Some Good Teen News

In the wake of a horrific tragedy comes a ray of hope. People are always getting on teenagers for all the bad things that they do. In most cases rightly so. I read a letter that one teenager wrote in response to the hostage drama on a Filipino bus earlier this week. I found it a good read and you know when that happens that I force you, the reader of my blog to decide for yourself. This letter has received almost 20,000 Facebook likes from the iCNN news page.

.

As you are reading this letter, I bet that you have seen/heard about what happened earlier in our country.

Tourists were hostages of a policeman here, Rolando Mendoza. After a few hours of the horrible crime, some of the victims were dead including the hostage-taker.

I wrote this letter not just to apologize but also to let everyone know that we Filipinos are not all like Mendoza. We are loving and good-hearted people.

For so many years, our country has been standing tall and surpassing every dilemma; be it small or big. Years ago (back when I wasn’t born yet), you have watched us fight for what we think is right. We fought for the democracy of our nation.. The EDSA revolution. But that’s just one out of many.

Second. We Filipinos have been serving other countries for our families and we treat you as our own as well. With all due respect, I thank you all for giving us the trust through the years. For helping us to become what we are now.

The Philippines is more than just a group of islands. We are a nation of strong and remarkable people. A country of beauty and love known to be hospitable and well-valued. I humbly apologize for what happened tonight. No one in this world would want something like that to happen for life should be valued.

I politely ask the attention of the world. Please do not judge and mistreat us just because of what happened tonight. I have been searching the net and found terrible things. Hong Kong advices to avoid travels here, China and HK bans Filipinos and that Philippines is the worst place to go.

I can’t blame you for what you have decided but I hope that you could understand. Our country is now in a sea of problems. And I know for sure that we helped you in a way or another. Let peace and understanding reign this time.

I know that this letter will just be trash but I wish that you would understand. On behalf of the Philippine population.. WE ARE SORRY.

As a song puts it…

And I believe that in my life I will see an end to hopelessness, giving-up and suffering. And we all stand together this one time then no one will get left behind. Stand up for life. STAND UP FOR LOVE

Sincerely yours,

Reigno Jose Dilao

.

, , ,

  1. #1 by vee15 on September 9, 2010 - 1:46 PM

    This amazing! Thank god some teenager took a stand, for a second I thought I had to be the next super hero lol! :) Love the post.

    • #2 by Tom Baker on September 9, 2010 - 1:48 PM

      You can still be the next super hero! What is your power?

      • #3 by vee15 on September 9, 2010 - 1:55 PM

        Aha. I’d have the power to cure people with my writing! ahahahaha

  2. #4 by Kevin on September 6, 2010 - 8:34 AM

    It was a terrible tragedy. I hope it never gets repeated.

  3. #5 by Rogue|Hero on September 3, 2010 - 6:17 PM

    Hey Tom!

    Yes, I agree: The letter is definitely a good read.

    The hostage crisis was a huge blow to Philippine pride as it put us in an embarrassing light. Despite that, Reigno thought of sincerely putting out an apology and a letter of understanding on behalf of our country on social networks.

    I also do hope that the rest of the world won’t judge us because of the wrong-doings of one of us. It’s been a really disappointing time; good thing light can be shed from the dark.

    Cheers!

  4. #6 by barrycyrus on September 1, 2010 - 11:57 PM

    hmm great sympathy.

  5. #7 by Rose on September 1, 2010 - 11:06 AM

    I agree with cursemymetalbody although I don’t feel there is a need for Reigno to apologize. Don’t apologize for someone elses actions. Nobody blames the people of the Philippines for the behavior of one mental individual. It was a very mature letter and sincere. Just think if the US citizens had to apologize for all the violent behavior that goes on here every day!

  6. #8 by cursemymetalbody on September 1, 2010 - 10:42 AM

    What a great letter, thank you for sharing it. I think a lot of adults underestimate teenagers – and believe all of them to be self involved children. But they too are human, and like any adults, they make mistakes. I think as we get older we forget that we too were young, and don’t value the younger generation. But like this letter clearly shows, they can surpise people; it’s nice to know that one younger person in the world has a voice that the “more mature” population actually hears and listens to. There is hope.

  7. #9 by Judy Marie Santiago on September 1, 2010 - 3:06 AM

    It’s nice that you sympathize with our country, Tom. And it’s really encouraging to know that teenagers–esp Filipinos–are looking forward to apologize for the country. This doesn’t happen all the time since teens are known to be rebels of their age. This is a nice post Tom. Thank you from everyone out here. :) I miss you too.

Leave Me With A Portion Of You ...

