Poetic License – March 2011

Thank you for coming by for another edition of Poetic License. This is my first month without contributing a poem myself and I think you might appreciate an additional new face or voice, to be more specific. As you know I scour the Internet looking for great poetry and I believe each and every month I have been able to achieve my goal. This month is no different. Enjoy the eight works of art below.

By the way, April is National Poetry month. I will be featuring any and all poetry. If you would like your poem featured here, just email me. I need author, title and a link back to your blog if you have one. If you do not have a blog I will still accept and post it here. Thanks…


Colors Of Nature
by Olivia

Pick up a rainbow and a few metallic shades:
The Sun takes from Red to Yellow,
The Sky that forms the backdrop-
From Blue till Violet,
Sometimes, it reaches till Red.

The nature takes the shades of Green-
Also, Brown- that’s obtained when all colors are mixed.
That all colors when absorbed produce Black,
And when reflected, form White,
is not “logic”, but a Science.

Look above yourself-
Golden is Sun’s fiery rays,
Silvern is the cool Moonlight.
The Stars are the Gemstones precious,
Diamonds and all the colored ones.

The meteors maybe the minerals-
The shooting ones, the white metals..
The burning ones- the yellow metalloid;
Asteroids the other ores,
The Comets maybe the shining crystals!!

Birds, Butterflies, Worms, Flowers-
Take all colors and shades possible..
Humans although take from beige to dark brown,
Seldom shows the gravity of containing all within themselves-
They appear to be hollow’ ones devoid of any color at all!!

Realize
by Hailey Kim

I’ve never thought about the people I’ve hurt,
Just always the one that hurt me,
Never thought about the people I’ve left,
Just always the ones that left me,
Ever about the people I’ve betrayed,
Always the ones that betrayed me,
Always thought about the ones they did wrong,
And never confronted mine,
Why is it that I realized now,
On the front step of my house,
Is it the dark earthy sky that is giving me time to conceive,
about the dozens I have done wrong,
And never about me..
As I am sixteen,
But It feels like I’ve already lived more than half of my life years,
Maybe it’s just the difficulties,
That’s only made me feel this way,
Further more,
I know I’ll meet light,
I visualize my soon-to-be present,
But I have to admit,
That the way there is pretty opaque,
I not only believe, but I see the soon-to-be future,
lying so close to my toes,
Closer than feet,
tipping over the edge of the water

For Prayers Were Sung
by C. Dominique Gibson

Singing Prayers,
For the hopeless wanderer
For in his nomadic beauty,
There is strength in his tireless search for nothing
Reality has escaped him,
His shadow replaced the man he used to be,
A man who came to believe in nothing,
Because he stopped dreaming
Or, perhaps because his dreams,
Had awakened before being realized
Premature birth of things that died before coming into fruition
Lungs barely formed to breathe in life’s fuel… hope of the human spirit
Pray not for his direction,
Nor for that nonexistent thing for which he searches,
Pray for those lost dreams that faded before he could grasp them,
Before he could hold them in his arms or express to them his love,
Pray because his dreams died long before he will,
And that he lost the very heart,
That would afford them a proper burial.

Dark Side Of The Moon
by Shirley Alexander

There was a time, I could shine.
When I thought of you, I could shine.

I stand alone under night heaven;
feel light on my upturned face.
Does it glow if you are not watching?

I might have been this moonlight,
a reflection of your distant fire.
But, I became the dark face
and she, your moon.

Somewhere inside, a new light burns.
It is a world without phases,
a place where day welcomes night
and returns to warm the morning.

I stand alone under night heaven.
There was a time, we could shine.
There was a place, I could burn.

Wings spread, a wiser phoenix
will rise from the ashes of your fire.
Do you shine if I am not watching?


Midnight
by Cofiboi

where dreams awake
and reality slumbers
the moon smiles and the stars,
fiery like candles
burns away the remnants of day
night stands proud and the sun
hides behind the cloak of the blackest of skies
dawn still sleeps

midnight
i lay beside you
silent, like a shadow
i plant a kiss, yet you do not stir
outside, the wind whispers your name
and we are still

midnight
black, like satin, flowing freely
smooth like the still waters
cold like december
sleep slowly creeping, like my fingers combing your hair

midnight
you wake and smile
teeth like diamonds gleaming
in the dark
you take me
and i, you

midnight
the wolves howl
and i moan
deep. deeper into the darkness
silken kisses, masking the hunger
that night awakened

at midnight.

