Happy Birthday Dr. Seuss

Theodor Seuss Geisel; March 2, 1904 – September 24, 1991) was an American writer and cartoonist most widely known for his children’s books written under the pen name Dr. Seuss. He published over 60 children’s books, which were often characterized by imaginative characters, rhyme, and frequent use of trisyllabic meter. His most celebrated books include the bestselling Green Eggs and Ham, The Cat in the Hat, and One Fish Two Fish Red Fish Blue Fish. Numerous adaptations of his work have been created, including eleven television specials, three feature films, and a Broadway musical.

Geisel also worked as an illustrator for advertising campaigns, most notably for Flit and Standard Oil, and as a political cartoonist for PM, a New York City newspaper. During World War II, he worked in an animation department of the U.S Army, where he wrote Design for Death, a film that later won the 1947 Academy Award for Documentary Feature.

Read Across America is an initiative on reading created by the National Education Association. One part of the project is National Read Across America Day, an observance in the United States held on March 2, the birthday of Dr. Seuss.
Source: Wikipedia

Green Eggs And Ham

I am Sam

I am Sam
Sam I am

That Sam-I-am
That Sam-I-am!
I do not like
that Sam-I-am

Do you like
green eggs and
ham

I do not like them,
Sam-I-am.
I do not like
green eggs and ham
Would you like them

Here or there?

I would not like them
here or there.
I would not like them
anywhere.
I do not like
green eggs and ham.
I do not like them,
Sam-I-am

Would you like them
in a house?
Would you like them
with a mouse?

I do not like them
in a house.
I do not like them
with a mouse.
I do not like them
here or there.
I do not like them
anywhere.
I do not like green eggs and ham.
I do not like them, Sam-I-am.

Would you eat them
in a box?
Would you
eat them
with a fox?

Not in a box.
Not with a fox.
Not in a house.
Not with a mouse.
I would not eat them here or there.
I would not eat them anywhere.
I would not eat green eggs and ham.
I do not like them, Sam-I-am.

Would you? Could you?
in a car?
Eat them! Eat them!
Here they are.

I woould not ,
could not,
in a car

You may like them.
You will see.
You may like them
in a tree?
d not in a tree.
I would not, could not in a tree.
Not in a car! You let me be.

I do not like them in a box.
I do not like them with a fox
I do not like them in a house
I do mot like them with a mouse
I do not like them here or there.
I do not like them anywhere.
I do not like green eggs and ham.
I do not like them, Sam-I-am.

A train! A train!
A train! A train!
Could you, would you
on a train?

Not on a train! Not in a tree!
Not in a car! Sam! Let me be!
I would not, could not, in a box.
I could not, would not, with a fox.
I will not eat them with a mouse
I will not eat them in a house.
I will not eat them here or there.
I will not eat them anywhere.
I do not like them, Sam-I-am.

Say!
In the dark?
Here in the dark!
Would you, could you, in the dark?
I would not, could not,
in the dark.

Would you, could you,
in the rain?

I would not, could not, in the rain.
Not in the dark. Not on a train,
Not in a car, Not in a tree.
I do not like them, Sam, you see.
Not in a house. Not in a box.
Not with a mouse. Not with a fox.
I will not eat them here or there.
I do not like them anywhere!

You do not like
green eggs and ham?

I do not
like them,
Sam-I-am.

Could you, would you,
with a goat?

I would not,
could not.
with a goat!

Would you, could you,
on a boat?

I could not, would not, on a boat.
I will not, will not, with a goat.
I will not eat them in the rain.
I will not eat them on a train.
Not in the dark! Not in a tree!
Not in a car! You let me be!
I do not like them in a box.
I do not like them with a fox.
I will not eat them in a house.
I do not like them with a mouse.
I do not like them here or there.
I do not like them ANYWHERE!

I do not like
green egss
and ham!
I do not like them,
Sam-I-am.

You do not like them.
SO you say.
Try them! Try them!
And you may.
Try them and you may I say.

Sam!
If you will let me be,
I will try them.
You will see.

Say!
I like green eggs and ham!
I do!! I like them, Sam-I-am!
And I would eat them in a boat!
And I would eat them with a goat…
And I will eat them in the rain.
And in the dark. And on a train.
And in a car. And in a tree.
They are so good so good you see!

So I will eat them in a box.
And I will eat them with a fox.
And I will eat them in a house.
And I will eat them with a mouse.
And I will eat them here and there.
Say! I will eat them ANHYWHERE!

I do so like
green eggs and ham!
Thank you!
Thank you,
Sam-I-am

Our Guest blogger for March is Nathan Pralle from PhilosYphia. Saturday March 6, 2010 is when you can read Nathan’s post. Stop by his site to get a feel for the kind of reading you can look forward to next Saturday.

.

, ,

  1. #1 by {JeLisa} @ Blogging Ever After on March 3, 2010 - 8:29 PM

    I llllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllove Dr. Seuss!

    His books will DEFINITELY be on heavy rotation once I’ve got kids to read to. :)

  2. #2 by Miss Busy Bee on March 2, 2010 - 12:25 PM

    I LOVE Dr. Seuss. How I miss children’s book like these – fortunately, these are timeless classics that are shared with kids even today!

    Thanks for this – I didn’t know today was his birthday and I love green eggs and ham! ;)

    Have a great day Tom!

  3. #3 by bootlegviolas on March 2, 2010 - 10:39 AM

    Wow, this is informative! I didn’t know today was Dr. Seuss birthday. Yay for Pisces! Haha, I used to love reading all these books especially “Green eggs and ham”. One of my favourites when I was younger. Thanks for the info and thank you on choosing me as one of the top 12 bloggers. I’d do the same, but I don’t know too many bloggers. Can I just choose you twelve times? Lol hope all is well!

  4. #4 by waistingtime on March 2, 2010 - 8:18 AM

    Okay…I have an admission to make. I almost didn’t approve your comment on my blog today when I saw your blog’s name! But I came by for a visit and am glad I did. BTW – while I posted about that other book, this is also my favorite. Possibly because my son’s name is Sam and we read it to him often. It is one of the children’s books that we still own even though my boys have long out grown it. I can recite most of it from memory still! Thanks for stopping by today.

    • #5 by Tom Baker on March 2, 2010 - 8:24 AM

      Thanks for stopping by. I get removed from a lot of comments because of the site’s name, but I like it. I was inspired! Come back often!

  5. #6 by Julia G on March 2, 2010 - 6:49 AM

    I did not know today was his birthday… his books are made to entertain generations, and they’re one thing I can’t see being transferred to digital format. And don’t forget the oft-given graduation gift of Oh! the Places You’ll Go!

    • #7 by Tom Baker on March 2, 2010 - 8:26 AM

      Thanks for coming by. Yeah, I’m an every other day poster, but I couldn’t let his birthday go by without a mention. Come again!

  1. I Am Sam

Leave Me With A Portion Of You ...

