Guest Blogger, Iris Orpi

Introducing Iris Orprecio a.k.a. Iris Orpi from Cognac For The Soul

Please welcome Iris Orpi, to Morning Erection. Iris Orpi is another one of my guest bloggers who also loves to write poetry. Iris also has a second love – math!  One of her poems is included in January’s Poetic License but she also writes much more than just poetry. Iris is also a published author. When I first asked Iris to guest blog for me she thought I meant for the entire month of January but said yes anyway. Iris has had seven blogs and recently closed Nocturnal Wanderings to start Cognac For The Soul. As always, it is a great honor for me to be able to have a guest blogger. As a favor to me please show Iris the courtesy of leaving a comment and do your self a favor and visit her many sites. Thank you very much.


Déjà Vu

At age 13 I’d never had a boyfriend. Although I’d liked a few guys, I never knew how it felt to be committed to someone. But one night that year (1997) I had a dream. In that dream I had a boyfriend and we were happy and the whole school knew we were together. We would eat lunch together and ride our bikes to our houses after school (I don’t know how to ride a bike). I marveled at how nice it felt to know that I belonged to someone (I never knew who the guy was; I didn’t recognize his face), and that all the other girls were keeping their hands off him because they knew he had a girlfriend, and all the guys also respected what I had with him and didn’t ask me out. And whenever, say, we’d hold hands, or he would put an arm over my shoulder it didn’t feel like I was about to get in trouble for it. It just felt natural.

I woke up a changed girl, because that dream gave me all the feelings that I hadn’t known I was missing because I never had them. It was like being admitted into an exclusive club that had stringent joining requirements, but you didn’t have to go through the screening process because you knew a special password.

At age 17 I’d never been kissed. That year (2001), on a late-night homeward bus ride (I already forgot where I was coming from and what I did previously) I had another dream, just a very short dream. I was a wife and my husband and I were about to start our day; he was wearing a suit and was about to leave for work. He gave me a light kiss on the lips before walking out the door. It wasn’t any deep, long, mind-blowing anatomically complicated kiss. I just felt the little pressure when his lips touched mine. But it registered on my mind, this is what two people who love each other do. They touch lips. At that moment when my husband in my dream (I never knew who the man was; I didn’t recognize his face) was leaving for work so he wasn’t kissing me as prelude for sex or to make up for an argument or to try to talk me into doing him a favor. We touched lips because it was a simple yet profound gesture symbolizing something that’s also simple yet profound. It was a kiss that affirmed, everything is all right in this house. That sense of security you have because your spouse is there, loving you, and he’s not going anywhere, he’s just going to the office but you know he is coming back, that kind of thing. What that kiss represented was so solid you could hold it in your hands.

I woke up a changed woman, because that dream made me understand something I wasn’t even wondering about to begin with. It was like being entrusted with a secret, one that honored anyone who knew it just because they knew it, and you didn’t even know what you did to deserve that honor.

I recalled these things tonight because tonight, on my way to the Chinese restaurant to have dinner with my family, I realized that I was feeling the exact same feelings I felt during those two dreams. Amazing feeling! And that whole time I was thinking of you.

Websites and blogs attributed to Iris Orpi

http://youngeririsorpi.multiply.com – 2000 to 2003
http://irisorpi.blog.friendster.com/
– 2003 to 2006
http://irisorpi.multiply.com
– 2006 to 2008
http://irisoniris.wordpress.com
– 2008 to 2010
http://irisisms.wordpress.com
– 2010
http://sheisiris.wordpress.com
– 2011 onwards

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by Michelle Guillemaud on January 7, 2011 - 9:39 AM

    Love this! It describes the sense of security a wholesome relationship brings. It’s uncomplicated, it’s simple. Thanks for the boost this morning :)

    • #2 by irisoniris on January 9, 2011 - 10:13 AM

      That’s the kind of love I want to find and keep! Hopefully 2011 will be the year! Haha. Thanks for reading my post and for appreciating it. Love and blessings to you.

  2. #3 by Scent of my heart on January 5, 2011 - 5:43 AM

    Tom, another wonderful guest here! Iris, first of all I love your name, then the sotry is really sweet, combined with the great image of the lady by the window … great job!

