Earthquake Indiana 2010

INDIANAPOLIS, IN, December 30, 2010

I was sitting at my computer and the desk started shaking and the walls rattled. It was 7:56 and I knew I had just experienced an earthquake. It was not as strong as the one that was felt here two years ago that had its epicenter in Illinois, but apparently it lasted longer (about 15 seconds).

I was watching the news, Fox 59 and they weren’t phased at all. After the commercial break they asked if all the people calling in about a possible earthquake would cease from calling because their system was overloaded. A magnitude 4.2 earthquake did indeed hit 46 miles away in northern Indiana. Later the USGS downgraded the quake to a 3.8. My first earthquake. Just thought I would blog about it.

3.8 Quake Info From USGS

, , ,

  1. #1 by Scent of my heart on January 5, 2011 - 5:46 AM

    Oh I know the feeling, when I first came to Athens there were few earthquakes .. I must say it shakes not only the ground but and all your senses … I wouldn’t wish anyone to experience it !

    • #2 by Tom Baker on January 5, 2011 - 9:18 AM

      Certainly was a strange uneasy feeling.

  2. #3 by Chris on December 30, 2010 - 11:45 PM

    I’ve never been in an earthquake. Must have been an interesting experience.

    • #4 by Tom Baker on December 31, 2010 - 8:07 AM

      It was really weird. What I can’t figure out is where the loud boom I heard came from? April didn’t hear it.

  3. #5 by manyabsurdities on December 30, 2010 - 8:20 PM

    This has nothing to do with this post, but every time I go to your blog this image pops into my head: http://i.imgur.com/EkphV.jpg

    have a happy new year :)

  4. #7 by callmeams on December 30, 2010 - 1:15 PM

    Just a quick question. I’m in PA so I know you’re not across the international date line or anything like that, but its still December 30th here. Is this a typo or a wordpress error?

    • #8 by Tom Baker on December 30, 2010 - 7:20 PM

      It was a typo! Thanks. I hate looking stupid.

  5. #9 by Rose Reynolds on December 30, 2010 - 10:59 AM

    I felt it! Oh my goodness, it was like a freight train roaring by. I heard a load boom too! I was cooking breakfast when the kitchen floor seemed to move. It was scary and weird.

  1. Indiana: What’s So Special About This Quake? « THE INTERNET POST

Leave Me With A Portion Of You ...

