One Question A Month…

Some of my friends and followers have been on my case to publish a new post. I’m glad that there are those of you who have noticed I have not been posting consistently and those who have missed me. I have been very busy of late and preoccupied. I haven’t checked email, responded to comments or even been involved much at all in socializing with the masses.

I am sorry for that and apologize profusely. Even with this post I don’t really have a solid post idea but I have come up with a new series for Morning Erection. So before I forget it, here it is. I’ve decided to give my life questions to you guys for your help in answering them. What are my life questions. They are thoughts that I have had over the years and either never bothered to ask anyone else or I thought they were too stupid to share. Obviously now I don’t really care what people think of me!

The question for August is about reading. You know we all have an inner voice. When we read quietly to ourselves there is that voice saying the words as we read. When we are reading the inner voice is usually our own voice but what happens when we get a letter or a card from a friend? My question for everyone is when you read a letter from a friend or from someone whose voice you recognize, do you read what they wrote in your inner voice or their voice?

I suppose you never thought of it and now you are wondering what you do… Me too. Let me know in the comment section please.

  1. #1 by feeroberts64 on February 7, 2013 - 2:19 AM

    When I read a book the narrative is in my voice and I give the characters voices I think would fit their description. Letters from family and friends are in their voices =D

  2. #2 by WORDSMITH on February 6, 2013 - 12:56 PM

    Hello friend, I saw your comment on Poetoria and decided to follow your blog. I have not had time to go through it in details but I that very soon. I also write part time or when time permits. You could check some of my posts on my blog or visit my facebook page to view more of my stories.
    Love to hear from you soon.
    Cheers.

  3. #3 by fragileswan on November 14, 2012 - 8:34 PM

    I read lot of literature-type stuff, and I’ve been told that I can r e a d text, or chat. And I can. My mind spontaneously creates a voice I perceive fits the written expression. If I know the person, I read in their voice, but also in their “mood’. I think in words. If I hear a verbal description, I don’t get a picture, I see the words in my mind’s eye, or hear them in my heart.

  4. #4 by Miss Busy Bee on September 2, 2012 - 2:14 PM

    I guess I haven’t really thought of it…But now that I did, I read books with my own voice, and, as silly as it sounds, I give different voices for each character. If I’m reading memoirs or biography of people I know well enough, it is in their voice. When I read texts or letters from people, I usually hear it in their voice and imagine what they would sound like if they were to read or say it. :)

    Nice to see your blog again! :D

  5. #5 by Finne Rioa on August 29, 2012 - 4:56 AM

    You got me thinking with this one. Hmm… when I read a letter from someone I know, I usually hear their voice talking to me through their letter. When it comes to books however… well, I think I just hear myself all the time. That’s maybe one reason I can’t last a book through chapter 1. =)

  6. #6 by therealsharon on August 28, 2012 - 6:54 PM

    When I read a letter, I hear my own voice but certain phrases or words bring up that person’s voice in my head. Say, for instance, things that they say a lot and I am used to hearing them say…then it brings to mind their voice. I know I have been absent for awhile in reading other posts because I’ve just been busy with life in general but I know you had me down as doing a guest post in September sometime? I’m still willing to do that but can you let me know what day you are showing it so I know what my deadline is. LOL…I am bad at procrastinating so I just want to know when I need to have it done. You can e-mail me at Greeneyedramaqueen@gmail.com about it if you want

  7. #7 by Fay Moore on August 26, 2012 - 9:51 PM

    So good to hear from you again. Most of the time, the voice is my own. Once in a while, I do hear the voice of a friend when reading their correspondance, but most of the time it is my own voice.

  8. #8 by Cherlyn on August 21, 2012 - 3:18 PM

    I’ve been wondering how you are doing as well, as you haven’t been responding to emails lately – hope everything is ok my friend!

    As for when I read, actually when I read a novel and it is in first person I tend to read the novel as what I imagine the character sounds like (for example, I’m reading the Gun Seller by Hugh Laurie, so i read it in his normal speaking voice). When I read my own school notes i read it in my own voice, but when I receive an email or a letter, I read it in the other person’s voice. It’s rather difficult though if I don’t know what someone sounds like (like comments on a blog for example), so I end up imagining what that person’s voice may sound like. If any of that makes sense, then success! lol

  9. #9 by tekia on August 20, 2012 - 9:35 PM

    It depends if I read with my voice or read with their voice. If it’s someone who I’m very familiar with, it’s automatically their voice because i know them so well. If it’s someone who I’m not close to, it’s my voice I hear. P.S.- don’t feel bad about your absence Tom, you’re not alone ;-)

  10. #10 by sarsm on August 20, 2012 - 6:33 AM

    Take as much time as you need Tom.

    Mostly I hear my own voice. But sometimes, they write in a style like they speak, or write something they would typically say, then I might hear their voice, which is always nice!

  11. #11 by Inside the Mind of Isadora on August 19, 2012 - 8:51 AM

    When I read the comment from cashewsandthings about never having received snail mail, it set me back. I know it dates me but I can’t imagine never having an acaul letter or note card in your hand. I had pen-pals from the time I was in 6th grade. It was great receiving letters. I still write letters. So sad … that we have become a paperless society, ~~~~ : – )
    In answer to your question: I believe it should be read in the voice of the writer. They are the author of the words. Their feelings are being placed on that sheet of blank paper. You are the steward to take it to the emotions they wish you to receive from it.
    Great question … good one for dialog.
    Glad to see you back, Tom. It is okay to breathe and not be here all the time.
    Namaste ..
    Isadora

  12. #12 by nenskei on August 19, 2012 - 7:22 AM

    Nice question Tom. Stupid but clever.
    Back when I was still in my grade 5, my close friend and I were exchanging letter. Collecting stationary is very massive that time.
    I read the letter in my own way, and when I receive(d) letters I am in my happy normal life. Imagine, my friend take time to write a letter for me (which I reciprocate too) even we see each other everyday at school?
    Tho sometimes, I hear her voice too but mine is louder. Haha

  13. #13 by cashewsandthings on August 19, 2012 - 6:30 AM

    Since I’ve never really received snail mail, I don’t really know. BUT – when I do get mail, like bills and stuff, sometimes they’re in an answering-machine, robotic-type voice. So they’re not really my own, but not someone else’s either! :) Do drop by my blog, please! I miss your comments almost as much as I miss you!

  14. #14 by Sweet as a Picture on August 19, 2012 - 4:03 AM

    glad you came up for air and have posted something. interesting question. i’ve never thought of that. next time i read a friends letter, i’ll pay attention. :)

  15. #15 by Vanessa Chapman on August 19, 2012 - 2:46 AM

    Yes, I’ve been missing you Tom, and finding it strange that not only have you not been posting much, but as you mentioned above, you’ve not been responding to comments on your last few posts – I was wondering if you were ok, because I know you’ve always considered it important to respond to comments. Hope the busy things you’ve been doing have been good things, and that one day soon you will return to us properly! ;)

    Hmmm, I think I read with their voice because I picture the person when I’m reading it.

  16. #16 by Broken Sparkles on August 19, 2012 - 12:36 AM

    Never thought of that, considering I receive many letters … but I think most of the time I try to imagine the voice on the other side of the letter …
    I hope everything is ok with you and you’re busy with nice things!

  17. #17 by PM on August 19, 2012 - 12:31 AM

    hmm… i think i read it in my own voice then imagine it in their voice. glad you have posted again, tom. :)

Leave Me With A Portion Of You ...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 440 other followers

