Let Me In: Not A Movie Review

We all know that a vampire has to be invited into your home, according to legend. Thus, the name of the movie. Let Me In is a remake of one of my favorite vampire movies, Let The Right One In. Originally I did not want to see this, but I may have changed my mind. I can’t begin to review a movie I haven’t seen, however I can tell you one thing — Hollywood remakes of classic foreign horror movies usually fall flat. Hollywood’s ‘interpretation’ of The Eye, The Grudge, Rec, and even The Ring pale in comparison to their originals. They just weren’t worth my time.

Let The Right One In should be seen first if you intend to see Let Me In. That’s just my advice though. Let The Right One In is a stylish, fresh, and very creepy vampire flick. It is about a 12 year old female vampire (twelve at the time she was turned). She befriends another 12 year old, boy who is the victim of bullying. She helps him with his problems and they form a strange relationship.

I’m still not sure I will see Let Me In in the theater. Some movies are better under a blanket with homemade popcorn and my wife. You can’t beat that! You can rent Let The Right One In (2008) at Netflix and Blockbuster. If you see or have seen either one, I would be interested in what you thought.

View The Trailer

Image Gallery
(the middle image is the actress,
Lina Leandersson, from Let The Right One In)

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Audrey on October 21, 2010 - 4:30 AM

    I’ve seen both films and really they are both great. Go see this movie.

  2. #2 by Scent of my heart on October 8, 2010 - 4:23 PM

    Haven’t seen it …but I love vampires …I don’t mind letting one inside my house, a good one!

    • #3 by Tom Baker on October 8, 2010 - 5:50 PM

      If you like vampires/vampire movies, this is a good one. Who knew that kids would make the best vampires?

      • #4 by Scent of my heart on October 9, 2010 - 12:56 AM

        Then I’ll have to find time to see it!

  3. #5 by Judy Marie Santiago on October 7, 2010 - 10:02 PM

    Hi Tom! :)

    Can I just say first, that I really really like your new WP theme? :) I love the Helvetica font so much I can die. Haha!

    Anyway, Yes I completely agree with you that the movie “Let The Right One In” is really a superb, brilliant, scary movie. It scares us in silence, subtly, but that’s the worst way to scare. I mean, they did not have to have flying monsters or excessive props, just the silence, the nice plot and the script that is very witty.

    Second, I also agree that remakes are almost always suck. :D That’s why I’m also thinking twice of watching Let Me In in a theatre.

    Finally, I agree with you that some movies are just worth watching in the bedroom. Sometimes these movies are cooler when watched beside someone you love where you can be as comfortable as how you want to be. :)

    Nice post! ♥

    • #6 by Tom Baker on October 8, 2010 - 8:04 AM

      I like it when you drop by Judy. I just watched Let The Right One In again this week. I have read what critics are saying and most think Let Me In is a well done as the original. We will see. Oh, and I’m still working on those books for you.

  4. #7 by gravurelover on October 6, 2010 - 1:37 PM

    I saw the movie and it was great! The best vamp movie I’ve seen. My girlfriend loved it as well. A triumph, but I must say I have not seen Let The Right One In yet. I googled the actress and she is beautiful, not like the image up above. I’m going to rent Let The Right One In this weekend.

  5. #8 by Cherlyn on October 5, 2010 - 10:37 AM

    I plan on watching the original this week; from reviews I’ve seen of the new one (people who’ve seen advanced screenings) it apparently follows the original well. And on that note, I almost didn’t even want to see these movies until I read the original book – which I also heard is very good.

    I think that part of the reason hollywood remakes don’t do well is partially because the stories don’t translate well to our culture; the grudge did well for profits, but the actual message and lore of that type of ghost story is lost on North American audiences because our traditions and beliefs about the afterlife differ so much from Japanese culture. Ju-on by far is a much better story, though i don’t think it is quite as scary. As for Quarantine vs REC – I actually own both, and slapped myself after for buying quarantine because it is an exact frame for frame remake. I think the problem with that particular remake is hiring actors and actresses that are recognizable, it decreases the believability of the faux documentary type of film. But I’ll still take the time to watch a remake.

    I think my problem with some of the North American audiences is that there are some who automatically bash a remake of a film before even seeing it. Granted there are lots of bad remakes, but there are some good ones as well. And though I think it would be better for people to see the originals as well if not first, there is something lost in the essence of the film when it isn’t in the audience’s native tongue; I love the film Life is Beautiful, it is by far one of my favourites, but the first time I watched it, it didn’t resonate with me as much as the third or fourth sitting, because I was more focused upon what the subtitles were saying. Though I still enjoyed it, someone who isn’t used to reading subtitles probably wouldn’t have enjoyed it nearly as much. Sometimes remakes can help bring the message of the film to more people. Or Hollywood knows that some people won’t be bothered to watch it in the native tongue, and figure why not make more money. And though it bothers me, I’ve never made $1million +, so kudos for them for knowing their market haha.

    I’m still not sure if I’ll see Let Me In either though. I am tired of this whole vampire thing. But maybe i’ll spend $5 to see it on Cheap Tuesday, who knows. I’d like to see what you think of it if you do see it though :)

    • #9 by Tom Baker on October 5, 2010 - 1:46 PM

      Wow, I love your long comments! I’m more interested in hearing what your review is on Let The Right One In. I like movies with subtitles. Or more precisely, they don’t bother me like they do some people. I don’t mind voice-overs either. I’ll have to check my records to see if I’ve seen Life is Beautiful.

      • #10 by Cherlyn on October 5, 2010 - 7:54 PM

        Haha I didnt realize how long that was until I hit submit lol Whoops haha. If you havent seen Life is Beautiful, I’d strongly recommend it, it’s definitely one of my favourites.

Leave Me With A Portion Of You ...

