Lost And Found

Hoarding is a horrible and debilitating disorder. Decades worth of trash can be stored in a home turning it into a dump. I’ve seen commercials for Hoarders which I believe is on the A&E channel but I have never watched it. I’ve seen enough nasty disgusting hazards watching Clean House. Between you and I, I still don’t know why I like that show. I know Niecy cracks me up but; never mind. I didn’t mean to go off topic.

In Seattle a woman went missing for four months. Her husband looked everywhere for her. The police searched the home twice and could not find her. They even used dogs to aid in the search. I’m sure the husband was initially a suspect.

Billie Jean James, a compulsive hoarder was finally found last Wednesday. She was found dead in her own home by her husband. He was mortified that not only had she died but that he had been living in the house with her corpse for so long.

She was under a pile of clothes, open food, newspapers and other junk. Can you imagine that twice the police dogs missed her rotting body? I can hear Dr. McCoy in the back of my mind, “My God Jim, I’m a doctor not a magician!” Not that that makes any sense to anyone but myself.

Tomorrow is the day! Cherlyn Cochrane is guest blogging on tomorrw. Her site, Over A Cup Of Coffee and her poetry is what initially drew me to her site. Cherlyn is my first guest blogger since Kari Cheng in June. Please make sure to come back to read her post tomorrow. Also visit her site now to see what it’s all about. It’s a great blog, especially if you like poetry.

.

, , , ,

  1. #1 by gibsongirl247 on September 7, 2010 - 10:49 AM

    Okay…that is gross and creepy, beyond the sad factor. I can not even imagine not being able to find her–it had to be pretty bad. I am an organized neatnik for the most part, so it is hard for me to understand this type of situation. Messy I understand–but this is way over the top.

    • #2 by Tom Baker on September 7, 2010 - 11:06 AM

      People like this must REALLY be hurting inside. It’s not just unsightly but very much unhealthy – especially the ones with pets and I hate to think of the children who have to live in those conditions.

  2. #3 by Norah on September 3, 2010 - 1:59 PM

    The other day I watched a show about animal hoarders on Animal Planet. I’d watch those kind of shows before, but never about animals. It was sad,disgusting, but I could not change the channel. Okay, I changed it for about 10 minutes because I was super hungry and I couldn’t watch the show and eat at the same time. One lady had so much pee and poop that soaked into her floor that she had holes in the flooring. They actually showed her fall through the floor when she was walking to her kitchen. I felt so sorry for these ladies (yes, they were all ladies).

    I read the story about the lady being found in her home the other day while perusing the web. I couldn’t imagine finding my spouse buried in my home months after they’d gone missing. So sad.

  3. #4 by cursemymetalbody on September 3, 2010 - 11:12 AM

    Whats really sad about hoarders is the fact that those people are so sad and depressed that they use hoarding as a way of making themselves feel better in a sense. Whether it be holding onto objects that are related to a happy memory, or just as something that comes with a shopping addiction. I’ve seen that show, as well as documentaries on hoarding, and I have to say that it’s unpleasant for a number of other reasons other than it be disgusting. It’s too sad for me.

    Oh and by the way – that Star Trek quote totally made sense to me.

    • #5 by Tom Baker on September 3, 2010 - 11:26 AM

      It is sad. Which show did you see, Clean House or Hoaders? I think this needs to get attention but not by exploiting people on TV like some shows do.

Leave Me With A Portion Of You ...

