Star Trek XII Information

Space, the final frontier. These are the voyages of the Starship Morning Wood. Its ongoing mission to explore strange new blogs, to seek out new lifeforms and new commentaries. To boldly go where no blogger has gone before.

Seriously. I am officially a trash picker. I opened up this post knowing with certainty that I had finished it last week. To my amazement only the above first sentences were here. Am I crazy? I remember writing this on a notepad last week when I was watching Undercovers. Afterward I created a new post and typed the whole thing out. Maybe I closed out the computer without saving the post. Only heaven knows!

Regardless, I found myself looking to find a balled up piece of paper in the bottom of the trash can and there it was with a couple of ideas for new posts as well. Thank goodness I’m lazy and that trashcan doesn’t get much use.

Are you a fan of Star Trek, the original series? Did you enjoy the latest Star Trek movie? There is news out concerning the next Star Trek movie, Star Trek XII. Due to be released in 2012, JJ Abrams (creator of Undercovers), has given some insight on the film. There are two absolutes about the next Trek movie. First, Khan will not be the villain as many Star Trek fans were hoping to see. Second, the script is said to have a traditional character from the original series.

Unless Abrams is not telling the truth, Khan is out of the picture. I’m wondering who it might be because there are a great number to choose from. Will the person be a friend or foe? I have spoken with some folks at Lightspeed Productions and they tell me that in some of the art work they sell you can see what appears to be computer chips and processors. I was informed that it’s there because the Borg around in Kirk’s time.

I don’t want to see the Borg, the Talosians, the Klingon’s, Romulans or even Harry Mudd. What I did want was a Next Generation (before Generations) movie with Janeway, Sisko, Picard and Kirk all joined together to fight against some of the members of the Q Continuum. Since Kirk is both dead and in the Nexus I don’t see my dream movie coming to fruition.

To my surprise I learned in Star Trek lore, the Q Continuum was around in the original series. The Q in question (like what I did there), was Trelane. The character of Trelane from the episode, The Squire of Gothos is a young spoiled Q. That is who I would love to see in the next Star Trek movie. An even younger Trelane who  is even more childish and immature.

If you are a fan of the show or the movies do you have any suggestions for a traditional Star Trek character to appear in the movie? Perhaps a better question for me is when will they fix the time line to align with what we know Trek to be.

Skyline opens today. If you see it, let me know what you think of it.

, , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Scent of my heart on November 14, 2010 - 5:13 AM

    I’m not a Star trek fan, I guess I didn’t really gave the chance to be one! I do that sometimes, when everyone is into something, I avoid it and in time I get to it. Something like not going with the flow of all rule that I have inside of me. But I enjoyed reading your post! I hope you’re doing fine! Always nice to see you stopping by my blog! Regards!

  2. #2 by Rose on November 12, 2010 - 10:25 AM

    I’m a huge fan of all things Star Trek but I think I would rather wait for what the people in charge decide to do so I will be surprised rather than speculate. James and I were thinking about seeing Skyline. Have a great weekend Tom.

    • #3 by Tom Baker on November 13, 2010 - 10:46 AM

      I can imagine that sitting and seeing without any knowledge would be a great movie experience.

  3. #4 by Cherlyn on November 12, 2010 - 4:02 AM

    They’re not going to align the timeline to be the Star Trek you remember. It’s an alternate universe. They did this so they can have some freedom with the films so fanboys are bitching and moaning about every little detail they got wrong, and technically, this alternate universe is cannon. Not to say that things won’t be similar, but they won’t be the same. I dont want them to align the universes, though I enjoyed the show, I’ve seen it so much that if they made a carbon copy into a new format, I wouldn’t want to see it. What I loved about the last movie was how it just blew me away, I thought it was going to be crap. But they changed everything enough that it was new and fresh, but kept the essence of the characters and the show.

    The Borg would be different, but I hope they don’t – Star Trek First Contact was awesome but I would like to see something different in the films. And I am so happy they aren’t doing Kahn…But I guess whatever they do, I’ll see it!

    Great post Tom!! Sorry to hear that you’ve lost some of your work, sometimes I close things before they finish saving too :(.

    • #5 by Tom Baker on November 13, 2010 - 10:41 AM

      I didn’t know that the timeline was never going to be fixed. In that case any of the traditonal characters would be great — even a trip to the future to meet any of the other Trek incarnations would be possible. Eventually I still want the timeline fixed. It’s the Trekker in me!

Leave Me With A Portion Of You ...

