That’s What I Want For Christmas; The Spirit Of Giving

WARNING: THIS POST IS NOT MEANT TO FORCE YOU INTO ANYTHING OR GUILT YOU INTO DOING SOMETHING!

Most people really like getting things. Whether they are buying it for them self or getting it from someone else, people love to get things. Christmas time especially for children is when they love getting things the most.

In our economy not every kid will get something and those who love to give to help people aren’t able to give this year like they have in years past. Toys For Tots help each year but each year they get less and less. Churches and charities are able to give food to those in need but not everyone is accounted for. It’s just not possible to help everyone in need even in a great economy.

Hopefully everyone reading this has the ability to purchase things for their friends and family and anything you might need yourself. Hopefully everyone reading this has a job. This post really isn’t about what I want for Christmas. It’s what I want to give and what I would like to challenge you to give as well. I’m going to sponsor a family this year and give food and gifts to each family member.

I’m not suggesting that everyone follow in my footsteps but what I am asking is that as you write your list of all the people you need to buy for this season and what it is they want that you might consider adding at least one person that you don’t know and get something for him/her. You can donate to Toys For Tots, you can find a church or someone on your job who is helping a family and join in. You might know someone in your neighborhood who is in need of help. You could invite them to Christmas dinner. You could get gifts and leave them for a family in need and knock on the door and leave the gifts there.

It takes about three weeks for packages and letters to get to our troops in Afghanistan or Iraq. If you would like to send a package or Christmas card to a member of our armed forces in lieu of a gift or family this year, now would be the time to send it.

Whether you helped a family or person out this Thanksgiving or will help this Christmas, I can guarantee that whatever you do will come back to you tenfold. Regardless of what you do or what you are able to do, Happy Holidays and Merry Christmas.

Tomorrow Seth Winternight is guest blogging for me. His post will be about the human condition; for more information you will have to come back tomorrow! You will find his guest post to be very insightful and inspirational.For today, drop by Seth’s blog, Welcome To My Residence to read a few of his posts before tomorrow.

, , ,

  1. #1 by thatchickperson on December 4, 2010 - 1:09 PM

    That’s a wonderful thing you’re doing =) I hope you can get more people to help out this Christmas- I’ll see what I can do to help the people celebrating Christmas in my part of the world, can’t promise I’ll be able to do anything, but it’s worth looking into!

    • #2 by Tom Baker on December 4, 2010 - 10:33 PM

      I’m hoping more people get helped this year since it seems the need grows each year. Despite what you hear on TV, the economy here is still suffering. Anytime of the year will do Chick!

  2. #3 by Kelly Hay on December 4, 2010 - 10:33 AM

    Wonderful post … wonderful reminder of what the season should truly be about! We always donate through the Salvation Army’s “Angel Tree” program; they put up Christmas Trees all over town with “angel” cards as decorations and the cards have a list of things that a particular child in need has asked for. My own children have always enjoyed shopping for these other children that they don’t even know and will never even meet. It makes them feel like Santa! Giving always feels better than getting!

    • #4 by Tom Baker on December 4, 2010 - 10:30 PM

      That sounds great Kelly. One thing I forgot to mention that I think is a good cause, is Share Our Strength. They are trying to irradicate child hunger in the US. Anyone can have a bake sale and send the profits to Save Our Strength. I saw it on Food Network.

  3. #5 by Scent of my heart on December 3, 2010 - 2:03 PM

    I like this post very much, I do things like this very often, for people I don’t know, it might not be something big, but it’s always from my heart and not only for Christmas, whenever I can. I know what is it to be with no one to even share a good word with you … Christmas usually makes me sad, not because I won’t have a good Christmas, I always do, but because of all these people who will not even have the home to be at.

    • #6 by Scent of my heart on December 3, 2010 - 3:31 PM

      And happy birthday to you, let your day be lovely! December people, let we all be happy!

      • #7 by Tom Baker on December 6, 2010 - 10:28 PM

        I didn’t realize I had put my birth date on the blog. Thanks. It would be nice if people could just be nice to one another.

  4. #8 by Cherlyn on December 3, 2010 - 7:31 AM

    A great post Tom :) I think sometimes people get swept up with the excitement of the holidays, and then the hustle and bustle as the days move on, and sometimes it’s easy to remember to help others. I was really inspired last year by one of my favourite blogs, Cake Wrecks – instead of buying eachother gifts, the two who ran the blog (they are married), donated a minimum of $200 to a different charity every day for two weeks in December. If you wanted to have a read click here. Although that was a year where I could barely afford to feed myself, so I couldn’t help out in the sense of donations. Anyone who wants to do something a little extra but can’t afford to donate money – donate time. I loved volunteering at one of the long term care homes in London, it was the most fulfilling thing I’ve ever done, and it only cost me a few hours of my time – which I can easilly afford to give up. Thanks for the reminders to keep with the spirit of giving this season Tom – even people like me who aren’t religious should be more considerate. And maybe this time we can all keep up with our giving spirit right through all of 2011, instead of just during the holidays :)

    • #9 by Tom Baker on December 3, 2010 - 9:53 AM

      Cherlyn, you are absolutely right. Giving should be a 365 day a year feeling not just the days leading up to December holidays. There are millions of people in the same position this year as your found yourself in last year and that is why I wrote the post. Thank you for taking the post in the spirit and mood I intended.

      • #10 by Cherlyn on December 4, 2010 - 7:23 AM

        Well, I really do believe it doesnt matter what creed you follow, everyone should try to help out their fellow man :) If everyone cared and gave a little extra, it really could help bring people together :). Again, I think this was a lovely post, thank you for sharing it!

        • #11 by Tom Baker on December 4, 2010 - 10:31 PM

          I agree Cherlyn and thank you again for what you said in the email.

  5. #12 by Judy Marie Santiago on December 3, 2010 - 12:23 AM

    This is really nice! In our church, there’s something like that, an Adopt-A-Family program for Christmas wherein you can help a less fortunate family to have a good noche buena by giving P500 or just $12 dollars… Imagine how you can make a family happy with such a small amount. I think I’ll donate, thanks for inspiring us, Tom! :D

    • #13 by Tom Baker on December 3, 2010 - 9:51 AM

      All I want to do is inspire! I certainly didn’t want to sound preachy but when I read it back after writing it, that is how it sounded and why I put the warning up. Thanks for being inspired.

Leave Me With A Portion Of You ...

