Christmas Traditions

April and I don’t have any traditional Christmas rituals because circumstances have usually had us apart during the Christmas holidays. Being newly married we want to start some traditions of our own. Something separate from what both of our families did.

My family was able to open one gift on Christmas Eve just before going to bed. I also found myself every year with my friends and my sister’s friends watching Christmas Vacation some time during the week of Christmas.

In April’s family, they sang carols on Christmas Eve, had a huge Christmas dinner with everybody in the family and just about the whole neighborhood dropping in for at least a bite of something. Then after Christmas dinner, they opened their gifts. Great traditions all, but we want to be different. We’re in a new town, we’re newly- weds and we want to make our own, new traditions. But what?

For those who celebrate Christmas, what are some of your family traditions. If you don’t mind sharing, perhaps they can become ours too.

Please share and Merry Christmas to one and all.

Make sure to stop back on January 2, 2010 for our first guest blogger, Chris Ferrell from Nerds of the Round Table.

.

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by Tasha on December 18, 2009 - 3:23 PM

    You forgot two more Christmas movies to that list – Home Alone and A Christmas Carol (the one with Alastair Sim, it’s the 1951 version) its a weird tradition I have to watch those two movies along with Christmas Vacation – maybe it’s not weird but it doesn’t feel like Christmas for me if I don’t watch those movies, it makes me happy :)

    I hope you have a very Merry Christmas and a very prosperous New Year!!!!

    – all the best!!!!

Leave Me With A Portion Of You ...

