The Closer To End With Season Seven


Kyra Sedgwick to end The Closer after season 7.

TNT announced about three weeks ago that this coming 2011 season of The Closer, starring Kyra Sedgwick will be the last for the successful cable drama. TNT has some great shows and The Closer is one of them. Kyra is excellent as the intuitive Deputy Chief Brenda Leigh Johnson. This role won Kyra an Emmy in 2007. No matter what her reasons are for leaving the show, I do believe, unless she owns the show in some part, that the show can go on without her. I think they should let her character, Deputy Chief Johnson, find a replacement.

At least give the show one more season to prove that the actress replacing her can fill her shoes and keep the ratings high. Law & Order made it common practice to change district attorneys, police chiefs, and officers. Will anyone else beside myself be sad to see The Closer’s demise?

, , ,

  1. #1 by Scent of my heart on January 12, 2011 - 1:00 AM

    I like her and the show too! I’ve missed that post somehow! So is it final the decision? will they end the show? I’m up to season 4 on this … I really like that show ..

    • #2 by Tom Baker on January 12, 2011 - 8:02 AM

      Sorry but I think it is final. It is a great show.

  2. #3 by {JeLisa} @ Blogging Ever After on January 9, 2011 - 5:27 AM

    This is one of those shows I’ve always wanted to check out. Hopefully it’s available on Netflix’s Watch Instantly so I can start from season one…if not, guess I’m adding it to our queue!

    • #4 by Tom Baker on January 9, 2011 - 9:18 AM

      It is an excellent show. I’m thinking about adding Watch Instantly to my service.

  3. #5 by lkthayer on January 8, 2011 - 12:00 PM

    Yes, extremely sad…I don’t watch tv much as I blog a lot and shoot fotos etc…but Kyra and her show were off the hook. Brilliant writing & acting, a tour de force. I agree, they should replace her character & have her guest once and awhile, it’s a strong ensemble.
    Thanks for posting.

    • #6 by Tom Baker on January 8, 2011 - 2:02 PM

      Thanks for coming by. It does make sense to keep the show going. I’m glad I’m not the only one with a little bit of common sense.

Leave Me With A Portion Of You ...

