Q & A With Melissa Alicia Anderson

I apologize for any inconvenience not posting at my regular time has caused anyone. This time of the year can be hectic for anyone – including myself. If you missed the interview with Melissa Anderson on December 15th, please take a few minutes and read it. Ms. Anderson agreed to answer any questions that were asked and here is the question and answer session.

Bless you Melissa for being so accommodating.

Q & A

Prince Connoisseur asked

1. If you could travel the stars, what celestial body or phenomena would you like to photograph up close for NASA?

Black holes for sure or a newly formed Nebula.

2. In The Devil’s Playground were you clothed or naked?

Ha ha, I was wearing clothes.

Iron Cook Carl asked

2. Are there any photos by photographers that you did not name, that you wish you had taken?

Gordon Parks or Sebastião Salgado‘s bodies of work are definitely something that I wish I could have been there to experience.

Cheryl Benson asked

3. What are your aspirations in photography?

Create images to give someone a different perspective. Sometimes we really don’t slow down or care to see someone else’s view of the world. There’s a huge disconnection. We are all humans with different experiences that have shaped our understandings or attitudes of life. I think for us to come to an agreement, to work together, we need to see where the other person is coming from. Understand each other, and embrace our differences and similarities.

Saber asked

4. Do you use a lot of equipment to set up your shots, or do you like to keep it simple? what is your preferred equipment (camera, lens, lighting etc.)?

I like keeping things simple. Thankfully Florida sunshine and mostly clear skies allow for simplicity. Usually I’ve got my a700, a 50mm or 28mm, my flash and a reflector.

5. How do you come up with your photo concepts? are they planned or more spontaneous?

A little of both. You go in with an idea, a vision of how you’d like things to turn out and then you get inspired by your surroundings and the subject. Usually you get something completely different from what you envisioned and it’s better.

6. How much processing do you do in Photoshop with your images?

Minimal. White balance correction, some curves, or dodge and burn. But my philosophy is to get it right at the click of the shutter button.

Anonymous email question

7. Is there any “genre” of photography that you are not interested in?

This is a hard one to answer. I’m really not turned off by any genre of photography. Closing a door is missing out on a chance to expand, gaining an experience. I’ve seen inspiring photographs in all genres


Melissa Alicia’s Online Presence
ModelMayhem
Melissa Alicia Photography
Desaparèixer

, , ,

  1. #1 by Scent of my heart on January 5, 2011 - 5:52 AM

    Always very cheerful to see Melissa’s avatar here and there! Both of you, you did great job with the interview!

    • #2 by Tom Baker on January 5, 2011 - 9:21 AM

      She’s a wonderful person and great photographer. I must thank you again!

  2. #3 by PrinceConnoisseur on December 22, 2010 - 10:48 PM

    It means alot to me that you bothered to answer both of my questions. I didn’t think you were naked but there was a part of me that thought you being a professional, might have gone the extra mile.

  3. #5 by Melinda on December 22, 2010 - 8:39 PM

    She has some beautiful pictures she has taken on her site. Great interview. Have a wonderful holiday Tom!

    • #6 by Tom Baker on December 26, 2010 - 1:51 PM

      Thank you Melinda. I just flew in from California and boy are my arms tired! I did have a great Christmas and I hope you did as well.

  4. #7 by Rose on December 22, 2010 - 4:49 PM

    It was very nice of you to answer even more questions. Have a Merry Christmas Melissa, Tom and April. God Bless.

  1. Photographic Portrait Session – 81% Off « Deal Grater

Leave Me With A Portion Of You ...

