Little Known Facts: Star Trek, Captain’s Yacht

It was Saber’s site What’s Up With That?!? and a few of her posts that had me interested in the hidden facts behind everyday things. Not wanting to blatantly steal her ideas, I decided to concentrate solely on the things that interest me. That would include mostly movies and television. For instance, did you know that two of the most quoted lines from cinema are misquoted?

In Casablanca, Bogart never said, “Play it again Sam.” What he actually said was “You played it for her, you can play it for me…If she can stand it, I can. Play it!” It was Bergman who said, “Play it, Sam.”

Captain Kirk will perhaps be misquoted for generations to come. Perhaps the most misquoted TV line, “Beam me up, Scotty,” was never uttered by Shatner. He did come close once by saying, “Scotty, beam me up.”

Today’s little known fact comes from Star Trek coincidentally. I’m going to take a leap of faith and assume anyone reading this post has seen Air Force One. Supposedly their is an escape pod for the President in case of emergency. It turns out that Galaxy Class and Sovereign Class Federation ships also have something similar to an escape pod. It is called the Captain’s Yacht and it is directly below the main bridge on the very bottom of the saucer section. Conflicting information suggests it was not meant for escape for the vessel’s captain but for diplomatic envoys, such as the transportation of dignitaries and ambassadors.

Although the design schematics for the Federation vessels clearly show the Captain’s Yacht, they were never shown on the series or movies and never mentioned either. Patrick Stewart said the name of his yacht was The Calypso. On The Enterprise-E, (Star Trek: Insurrection) it was The Cousteau.

I’m not one who likes to spend lots of time doing research so don’t expect these Little Known Facts often. Only when my spirit moves me.


Sovereign Class Captain’s Yacht

Tomorrow’s guest blogger is Ava Aston. I hope you had the time this week to visit Ava’s blog, Recording Artist Ava Aston’s Blog. If not I would advise you to do so to get you even more excited about her post tomorrow. She is an amazing blogger and a great singer. I hope in addition to reading her blog you have the chance to listen to some of her songs on YouTube!

Related Articles

, , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Anselmo Melo on September 15, 2011 - 3:47 PM

    Air Force One was not the first time we saw a presidential escape pod onboard the plane. We also saw one in the movie Escape from New York in which the President played by Donald Pleasance was ejected to escape terrorists who had taken over Air Force One.

    • #2 by Tom Baker on October 2, 2011 - 10:32 AM

      Anselmo, thank you for the visit and I appreciate the information about the escape pod. Stop by again if you get the opportunity.

  2. #3 by Cherlyn on March 28, 2011 - 11:41 AM

    Sorry for the extremely late comment! One misquote line that I always notice is from Field of Dreams – it’s not “If you build it, they will come”, it’s “if you build it, he will come”. One that really bothers me though is from Silence of the Lambs (one of my favourite movies) – Hannibal never says “Hello, Clarice”, he does say “Good evening, Clarice” though. I’m also pretty sure that one of the star trek films uses the captain’s yacht, I want to say it was Insurrection, but I can’t remember. I could be mistake though. I hope you’ve been well, and hopefully I’ll have posts this week and I’ll be back into the swing of things.

    • #4 by Tom Baker on May 29, 2011 - 7:44 PM

      Don’t tell anyone but I’ve never seen Field of Dreams.

  3. #5 by Chris on March 6, 2011 - 7:16 PM

    One of the most common misquotes is Darth Vader in The Empire Strikes Back. Everyone assumes Vader said “Luke, I am your father” when in fact the line is “No. I am your father.”

    • #6 by Tom Baker on May 29, 2011 - 7:46 PM

      You are right – but never include a Star Wars reference in a Star Trek comment unless you are saying how much better Star Trek is than Star Wars!

  4. #7 by {JeLisa} @ Blogging Ever After on March 6, 2011 - 12:44 PM

    I’ve always wondered how epic misquotes came to be. Like, who was the first person to claim “Beam me up, Scotty” as a Captain Kirk quote, why wasn’t he/she corrected, and how the heck did it spread so wide in spite of its wrongness?

    • #8 by Tom Baker on May 29, 2011 - 7:47 PM

      Beats the heck out of me. Maybe some of these misquotes came from Saturday Night Love skits and people just allowed them to catch on. Just a guess – they parody so many shows.

  5. #9 by Chris on March 5, 2011 - 7:06 AM

    They never used the Captain’s Yacht in TNG TV show mostly because of budget I believe. Though it was cool to see it in the movies.

    • #10 by Tom Baker on May 29, 2011 - 7:43 PM

      I think I will do more of these kinds of posts. It was cool.

  6. #11 by kolembo on March 5, 2011 - 6:31 AM

    Ahaha! This is super, thanks.

  7. #13 by southwindtrails on March 4, 2011 - 4:47 PM

    Yay for star trek facts! I didn’t know about the pods, it sometimes amazes me the the detail of planning that can done for a show that the audience never sees. I also LOVE Casablanca and had no idea that people mis-quoted it all the time. Thanks for sharing:)

    • #14 by Tom Baker on May 29, 2011 - 7:42 PM

      Casablanca is a great movie. The details are fascinating like even little things about characters backgrounds. Their family life, parents, where they were born. In Riverside, Iowa, they even have a sign that reads, Future Birth Place of Captain James T. Kirk! http://img.trekmovie.com/images/celeb/trekfest_sign.jpg

  8. #15 by Rose Reynolds on March 4, 2011 - 10:22 AM

    Indeed this is interesting. It’s funny how little things (details) that the creators add to a show sometimes get lost in the enormity of it all. You even managed to sneak a word in from Picard himself. Nice post.

Leave Me With A Portion Of You ...

