Before The Computer & A Little Computer Humor

.

I’m on my computer for a fair amount of time during the day so I thought a post about computers was appropriate. Just a little fun but I am sure most have already seen these before.

BEFORE THE COMPUTER

Memory was something you looked back on and smiled
An application was for employment.
A program was a TV show.
A cursor used profanity.
A keyboard was a piano.
Backup happened to your toilet.
A web was a spider’s home.
A virus made you sick.
A CD was in your bank.
Natural stupidity was better than artificial intelligence.
A hard drive was a rough swing on the golf course.
A computer was a machine running the USS Enterprise.
A mouse pad was what you saw Jerry or Speedy Gonzales run into.
If you had a 3 1/2 inch floppy… you were just happy it got longer when erect!
Smith & Wesson was the original point and click interface.


A LITTLE COMPUTER HUMOR

1. Someone knocked over my recycle bin… There’s icons all over my desktop.
2. I went to a gentleman’s cybercafe — and they offered me a ‘laptop dance‘.
3. Sell a man a phish he can scam for a day, but teach him how to phish and he can scam for himself for a lifetime.

.

, , ,

  1. #1 by Miss Busy Bee on September 20, 2010 - 7:55 PM

    Haha, love it!

    • #2 by Tom Baker on September 20, 2010 - 8:51 PM

      Some of these are very funny!

  2. #3 by Cherlyn on September 16, 2010 - 8:55 AM

    Bahahah the floppy one made water come out my nose. My life without a computer is a bit hazy, my school was fortunate enough to get decent computers when I was in grade 4 (just turning 10), so this is pretty interesting to me. Sometimes people are so ‘plugged in’ all the time, they cant imagine how to live without it – it’s a bit frightening. Good post!

    • #4 by Tom Baker on September 16, 2010 - 9:01 AM

      I hope you were drinking water at the time! Thanks, I thought some of them were really funny too. It’s Poetry Thursday so I will be by your site today to read your post!

      • #5 by Cherlyn on September 16, 2010 - 10:38 AM

        Lol i’m happy that I was – that would just be unhealthy if it wasn’t the case. Lol i’m totally going to be thinking about that all day now lol

  3. #6 by Scent of my heart on September 16, 2010 - 1:17 AM

    Yes, before the computer .. when the only letters we would receive would be in the post box. The picture from birthdays were only in albums, not on Flickr or FB or any other similar. I miss the simplicity of these days… I like to have e-mails, but I also like the real letters. I like the memory of my computer, because it fits enough stuff, but I prefer the real memories, the ones actually that make you smile :) Nice post Tom!

    • #7 by Tom Baker on September 16, 2010 - 9:02 AM

      I think your comment has given me an idea for another post. Sometimes the impersonal aspects of the computer just don’t work. It’s nice to get a real letter in the mail is what April always says and she still writes her friends in Washington all the time.

      • #8 by Scent of my heart on September 16, 2010 - 11:58 AM

        Oh I love writing on paper I still write letters too :) but I usually get answers through the e-mail ..but I keep on doing it …even though some tell me I’m old-fashioned :) Glad to hear my comment gave you an idea …I don’t know if you have had a psot like this ..but I’d love to see from you a post about 10 best kisses in movies :)

        • #9 by Tom Baker on September 16, 2010 - 9:08 PM

          That would require months and months of research. I know the kiss at the end of Princess Bride says it is the best kiss.

          • #10 by Scent of my heart on September 17, 2010 - 1:16 AM

            oh I can right away send you few youtube videos :)

Leave Me With A Portion Of You ...

