Taking Your Suggestions

I’ve listened to your suggestions and I’ve decided to make a few changes to Morning Erection. Starting tomorrow I will be changing to a different theme. I’ve been told that I need to have a list of posts and categories to make finding older content easier for new and regular visitors.

So let it be written… so let it be done.

I need to use a theme that has a nice sized sidebar to house all of my categories. When I first started blogging I didn’t bother learning the difference between tags and categories and I have quite a few categories. When I look around at other blogs at most I’ve seen twenty or thirty. I have 498! Crazy I know.

Every time I find a theme I like I find something wrong with it. I chose Rubric but I hate the way the comment section looks. I like Rubric because it has the largest writing width of any other theme. I chose Enterprise because it’s the closest to the INove theme I’m using now, but still something about it I don’t like.

As of this minute I still haven’t decided yet, but you will see tomorrow because I’m committed to adding a sidebar. If I add a sidebar to the theme I’m using now, it makes the post area too small. All this is boring you, I know. I’m taking the advice of Jia and Rouge|Hero and try to show more posts. We’ll see what happens and thanks for sticking with me on this journey of mine!

The Guest blogger for October is Blaga Todorova from Scent Of My Heart. On October 2, 2010 be sure to come back and read what she has to say. I believe Blaga is the first person to volunteer to guest post for me. She is a great poet but her guest post is not just another poem. Blaga lets you in on a glimpse of herself and her poetry. If you have not been by her site after reading her poem posted on Poetic License, please do so now.

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by dotNetFollower on September 30, 2011 - 12:59 PM

    For me INove is the best theme of free wordpress themes. I really love iNove theme and used it for my blog http://dotnetfollower.com. But the main problem for me was that iNove theme initially has a much wider sidebar than I need. I’ve reduced the width of sidebar and described it in my article -http://dotnetfollower.com/wordpress/2010/12/get-the-smaller-sidebar-of-inove-theme/
    Thanks!

    • #2 by Tom Baker on October 2, 2011 - 10:37 AM

      I used iNove for more than a year I think. It served it’s purpose but I am very happy with Fusion.

  2. #3 by Vikki on October 27, 2010 - 6:26 AM

    I’m really enjoying your site.

  3. #4 by Jia on October 1, 2010 - 11:02 PM

    coool :) Hi Tom, I like your new theme :P

  4. #5 by Recis|Rules on September 27, 2010 - 4:34 PM

    By the way,

    The recently released blog theme, Fusion is a good alternative since it has similarities to Enterprise. And, it has a custom width feature.

    Cheers!

  5. #6 by Recis|Rules on September 27, 2010 - 4:28 PM

    Hey Tom!

    I’m looking forward to your change in themes and the implementation of some of our suggestions. By the way, thanks for considering our suggestions for your blog.

    I am also thinking of switching themes, and I’ve also been considering Enterprise for some time now. Looks like we share a certain view when it comes to choosing a blog theme. :D

    Cheers!

    • #7 by Tom Baker on September 27, 2010 - 9:26 PM

      Actually I’m kind of sleepy so I might make all my changes now and thanks for your suggestions about Fusion. It’s the one I chose to use! What’s with the new name?

  6. #8 by Cherlyn on September 27, 2010 - 11:15 AM

    Hey Tom! Looking forward to seeing what the new layout looks like. I’m sure whatever you decide will look great. I know that with my blog I’m never 100% happy with how it looks, but that’s not necessarily a bad thing; if we are always satisfied with what we have, we may never want to improve anything! I’m sure whichever layout you pick will suit the content of your blog well :).

    I’m also really excited to read Blaga’s post on the 2nd :) So much excitement!!

    • #9 by Tom Baker on September 27, 2010 - 12:11 PM

      I’ve had the privilege of reading her post and it is a good one. Don’t get too excited!!! I know what you mean about not being content with your blog. It is out there for everyone to see and being as pedantic and I am, I’m always looking for something to improve upon. I usually feel it’s my writing skills because I can only do so much with theming unless I upgrade. Happily I found a great theme and only twelve hours before you get to see it!

      • #10 by Cherlyn on September 27, 2010 - 2:08 PM

        You and are pretty similar then – I am so meticulous when it comes to how I present myself – so I’ve spent hours on one post just trying to make it look ok haha. I’m sure your new layout will look great!! :) I’ve been considering upgrading, but I dont have a great number of hits just yet. I’m sure you probably get enough to warrant upgrading; but if you found a layout you enjoy without having to pay for it, bonus! lol

        • #11 by Tom Baker on September 27, 2010 - 2:53 PM

          You know I check my stats everyday and as of right now, it looks like today will be my single highest page views. Looks like I might have to update my post for tomorrow to reflect the new numbers. Also you play a prominent part in one of my stats (say what?). That’s right. Over the past week my visitors have gone from around 100-200 per day to almost 300-500 per day. I think I owe it all to Poetic Justice, the Colts and the medical information on erections (ssh!). My blog’s name brings lots of visitors and keeps away the same amount I bet. Thanks for your support.

    • #12 by Scent of my heart on September 27, 2010 - 3:42 PM

      one excited at least :) I’m a bit nervous about it :) Thanks Cherlyn …

  7. #13 by Blaga on September 27, 2010 - 10:31 AM

    Awww .. it’s so nice to come back from a weekend away and to find all nice comments on my posts by you and Cherlyn and such a nice presentation for my guest post!!! Thank you so much!!! About the theme suggestion you know I use Rubric and I like it very much… I like the simplicity of the page and having seen almost all themes to find one that will allow me to have the things I’d need for my blog I find Rubric the best to suit my needs! So I am for Rubric! Thank you so much Tom again ….

    • #14 by Tom Baker on September 27, 2010 - 12:03 PM

      I did like Rubric a lot until I saw what the comments look like after the same person replies and then the author comments on the reply. It looks kind of jumbled and hard to read from any comments below that. That probably didn’t make any sense to anyone but me.

      • #15 by Scent of my heart on September 27, 2010 - 2:24 PM

        well I don’t like very much the comments part too …but you can’t have it all and I guess I’m happy with other things ..but I’m sure whatever you choose will be very good!

        • #16 by Tom Baker on September 27, 2010 - 2:54 PM

          I’m glad you understand. Other than that I really like Rubric. Thanks for supporting my blog since I found yours.

          • #17 by Scent of my heart on September 27, 2010 - 3:36 PM

            I like your blog :) and I like your soul!

Leave Me With A Portion Of You ...

