The World Celebrates Michael Jackson’s Birthday

Michael Jackson‘s 52nd birthday came and went this year without much media fanfare and as far as I knew, without too much fanfare. I was wrong. There were a plethora of worldwide celebrations even in Michael’s home town of Gary, Indiana.

It would not be a stretch to say that Michael might be the only popular singer/songwriter in history to have billions of fans. His death will not stop his fans from remembering his birthday and choosing to celebrate it despite his death. There were parties held in Spain, Australia, Russia and the United States.

In California over twelve hundred dancers tried to break the record for the number of dancers performing Thriller at the same time. Guinness Book of World Records was on hand but they did not break the world record but instead broke the record in California. Of all the parties that were held, perhaps the best known is the one director Spike Lee threw last year in Brooklyn. Spike did it again this year too and like last year the entire event was free of charge. Over 50,000 people packed Prospect Park and Snoop Dogg showed up and did an rendition of Michael’s Butterflies.


Photo Credit: Anna Dorfman from Door Sixteen

For more information on the hugely successful birthday party in Brooklyn and to see some amazing photos of the event, stop by Anna’s blog, Door Sixteen and read her wonderful post. In addition you can read the thank you note Spike Lee wrote to all attendees.

Do you have a favorite Michael Jackson song? If so, would you be so kind as to leave it in the comment section. Thanks.

I tried to figure out my favorite Michael Jackson song a long time ago and it seems that often it changes. It might be my mood or just a memory. At this very moment, my favorite song to dance to is The Way You Make Me Feel and my favorite to just listen to is Stranger In Moscow. Lastly, my favorite song to sing along to is Break of Dawn. Hee heee.

Cherlyn Cochrane is guest blogging on this Saturday, September 4th.  Her site, Over A Cup Of Coffee and her poetry is what initially drew me to her site. This is my first guest blogger since Kari Cheng in June. Please mark your calendar, September 4, 2010 and stop back to read her post. Also visit her site before and then again after her guest post.

.

.

, ,

  1. #1 by Rogue|Hero on September 3, 2010 - 6:25 PM

    Hey Tom!

    I wasn’t really a 100-percent fan of MJ; but definitely, I was a fan of Michael Jackson, the balladeer.

    Yup, I love his ballads. When I was a kid, my most favorite MJ song was You Are Not Alone. For some reason, I found the melody soothing.

    Now that I’ve grown up, I came to appreciate his dance/rock/upbeat hits. I keep chanting lines from Thriller, Billie Jean, and Beat It. But the one song that really stayed with me was Black or White–it never fails to make you groove, what with the amazing electric guitar accompaniment.

    I guess the resurgence of MJ-fandom in me was brought about by his death last year.

    Cheers!

  2. #2 by barrycyrus on September 2, 2010 - 12:51 PM

    a week before he actually died, i had “Billie Jean” for my LSS. Then gasp! He died. End of story.

    • #3 by Tom Baker on September 2, 2010 - 1:26 PM

      Barry what is LSS?

      • #4 by barrycyrus on September 2, 2010 - 3:42 PM

        Last Song Syndrome, where one repetitively sings one song :)

  3. #5 by MJ #1 Fan on September 2, 2010 - 8:50 AM

    I just did a search through wordpress and I came across a site that has this very same post. After I read the post I clicked on a link to your site. It would appear that your post was stolen by them. FYI.

    By the by, my favorite song is a Jackson’s song, Can You Feel It.

    • #6 by cursemymetalbody on September 2, 2010 - 9:05 AM

      at the bottom of the post it appears as though the person put a link up to this Post – so I guess they sort of credited (at the bottom and not very clearly); they should’ve put it at the top and they should have asked for his permission. Very odd indeed!

      • #7 by Tom Baker on September 2, 2010 - 11:42 AM

        Thank you two, I left a comment on the site but of course it is in moderation queue. I doubt it gets posted but here is what I left:

        I think if you are going to take my post word for word and put it on your site, the credit should go at the beginning of the article and not at the end. Also I asked permission from the photographer to use her photo on my site. I’m not too sure she would be happy to see it here.

  4. #8 by Rose on September 2, 2010 - 8:44 AM

    That’s a party I would like to have gone to. My favorite Michael song is Human Nature. It’s just a lovely song to spend your afternoon in a field of flowers kind of song.

    • #9 by Tom Baker on September 2, 2010 - 11:43 AM

      Sounds great but it was also 95 degrees that day. I don’t think I could have really enjoyed myself baking like that.

  5. #10 by cursemymetalbody on September 2, 2010 - 7:54 AM

    I have to admit, I’ve never been a huge Michael Jackson fan. It’s not that I don’t like him, but I’m not a huge music person to begin with so that probably has something to do with it. But that’s not to say I don’t appreciate and respect all of his music and what he has done for the music industry. It’s hard to imagine what music would be like nowadays if he had never influenced so many of the artists around today. There are a few of his songs that I absolutely love though (it’s kind of like the Beatles, there has to be at least one song everyone likes lol). I love Smooth Criminal. I did not like the film Moonwalker, but the Smooth Criminal portion was amazing, and I could probably watch it every day.

    • #11 by Tom Baker on September 2, 2010 - 11:46 AM

      Hey there, I will not hold it against you that you aren’t one of the special people… (you know, Michael Jackson fans!). Seriously, you are right about his influence and from almost every kind of genre. Are you anxious about your post on Saturday?

  1. 這….CITY……入戲太深 | 溰梦 的分享空間

Leave Me With A Portion Of You ...

