Singin’ In The Rain 60th Anniversary Screening

Earlier this year cable channel TCM screened a digitally enhanced 70th anniversary version of Casablanca. Coming this July 12th,  if you so choose you will be able to see Singin’ In The Rain digitally enhanced for it’s 60th anniversary. It is my belief that if you like the musical genre, and enjoyed Music Man, The Sound of Music; you will enjoy this too. On my list of musicals it ranks number two.

I believe it is Gene Kelly’s greatest work and I still find myself singing many of the songs from this film. My favorite songs are Singin’ In The Rain (also the best scene from the movie), and Good Morning. Debbie Reynolds, Cyd Charisse and Donald O’Connor are excellent in this film as well. Cyd Charisse made such an impression on Janet Jackson that she appeared in a cameo in her Alright video.

Taken from TCM.com

The event begins with a Turner Classic Movies original production featuring TCM host Robert Osborne in an exclusive specially produced interview with star Debbie Reynolds. In this interview, audiences are taken behind the scenes of one of the greatest musicals of all time as Ms. Reynolds shares memories of working with the late great Gene Kelly and Donald O’Connor.
 
Immediately following these exclusive behind the scenes extras be carried away by the songs, story and romance of one of the greatest musicals of all time – Singin’ in the Rain – as it graces the silver screen for only one night fully remastered and more beautiful than it ever has been before!
 
Don’t miss this timeless classic on the big screen for only one night on July 12th and celebrate the release of the Blu-Ray™ on July 17th.
 
*Additional matinee showings available at select movie theater locations. Check your local listings for details.

, , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by cashewsandthings on July 3, 2012 - 7:16 AM

    I love Singing in the Rain! I haven’t watched it in ages. :( I should download this again, and My Fair Lady!

    • #2 by Tom Baker on July 3, 2012 - 7:19 AM

      I had not watched My Fair Lady until 2010. It is a good musical as well. I’m glad to see you are a woman of your word. Please keep commenting.

  2. #3 by Vanessa Chapman on June 26, 2012 - 10:39 AM

    I LOVE this film – I wonder if they’ll show this 60th anniversary version in movie theatres over here in the UK…*Rushes off to search local cinema schedules*.

    • #4 by Tom Baker on June 30, 2012 - 4:45 PM

      I hope it is Vanessa. I love this film too.

  3. #5 by Sylvia on June 26, 2012 - 10:13 AM

    Thanks for the heads up. Like Casablanca, I have never seen this movie either. I’m going to have to make plans to see it.

    • #6 by Tom Baker on June 26, 2012 - 10:14 AM

      Wish all of us bloggers here could watch it together.

  4. #7 by ladywithatruck on June 26, 2012 - 9:38 AM

    I love all the old classics I’ve lost count oF how many times I’ve seen The Sound of Music. Casablanca and It’s a Wonderful Life. Singing in the rain is one I haven’t viewed as many times but I would love to see it enhanced and on the big screen.

    • #8 by Tom Baker on June 26, 2012 - 9:40 AM

      Go see it. I think I’m gonna make it to this one!

Leave Me With A Portion Of You ...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 442 other followers