Meditation
by Emmanuel Ibok

Loving kindness protect you
wherever you are
whatever you do;
keep you safe
like a baby
in the mother’s arms;
show you love
undiluted like the universe;
prevent you from fears
and negativity,
the type that creeps in at night
to kill the soul in the morning.
Loving mercy forgive you
forgive me too
forgive us all
and reverse the hands of karma
and nemesis
those ones we unintentionally call
on ourselves.
Let the soul be lifted
and let the body nourish from it.
Positive energy
to guide you to your goal
where we’ll meet
to celebrate successes
In peace.


Moving On
by Indu Prakash

But that day, turned everything around
I heard you talking to your friends about me
You were telling them sick things and
How it I was the easiest of all his preys
Your words felt like knives piercing me
You were a wolf in a sheep’s clothing
I realized that you were just pretending

You saw me, and I could see it
In your eyes that you were not sorry
But you came running after me apologizing
And how you were just joking around,
And I said ” How could you do this to me,
I thought I knew you,
Just leave me alone,
And don’t ever come into my life again”

I felt deserted
I never imagined we’d end like this
Darkness creeping into my life
As I realized that everything was gone
The girl in the mirror was betrayed,
and she cried herself to sleep
But then again, finding out now was easier
And I want you to know that I’m moving on.


I Should’ve Died In My Sleep Last Night
by Maria Carizza

I said I’d be okay when you leave.
I would’ve prepared myself before then.
What started in an instant
can be cut off just as fast.
Yeah, I’ve heard of that a lot…
… from myself even.
So why now does it still hurt?

I said this would’ve brought about
a good poetry or prose
but the words just don’t fit.
Or was it my heart that slipped?
Screw my heart. Bash my head.
In the end, this will still be the end.

Yeah, I lost it. I lost you. I lost me.
What I have left are what-ifs
and could-have-beens.
Crap. I’m the one to lose again
and I’m the one I should blame.
In my ears, Evanescence is playing.
Inside, all of me is breaking.
My head is clouded, my eyes teary.
The words just fall away from me.

I said I’d be ready when you leave.
So why the hell do I still grieve?
I lost grip. It came to me
that before it started, I lost already.
I close my eyelids ’cause they got heavy
and I wait for my tears to fall freely.

All Rights Reserved © by their respective authors. Tom Baker and his Morning Erection blog make no claims to any poetry other than his own.

If your poem is featured on Poetic License please consider adding the graphic to your site. It definitely is not required but you would make me a happy camper!

, , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Cherlyn on March 30, 2011 - 10:54 AM

    A great collection as always! Sorry for the extremely late comment – but I suppose better late than never! Thanks for sharing these :) Great job to everyone!

  2. #2 by Emmanuel Ibok on March 13, 2011 - 1:18 PM

    Thanks for hosting me here…much appreciated.

    Bless!

  3. #3 by Carizza on March 13, 2011 - 5:23 AM

    Thanks for featuring mine, Tom. :)

    Sorry I’ve not been active. I lost track.

    You can e-mail me anytime, though. :) (or FB even if I know you don’t have one.)

  4. #4 by Marissa on March 10, 2011 - 5:36 PM

    Your site is very elegant, truly lovely! And I enjoy the content as well:) I’ve nominated you for The Versatile Blogger Award! I hope you’ll accept. The award can be found at: http://marissamullins.com/wordpieces/

    ~Blessings, Marissa

  5. #5 by Amy B. Spacek on March 8, 2011 - 3:33 PM

    I love Poetic License. These are great poems as with other months. After visiting Hailey’s site and seeing how young she is I must agree that hers is the favorite poem of mine this month. I’m glad you are going to keep this series going Tom!

  6. #6 by Olivia on March 8, 2011 - 1:46 PM

    Oh wow!
    Loved reading the awesome poems- :)

    all smiles xx

  7. #7 by Rose Reynolds on March 8, 2011 - 12:19 PM

    Amazing! Great collection as usual and I agree with PC that Hailey’s was my favorite.

  8. #8 by Ina on March 8, 2011 - 3:30 AM

    Great idea to put great poems together like this! :)

  9. #9 by PrinceConnoisseur on March 7, 2011 - 8:51 AM

    I like this section of your blog more and more each month Tom. All of the poems are wonderful and I think I found a favorite this month. It’s Realize by Hailey Kim. Very insightful. Do you go looking for the poems or do the people volunteer their poetry to you? Can’t wait for next month. Take care.

  10. #10 by Scent of my heart on March 7, 2011 - 12:38 AM

    Lovely collection of poems, well done to everyone!

Leave Me With A Portion Of You ...