    • #4 by Tom Baker on January 5, 2011 - 9:18 AM

      Iris is a wonderful writer and I surely hope you get the chance to stop by her many sites.

    • #5 by irisoniris on January 9, 2011 - 10:13 AM

      O, Hi! Thank you for reading my post! And yes I think I have a sweet life. :D Happy 2011 to you!

  3. #6 by Quianna on January 2, 2011 - 8:14 PM

    A sweet story, a dreamy wonderful sweet dream. I’m very glad I stopped by Iris.

    • #7 by irisoniris on January 2, 2011 - 8:33 PM

      I’m glad you stopped by too! God bless. :-)

  4. #8 by GravureLover on January 2, 2011 - 8:03 PM

    Iris I like this, I really do. Good piece!

    • #9 by irisoniris on January 2, 2011 - 8:09 PM

      Thank you! Tom was also very particular about liking this one. I’m glad it spoke to you as well.

  5. #10 by Judy Marie Santiago on January 2, 2011 - 8:00 PM

    Wow, I really like your post! :) I just can’t stop myself from leaving a comment. Now I’m pressured on what to write for my Guest Blog post on April! Woah… Great job, Iris! :) I’ll come by your site too. :D

    • #11 by irisoniris on January 2, 2011 - 8:08 PM

      O! Haha! Don’t feel “pressured”. Tom picked you because he likes your life and the way you write it (that’s my theory). Hehe. I’m a constant visitor of this blog and I look forward to reading your guest post. And thank you in advance for hitting up my own site! Here’s to a blessed and blissful 2011!

  6. #12 by prinsesamusang on January 1, 2011 - 11:10 PM

    this is very sweet :) now i want to kiss someone XD

    • #13 by irisoniris on January 1, 2011 - 11:48 PM

      that SHOULD be a good feeling. :-D

  7. #14 by Rose Reynolds on January 1, 2011 - 8:18 PM

    “That sense of security you have because your spouse is there, loving you, and he’s not going anywhere,”
    Iris, being married and loving my man, I know exactly how you feel. I was blessed because I read this and my husband will be too. Thanks, sometimes we need reminders to keep the spark going.

    • #15 by irisoniris on January 1, 2011 - 9:58 PM

      Hello Rose! May God always bless you and your man. And yeah, a good relationship needs constant reaffirmation, but it’s always worth it! Cheers to a 2011 full of love and rewarding well-appreciated efforts to keeping that love alive! Regards to your husband. May I be blessed too with a great and enduring love. ;)

  8. #16 by {JeLisa} @ Blogging Ever After on January 1, 2011 - 4:01 PM

    Awww, I loved this! Very sweet. :)

    Great pick, Tom!

    • #17 by irisoniris on January 1, 2011 - 6:59 PM

      Thank you for reading and appreciating. :)

  9. #18 by Iron Cook Carl on January 1, 2011 - 11:24 AM

    Iris, Tom has a knack for picking great bloggers to fill his shoes. Your guest post is no different. Very nice indeed. I loved it. Happy New Year to you both!

    • #19 by irisoniris on January 1, 2011 - 6:59 PM

      Happy New Year back at ya, Carl. Have a blasting great 2011! Thank you for reading my post.

  10. #20 by barrycyrus on January 1, 2011 - 8:35 AM

    A bright(er) year ahead Tom! :)

    • #21 by Tom Baker on January 1, 2011 - 8:54 PM

      Thank you Barry and I hope you enjoyed Iris’s guest post! Have a great 2011.

  11. #22 by Frank Scott on January 1, 2011 - 7:55 AM

    A beautiful story Iris. Kissing is very special between two people and especially their first.

  12. #24 by irisoniris on January 1, 2011 - 7:39 AM

    wow. the comment was posted 1-11-11 1:11. tell me you did this on purpose!! BTW Tom thank you for this honor. :)

  13. #25 by Jia on January 1, 2011 - 1:11 AM

    ohh. nice :) happy new year to Tom and guest blogger Iris :)

    • #26 by irisoniris on January 1, 2011 - 9:02 AM

      Happy New Year to you too, Jia! Thanks for stopping by and taking time to read my post. :)

Leave Me With A Portion Of You ...

