The Princess Bride

April and I watched one of my all time favorite movies this week. The Princess Bride. Everyone by now (I hope), has seen Princess Bride at least once. If not you are a pitiful excuse for a human being. You’ve missed one of the all time classic comedies that both children and adults can enjoy. I still laugh at the same scenes and even though I know all the lines I find some new aspect to enjoy each and every time.

If you have not seen this classic yet, you aren’t the pitiful excuse I called you before, however you do need to take your rear to Blockbuster or go to your Netflix queue and rent this at once. Warm and cuddled in front of the television, popcorn in hand and an ice cold beverage, lights out; a cold December night or day is the perfect time to watch The Princess Bride.

If you have seen it please share your favorite scene in the comment section below. At our wedding I hired a fake minister who came in and spoke just like the bishop in the movie (see the clip below). I have so many so I can’t be sure but I think this scene is my favorite. Also, now that Fred Savage is an adult I think there should be a Princess Bride II and he can come read to Peter Falk. Just a thought.

.

.

Make sure to stop back on January 2, 2010 for our first guest blogger, Chris Ferrell from Nerds of the Round Table.

.

, , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Lily Marsden on November 8, 2010 - 9:19 PM

    This is my favorite film of all time. I watched it with my friends and now I watch it with my kids. Chris Sarandon was perfect as Prince Humperdink!

  2. #2 by Mel on January 18, 2010 - 3:26 AM

    Very special movie and if it is done right a sequel might be nice.

  3. #3 by Miss Busy Bee on January 7, 2010 - 12:02 AM

    I love this movie! I recently bought a Princess Bride game for my Mac… :)

    • #4 by Tom Baker on January 7, 2010 - 9:47 AM

      Do you agree that there should be a sequel or should we leave well enough alone?

      • #5 by Miss Busy Bee on January 8, 2010 - 4:43 PM

        At this stage? No sequel. The story by itself is good enough. And you know how it is. They are NOT going to make it consistent with the old movie.

        Call me old fashioned, but I think that if they make a sequel, they should make almost everything consistent – cinematography, style of filming, etc.

        ESPECIALLY if it’s much much later they decide to make a sequel.

        I lost interest in the Star Wars series because the new trilogy was so inconsistent with the previous trilogy (cinematography, not storyline…)

        I know they want to attract the NEW audience and the younger generations…but I don’t know. :(

  4. #6 by Suejin Jong on January 3, 2010 - 5:04 AM

    I’m a pitiful excuse but I do want to see it.

  5. #7 by {JeLisa} on December 31, 2009 - 4:11 PM

    Lol. I’m sad to say I’ve never seen it! It is, however, already in my Netflix queue. :) It was added a while ago. It’s something I’ve always heard about and therefore always wanted to see.

    • #8 by Tom Baker on January 2, 2010 - 8:55 PM

      When you watch it forget how much everyone else loves it. Watch it simply as a movie you might enjoy!

  6. #9 by zentiment on December 30, 2009 - 5:27 PM

    I like when Inigo Montoya waits for the masked man at the top of the cliff, then waits till he’s ready to fight, and has a whole conversation with him in the meantime. If only every enemy was so considerate!

  7. #10 by Libby Woo on December 30, 2009 - 3:47 PM

    This is my favorite movie. I couldn’t wait to share it with my kids as they got older. As long as it is done right I wouldn’t mind a sequel either!

Leave Me With A Portion Of You ...

