What Is Your Biggest Pet Peeve?

Definition: pet peeve
Something about which one frequently complains; a particular personal vexation.

Preparing for this post, I spent the better part of an hour visiting sites from a list generated by a Google search on pet peeves. What I learned is that people have serious issues with some very petty things. Since I don’t know the circumstances surrounding what drove them to classify this particular aspect of their life as a pet peeve, I can’t judge.

I know that a little thing like not putting the cap back on the toothpaste can be the catalyst for a divorce. I know that cutting someone off on the highway can lead to ‘road rage’ and perhaps even murder, but what is it that makes people so testy? Are we a stressed society or just a bunch of immature adults?

My biggest pet peeve is when people don’t wash their hands after going to the bathroom. I also realize that in public restrooms people are less inclined to want to touch the handles of the faucets, so in some ways I forgive people. I use my shoe to flush, my elbows to turn on and off the water and only my pinky finger to open the door. It’s those visitors that I have to send back into the bathroom at my home who didn’t wash after going to the bathroom that bother me the most. I always check to see if the bar of soap is wet or the hand soap has been moved.

Don’t come to my house and want to shake my hand, eat my food or go into my refrigerator with dirty hands… That’s just rude. I’d rather you steal from me!

Some of what I found on other blogs are: people who snort when they laugh, people who call you and don’t leave a message, having to listen to people eat their popcorn in the movie theater, public nose pickers, pubic hair on hand soap, walking into spider webs, parents who can’t control their kids, and Black people who don’t know that the combination of ‘th‘ in a word does not sound like an ‘f‘, like birf-day.

With my rant out of the way, what is your biggest pet peeve?

.

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by cartoonsbysheila on October 3, 2010 - 2:20 AM

    I’m into pet peeves and pet hates too – big time! If you’re interested, you might check out my cartoon blog at http://www.cartoonsbysheila.wordpress.com
    Cheers, Sheila

    • #2 by Tom Baker on October 4, 2010 - 8:30 AM

      Thanks Sheila, I did drop by your site and left a comment for you. I appreciate you coming by here!

  2. #3 by maidenfine on December 8, 2009 - 11:58 AM

    My pet peeve is when people take out the trash and forget to put a new bag in the can. Because, inevitably, you don’t realize that the bag is missing until you go to put something else in there. And then, you have trash in your hand (potentially something messy, even) and you have to figure out what to do with it while you put a new bag in there.

    And we have hand sanitizer at our house, since I can’t use hand soap or I’ll break out in little blisters all over my hands. People tend to use that with no problem because it only takes a couple seconds. But then, when I’m at other people’s houses, I actually keep some in my purse. So while I wouldn’t classify it as a pet peeve, I definitely agree that it’s uncool when people don’t wash their hands.

  3. #4 by Nathan Pralle on December 6, 2009 - 11:32 AM

    I’m going to have to go with the lack of message on the answering machine. Frankly, nobody of worth hardly ever calls our landlines, but if you do, please leave a message. How hard is that? I hear a lot of people saying, “I hate talking to a machine!” Well, you’re not talking to a machine, jerk, you’re talking to me in a time-shift manner so I can listen to what you have to say when I get a second. Sorry I’m not at your beck-and-call.

    A corollary to this is those that call, leave a message, but it’s something inane, like, “Hi, this is Jane, just have a question for you.” What!? What question? Why couldn’t you just say it on the message so I’d know if it was important or not, or if I cared or not? WHY LEAVE A MESSAGE AT ALL!? Argh. Drives me up a wall.

Leave Me With A Portion Of You ...

