Your Comment Is Awaiting Moderation

There was a period of time in my life (most of it) where people who use the bathroom and don’t wash their hands were my biggest pet peeve. Well times are a changin’ (yesterday).

My newest and greatest pet peeve is seeing the words, Your Comment Is Awaiting Moderation after I place a comment on someone’s website. Obviously I want visitors to this website and I learned that one way to drive traffic to your site is by visiting other blogs and leaving comments. I even went so far as to read a blog post by Lorelle on how to leave better comments. Comments that get noticed by the blog owner and by other readers at their site.

I’m not so much a product of the instant gratification, can’t wait for later, microwave generation. I’m actually very patient and I realize if traffic comes to this blog with the name that would drive most visitors away anyway; it will take time.

I think one of the main reasons I hate it so much is my own stupidity. For instance, I searched WordPress for shrimp recipes (one of my favorite foods). The search returned a list that fit my search parameters but the posts could be over five years old and the blogger no longer is posting.

So, in my ignorance, I fill out a long drawn out comment on how the recipe would fit my taste buds perfectly. How I could see my girlfriend licking her fingers after the meal and praising the chef as we entertain our football fanatic friends. I continue on how nice the photography is and then hit submit.

Your comment is awaiting moderation appears as the site reloads. Then and only then do I see that this particular post was posted on June 6, 2004. Looking at the rest of the site I notice that the blogger hasn’t posted since September 2008. My 100 word comment is never going to be seen by anyone.

I do understand the spammy reasons for moderation but that doesn’t make it any more bearable. So much for my SEO.

comment

.

, , , ,

  1. #1 by kod xbox live gold on October 21, 2014 - 4:52 AM

    Woah! I’m really loving the template/theme of this blog.
    It’s simple, yet effective. A lot of times it’s very hard to get that “perfect balance” between
    superb usability and appearance. I must say that you’ve done a great job with this.
    Also, the blog loads extremely quick for me on Chrome.

    Excellent Blog!

  2. #2 by ios games no iap on September 13, 2014 - 7:35 PM

    This is my first time go to see at here and i am actually happy to read
    everthing at alone place.

  3. #3 by business startup loans on September 3, 2014 - 7:10 AM

    When some one searches for his necessary thing, so he/she needs to be
    available that in detail, thus that thing is maintained over here.

  4. #4 by Dane on June 26, 2014 - 5:46 PM

    Additionally, some may argue that because the 6 is not out yet, its specifications aren’t certain. The high operating pixel resolution of 2592x
    1944 results in great quality still images. Subscribe above to receive an email
    whenever Susan Walker publishes on Examiner.

  5. #5 by moourl.com on June 9, 2014 - 5:58 PM

    During their study period, they undergo several sessions clinical psychology online and subjects related
    to the courses like continuing education psychologists
    or mental health professional in literally any setting they choose.

    No That was a kind of collar or hat that just suits, and to contemplate, that indeed life has its way of testing me.

  6. #6 by hale magazynowe budowa on June 6, 2014 - 2:58 PM

    Indeed, many of the steel steel construction ppt storage cabinets are designed to minimize thee risk of tipping, but
    overloading them will cause them to bow in the
    middle and reduce unt lifespan. More importantly, they are
    one of the fundamental reasons why steel is
    at the top with load rails attached to the sid with masking tape
    read,” curtains to mend”. For this reason, they are
    a sure investment option as their long service will come handy to you.

  7. #7 by derm exclusive reviews on May 31, 2014 - 9:50 PM

    Whoa! This blog looks exactly like my old one! It’s
    on a totally different topic but it has pretty much
    the same layout and design. Great choice of colors!

  8. #8 by Tofuwarrior on May 7, 2014 - 2:31 AM

    Hi, constantly i used to check webpage posts here in the
    early hours in the morning, since i love to
    gain knowledge of more and more.

  9. #9 by picnic table plans on April 7, 2014 - 7:26 PM

    I am sure this paragraph has touched all the internet users, its really really fastidious piece
    of writing on building up new weblog.

  10. #10 by Www.youtube.com on January 8, 2014 - 9:27 AM

    Link exchange is nothing else however it is simply placing the other person’s blog link
    on your page at appropriate place and other person will also do similar in support of you.

  11. #11 by milf-webcam.blogspot.com on September 15, 2013 - 11:13 PM

    Hi! I have been reading this blog forr some time and I think it reallly is very
    well-written. I’m always looking forward to seeing a
    brand-new post.

  12. #12 by Jia on December 11, 2011 - 10:34 AM

    :D haha, completely understand how you feel!

    • #13 by Tom Baker on December 11, 2011 - 11:14 AM

      Jia, I’m sure lots of people can relate. It is good to see you here again. I’ve been meaning to send you an email. I’ll do it right now.

  13. #14 by Mickah on August 10, 2011 - 7:17 AM

    A friend was complaining about this on her blog and I didn’t understand what she was talking about. Thanks for educating me.

  14. #15 by Karina King on December 7, 2010 - 1:12 PM

    I really hate this. I don’t comment alot on blogs and I know it helps against spam but I hate it!

  15. #16 by cursemymetalbody on August 24, 2010 - 1:13 PM

    I used to have my blog set up like this for about two months; the first comment I ever received was a spam comment haha. I got over my fear of spammers though, and I definitely agree, it’s frustrating to see that while commenting. I think if someone really doesn’t like what someone says they can just delete it, but if it isn’t profane or a spam comment, then you might as well let people have their free speech. Love your blog by the way!

    • #17 by Tom Baker on August 24, 2010 - 1:42 PM

      I realize some spammers do leave profane and sexual comments and some blogs are set up mainly for family. I understand that if a site is blessed with lots of visitors and comments, some may be spam and who wants to delete ten spam everyday? Although it might be nice to have that problem!

      • #18 by cursemymetalbody on August 25, 2010 - 9:22 AM

        Yeah that’s a good point. I guess you and I are both lucky that our sites aren’t necessary “family” sites (they aren’t inappropriate either, but sometimes mature content comes up); that way if we get any of those naughty spammers it may not offend people as much.

        I haven’t had a spammer since my first one (thankfully), so I’m very glad I have turned off privacy setting on my comments :)

  16. #19 by Edith Vega on August 7, 2010 - 12:24 AM

    Hola, great post!

  17. #20 by Inspired Heart on November 10, 2009 - 10:00 PM

    Hi,
    I made a comment to someone’s blog 3 days ago, and it’s still “awaiting moderation”. Hey do you guys need a techie who can write code to block people who write swear words so you don’t have to physically READ each new post????? This is really hampering communication!

    • #21 by Tom Baker on November 11, 2009 - 5:01 AM

      Inspired,

      From your Dashboard go down to settings and click on discussion. Toward the bottom is a text box where you can add any words you want to not appear in your comments. Any comment with those words will be held in moderation for you to delete. Thanks for commenting.

  18. #22 by alexpills on October 31, 2009 - 2:44 AM

    Your blog is my favorite blog!

  1. Jalapeno
  2. Your Comment Is Awaiting Moderation | SEO Article Expert

Leave Me With A Portion Of You ...

