What Specifically Are You Thankful For?

Our national day of thanksgiving is over. Being thankful is not something that we need to wait for a special day. Being thankful, especially in the United States should be an every day occurrence and always at the forefront and not in the back of our minds. We are a blessed nation and a blessed people. We waste more in a 24 hour period than the rest of the world.

When you sat down yesterday to partake of a bountiful or not so bountiful feast, what was it that you were thankful for? Please comment.

.

, ,

  1. #1 by SStevenson on December 19, 2009 - 2:38 AM

    Generally I do not post on blogs, but I would love to mention that this post forced me to try and do therefore! I’m just thankful for being alive.

  2. #2 by maidenfine on December 8, 2009 - 12:30 PM

    Seriously? No one has commented on this one? It seems like the sort of post that should have a ton of comments. Oh well. I guess I get to be first.

    This Thanksgiving, I was thankful for a lot of things. I was thankful that I was able to see my paternal grandmother (who I haven’t seen in 2 years) and have a long conversation with her. I was thankful for the opportunity to watch my daughter having a good time with her cousins, even though she sees them so rarely that she didn’t know who they were when we got there. I was thankful for the opportunity to watch my daughter climb up on my dad’s lap when he was dressed like Santa. She’s usually so wary of strangers. I completely didn’t expect it.

    And that’s just the stuff I was thankful for at the Thanksgiving dinner with my Dad’s family on the night before Thanksgiving. We had two more Thanksgiving dinners the next day. Which made me thankful for all the different ways that turkey can taste. And for the way that I can say stupid and/or embarrassing things in front of family and not feel like they love me any less.

    Dinner with my Mom’s side of the family was a whole new set of thankfulness, since we lost my uncle during the last week of October. I was thankful to see as many of my relatives as I did. And I was thankful that my sister got a holiday pass to come home from the juvenile facility where she’s been since October. I really miss her when she’s gone, but I think being there is good for her. I was thankful for seeing both of my cousins. When I can’t see them, sometimes I worry about whether or not they’re okay after their father’s death. I was thankful for being able to see my aunt and uncle from Michigan, and even more thankful to hear that they’re moving down here. That uncle was in the Navy, so they’ve lived in California, Japan, and maybe a few other places before Michigan, but they haven’t lived here, where we could see them all the time. I’m really looking forward to it.

    Basically, this year, I’m really thankful for each and ever person in my family. Because I’ve learned recently that I can’t take them for granted. They won’t always be there.

    • #3 by Tom Baker on December 8, 2009 - 2:04 PM

      You certainly have lots to be thankful for but more importantly you were able to remember them and be thankful. So often as you say we take too many things for granted especially other people.

Leave Me With A Portion Of You ...

