Whale Wars

The World Is A Vampire!


That’s the theme song for a show I started watching On Demand. I think it is by the Smashing Pumpkins. Whale Wars is about the confrontation between the Japanese Whaling Fleet and the Sea Shepherd Conservation Sociaety. The Japanese are killing whales despite an international ban on killing whales. The show follows the Steve Irwin and Bob Barker ships as they attempt to deter and or stop the Japanese ships from killing whales.

April is the animal lover in this family, not I. I do however feel that with the ban in place there is no reason for the killing of the whales. Whales have been hunted almost to the point of extinction and that’s why we have the ban now.

Whale Shashimi

I am not talking about Japanese people when I speak about the Japanese in this post. I am talking specifically about the Japanese government that is allowing the slaughter of these great mammals. The self imposed quota for killing whales is 935 Minke whales, 50 Fin whales and 50 Blue whales. The Japanese government claims that they are only hunting whales for scientific research.

Well if that is true how can they explain the whale meat in the photo? It’s shashimi of whale (thinly cut whale meat) plated at a Japanese restaurant. Then entire rest of the world is in agreement over this issue, however whaling brings in large amounts of money to the local Japanese economy.

It seems everything revolves around the almighty dollar or in this case, the almighty yen.

The Sea Shepherds had just one ship, the Steve Irwin, going up against the Japanese fleet of more than six ships but this latest season saw the addition of the Ady Gil (formerly known as Earthrace) and the Bob Barker.

Part two of the season finale airs this coming Friday, September 3, 2010 and I am anxious to see how things end. The captain of the Ady Gil snuck onto the Shonan Maru to arrest the captain for destroying his ship. Earlier in the season the Shonan Maru hit the Ady Gil and cut the ship in half. It sunk into the pristine waters of the Antarctic Ocean.

Essentially climbing onto someone elses maritime vessel is piracy so the captain could spend some time in a Japanese prison. I realize this is a recorded show and I could just google his fate, but what would I watch on Saturday morning with my sweetheart if I cheated like that? Oh, Eureka comes on the same time as Whale Wars and science fiction wins over reality every time! In a nutshell, I think killing whales is wrong. In this day and age people should know better. I encourage you to check out the show if you don’t already watch.


I found a blogger who is kind enough to guest blog for the month of September. I was attracted to her site because of the poetry. Her name is Cherlyn Cochrane and her site, Over A Cup Of Coffee. This is my first guest blogger since Kari Cheng in June. Please mark your calendar, September 4, 2010 and stop back to read her post. Also feel free to visit her site before her post.

.

, , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by vee15 on September 9, 2010 - 1:54 PM

    :( Nooooo! see things like this make me mad about people and their loving of killing innocent things that havent harmed us in a way {Shamoo doesn’t count!} Why would do something like that! I want to go start something with them, something bad! but yunno, I’m going to tell god on them!

    Research my behind! That’s unrealistic, they know why they want that whale, like you said the money! Is the money the only thing people care about?? uggh. I’m upset. I love animals dearly! I wish I can built a ark like Noah and save them all from doom! siiiiigh!

    • #2 by Tom Baker on September 10, 2010 - 1:39 PM

      Don’t forget people are also killing tigers, elephants, and lots of other animals as well. Don’t forget BP and the gulf oil spill. It’s more than crazy.

  2. #3 by Jia on September 2, 2010 - 8:43 AM

    arrgh. Tom, you must have heard that some Chinese people (in fact many) enjoy eating DOGS (omg), turtles (for medicine values), cats etc. I have seen the way they capture and kill whales and seals. It just makes me cry.

    There were times I was thinking of becoming a vegetarian (but it can be really tough). :S

  3. #4 by cursemymetalbody on August 31, 2010 - 11:02 AM

    I completely agree with you. I can’t really watch that show because it bothers me so much. The Japanese government also allows its fisherman to catch sharks, cut off their fins, and throw them back into the water. I’m really fascinated by all aquatic creatures, and it really sickens me how overfished the ocean is. Sturgeon are being so over fished they are probably going to become extinct – because some rich bugger wants some caviar.

    I’m not a huge “Greenpeace type” of animal lover, but it does bother me a lot when humankind can be completely inconsiderate about animals. I understand that people eat meat (I eat meat as well), but to me, I believe people have become so ignorant and selfish – they want the meat now, and they dont’ care what impact it has on the environment or that species. On that note though, I do have to say, I am pro-seal hunt here in Canada, and for anyone who wants to know why feel free to ask me – I don’t want to invade Tom’s comment box anymore than I already have! lol

    Sorry haha, kind of got carried away on a tangent there. I think this was a really good post – I don’t think a lot of people are quite aware of this whale issue, and it’s good for you to bring it to the attention of those that don’t. The more people that are aware, the more people that can help fix the problem. And yes you are correct, the theme song is by Smashing Pumpkins – it’s Bullet with Butterfly Wings (great song).

    • #5 by Tom Baker on August 31, 2010 - 12:59 PM

      I forgot about shark fin soup. Money! The love of money is sickening. I give you permission to educate us on why seal hunting is going on in the big C.

Leave Me With A Portion Of You ...

