SuperCell Over Montana And A Few More

By now you know I love photography. By now you are probably tired of seeing photography based posts. Sorry if you feel this way but I found these photos on Boston.com of some of the National Geographic Photo Contest entries. I saw the Super Cell and immediately thought of Cherlyn who wants to see a tornado one day. The other shots are just as breathtaking.

Cloud and ship. Ukraine, Crimea, Black sea, view from Ai-Petri mountain. (Photo and caption by Yevgen Timashov)

The Serra da Leba Road near Lubango (Huíla, Angola). This is Serra da Leba, a landmark in Angola. A road built in the 70’s, it’s been in the country’s postcard images for decades, but all shots were taken by day. I wanted something different and tried a night shot. But it seemed impossible: pitch dark, foggy, altitude of 1,800m (5,000ft). I wanted no more than 60sec of exposure, max, to avoid digital noise. But a car takes a few minutes to climb or descend this section of the road. The fog was dense and blocking the view! Suddenly the fog cleared, a few cars went down, others went up, they met in the middle in under 60sec… Painting done! (Photo and caption by Kostadin Luchansky)

Pure Elements. I drove my 4×4 over rivers to get a view of the Volcano eruption at “Fimmvorduhals” in Iceland. It was a full moon and strong winds gave me problems standing still outside the truck. I had my camera with me and zoom lens but no tripod, suddenly there was a magical moment, I was experiencing a display of nature rarely seen by man. I found my camera with the zoom lens, rushed out of the truck, trying to fight the strong wind. I pushed the camera on to the hood of the truck trying to stand still, holding my breath, I shot 30 frames, and only one shot was good. (Photo and caption by Olafur Ragnarsson)

Lightning Strike NY Harbor. This shot was captured during a major electrical storm. There was little wind and no rain which allowed me to stay safely inside and shoot from an open window. This was the 82nd exposure out of 150 made that night. The camera was mounted on a tripod, exposures made with a cable release for 5 seconds at f10. Except for a some minor level adjustments and a square crop this was what came out of the camera. (Photo and caption by Jay Fine)

Liquid Planet. Another picture from the Liquid Vision Series, which shows a different point of view of waves. An angle that people are not used to seeing. (Photo and caption by Freddy Cerdeira)

A supercell thunderstorm rolls across the Montana prairie at sunset. (Photo and caption by Sean Heavey)

February 5, 2011 my guest blogger will be Lusy Aaltje. Her blog is The Sunset Girl. Lusy’s site is a versatile one however it is her photography that keeps me coming back. Do not misunderstand, her thought provoking posts are amazing as well but what did I hear someone say? A picture is worth a thousand words! Stop by her site and prove me right!

, ,

  1. #1 by Alexis Jenny on February 5, 2011 - 2:56 PM

    Breathtaking photos! Thanks for sharing.

    • #2 by Tom Baker on February 7, 2011 - 8:33 AM

      I’m glad you liked them and very happy you stopped by.

  2. #3 by Melanie T on February 5, 2011 - 2:03 PM

    these photographs are absolutely AMAZING!

    • #4 by Tom Baker on February 7, 2011 - 8:33 AM

      Always a pleasure to see you here Melanie. I got your email and I am working on the task. Thank you.

  3. #5 by Melinda on February 3, 2011 - 10:00 PM

    Wonderful pictures. It is funny how such distructive forces have a beauty unlike anything else.

    • #6 by Tom Baker on February 7, 2011 - 8:34 AM

      It is strange but beauty also springs forth from the destruction. Thanks for dropping by.

  4. #7 by Chris on February 2, 2011 - 10:19 PM

    Its amazing how nature can continually take your breath away.

    • #8 by Tom Baker on February 7, 2011 - 8:42 AM

      You are so right Chris. Did you see the commercial for Aliens & Cowboys during the Super Bowl last night?

  5. #9 by The Reason You Come on February 2, 2011 - 6:15 AM

    Oh my, these are amazing photos! My favorite’s the second one, the picture of the Serra da Leba Road. It’s absolutely breathtaking!

    • #10 by Tom Baker on February 2, 2011 - 8:06 PM

      Yes, it is amazing. I’m quite sure it took lots of planning.

  6. #11 by Kelly Hay on February 1, 2011 - 11:07 AM

    WOW! I’m not even sure what to say … I don’t think mere words can describe how epic these shots are! Thanks for sharing!

    • #12 by Tom Baker on February 2, 2011 - 8:02 PM

      I think I’m going to study so I can be a great photographer. The images are amazing.

  7. #13 by Rose Reynolds on January 31, 2011 - 2:50 PM

    Tom these are beautiful! Good taste as usual.

  8. #14 by Judy Marie Santiago on January 30, 2011 - 10:50 PM

    Woah, great photos! Can’t believe they happened for real.

  9. #16 by southwindtrails on January 30, 2011 - 10:15 PM

    Wow I don’t know if I can pick a favourite from here, they are all so brilliant!

    • #17 by Tom Baker on January 31, 2011 - 9:40 AM

      I know what you mean. There were more to choose from but I kept the post small. Check out the rest!

  10. #18 by Scent of my heart on January 30, 2011 - 2:11 PM

    oh, what a beauty you’ve shared here, thank you Tom. I love the lightning strike in NY …really cool. Hug!

    • #19 by Scent of my heart on January 30, 2011 - 2:13 PM

      I even made it a wallpaper on my laptop …Lovely!

    • #20 by Tom Baker on January 31, 2011 - 9:41 AM

      It’s a great image for wallpaper. I think that is my favorite but the supercell looks so ominous and powerful!

  11. #21 by Cherlyn on January 30, 2011 - 1:23 PM

    I love storms – so i’m sure you can guess which ones I liked best :P. I’m sure I’ll see a tornado eventually – I live in tornado alley as well (it stretches into this part of southern ontario). There was one in London a few years ago, but it was on the other side of the city, and I was hiding in my bathroom :P

    Thanks for sharing!

    • #22 by Tom Baker on January 31, 2011 - 9:43 AM

      I don’t blame you! April and I have been in the tub together when the sirens sounded! I wasn’t aware TA stretched that far north. My ignorance is showing again!

  12. #23 by Seth Winternight on January 30, 2011 - 12:59 PM

    Tom we’re never going to grow tired of looking at photographs like these. Artwork it is… artwork!

    • #24 by Tom Baker on January 31, 2011 - 9:44 AM

      Seth, that makes me feel good because I’ve been so busy I even missed this weeks Blogging Awards. Be prepared for more photos!!

  13. #25 by kolembo on January 30, 2011 - 2:56 AM

    I agree, these are stunning, thanks!

    • #26 by Tom Baker on January 31, 2011 - 9:46 AM

      Thank you Kolembo! I appreciate the visit and for commenting. I am glad you like the photos. I mostly chose the ones I like and hope others like them too but sometimes I throw in one or two that I just think others will like. With these I like them all.

  14. #27 by jurline's Blog on January 30, 2011 - 12:17 AM

    Tom, these photos are awesome. I grew up in Chicago tornado alley!!!!!!!!!! Nature is soooo beautiful. going to share on facebook!!!

    • #28 by Tom Baker on January 31, 2011 - 9:45 AM

      Nature is beautiful even in destruction or should I say – pre-destruction!

    • #29 by Alexis Jenny on February 5, 2011 - 2:58 PM

      Only days ago, I was discussing the risks associated with living in Tornado Alley. Not visiting or touring, but really living and seeing some of those amazing storms. A passion for photography would certainly be a reason to stick around!

Leave Me With A Portion Of You ...

