgomery on October 19, 2011 - 2:54 PM

    I’m not a blogger, just a continual lurker but I like the idea. I read the answers to last years and they were wonderful. I can’t wait to see your questions this time around.

    • #51 by Tom Baker on October 19, 2011 - 8:16 PM

      Thanks for being a lurker Eve. I cherish every visitor. Too bad you don’t have a blog, but remember to come back again in December to comment on my responses.

  22. #52 by A Pakistani Boy on October 19, 2011 - 10:14 AM

    Yay! I’m so excited :D

    • #53 by Tom Baker on October 19, 2011 - 8:15 PM

      I’m glad you are going to be a part of this meme. Remember to request the questions list.

  23. #54 by Rose Reynolds on October 19, 2011 - 6:14 AM

    Thanks for mentioning my input but I really didn’t do much. I look forward to reading everybody’s answers.

    • #55 by Tom Baker on October 19, 2011 - 8:14 PM

      Trying to keep a blog going with the ridiculous ideas I come up with and the time it takes to accomplish them means that every little bit of help I get is a lot and a lot of help means the world to me. I thank you , Quianna and especially Cherlyn. Thanks ladies.

  1. Community Network Meme 2011 « Broken Sparkles
  2. Community Network Meme 2011 — Finding The Humor
  3. Community Networking Meme 2011 « Over a Cup of Coffee
  4. Community Network Meme « Blue jellybeans pequeñas perlas de sabor
  5. From Athens With Love « Broken Sparkles
  6. Coffee Wars: Holiday Edition Part 3 – Pumpkin Spice Latte « Over a Cup of Coffee
  7. Blogger Community Network Meme 2011 | Curiosity killed the KAT.

Leave Me With A Portion Of You ...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 440 other followers

