Poetic License – April 2011

Poetic License is a recurring feature on Morning Erection that allows me to showcase some of the great poets that I find in my travels throughout the Internet. If you have missed any previous months, a great place to start is with Morning Erection’s Tri-Annual Poetic License Magazine. The second issue will be released in May. Come back for that. While you are at it, why not subscribe to this blog so you never have to miss another issue.

Love
by Redragonfly

When you sing under the moonshine
And the wind blows soft it’s voice
Make the leaves dance with each other
Like nature can feel everything
Your heart is in love

Maybe sometimes you will cry all day
Trying to keep the heart from breaking
Hurting your self for many reasons without explanation
And drop your tears down to the earth
It is love, too

There’s definitely no sense
Just doing and doing what you want
Love has no reason
Love has no why
No who no how
No question

Everytime everything is changed
Being different for me and you
Something old something new
Someone stays another moves
Never be silent for the streets
Time passes away with no care
But one still in heart

Loving is like lighting the darkness
Lie down body in blossom
Feel the air touch the hair
Let anything flow anyway

And you,
You are my rainy summer
My winter sun
My autumn touch of gold
My spring happy songs

I Love you
For better and worse
No reasons
For everything
No questions
Just loving you
And only you …


Shadow Of The Night
by Tim Moss

I can sense it
I can feel it’s
Lurking shadow
Following me
Throughout the night
It haunts me
Wishing for the morning light
And waiting for it to fall upon me
Throughout the day
The shadow stays away
For light it hates
But it stays up late

Now with no ones help
I am faced by myself
To fight this shadow
Or bow down low
But I can’t fight
A might
That is greater then me
But I won’t be
The known
But rather the unknown
I shall be,
And let the shadow of the night,
Kill me softy


A House Turned To Ice
by Tekia Miller

No longer is there any warmth in our home
Walls decorated in frosty ice
Cracked where angry fists hit in frustration
My face just as cracked, bruised from the recent encounter
I once knew your heart to be warm
A place to lay my head, to lay my love
Something has hollowed you out
Replaced a loving spirit with a foul spirit
Ice now courses through your veins
Vile words of acid burn through me
My heart healed over and over
Frets constantly not knowing when you’ll strike again
It has grown heavy with scar tissue
How much more it can take
I know not
Dark stares from glassy eyes
Are void of light
Alas we’ve become mere shadows
Moving through the halls
Of a house turned to ice

Last Night
by Cha’s Palette

Here comes the rain, pouring down my window
Tapping on my pane, lingering are my sorrows
For every drop of rain, tears run down my cheeks
And all the memories coming back, they are making my heart sick

I write our names on my window’s mist
And there, at the back of my mind, our final kiss
Painful yet sweet; Passionate yet so tormenting
Afterwhich, a smile across my lips, so deceiving

I sat alone in this dark, empty room
Looking for solace against my self-made doom
As I hug my pillow tight, I think about you and me
Wishing it was you I’m holding, instead of mem’ries

Rain pours, tears fall; Memories come to life
As I say goodbye in this cold, dark night…

Sunday Morning
by Kimeko Shera Farrar

Lift me up a little higher
So I can see over the Monday morning blues that are already starting to set in
And I can move beyond the mistakes I made last week
Heal whatever problems are testing my faith
In my body, my mind, my spirit
Because I desire
To have the physical strength to handle whatever obstacles are sent to make me stronger
I desire
To have enough wisdom to make decisions untainted by present circumstances or worldly desires
I desire
To be filled with enough patience and peace to wait on what is meant for me
Lift me up a little higher
Not so I can rise above others
And not so I can be more than I need to be
But so I can pull as many as possible up with me
And they can benefit from the journey I have been promised and I will have your favor
Because I shied away from greed, selfishness and pettiness
I give all I have with every heave of my chest and bat of my eyelash
I will not get tired, I will not give up, I will not give out
So in the end
I can be lifted up a little higher


Two Stars
by Joel Fagerberg

Stars entangled in space
time
fabric
wrapped around us like bed sheets
like each other’s arms
on a cold week day morning

An eternal supernova
explode
light
to give to each other and the world
unremittingly and natural
this magnetic energy between us

The universe is simply shocked
inspired
smiling
in response to our interwoven rays
that shine in every color
and forever shine brightly

You pull me in and I pull
you
closer
because the way we understand
each other travels faster
than light ever could


Beautiful
by Vikram Parmar

BEAUTIFUL is…

being perfectly real
to follow your dreams
to be what you are meant to be

to fly around in thoughts
forgetting the droughts
sleeping under stars,
vanishing scars
watching it rain for hours
a laugh like flowers

wanting to go through it all over again,
still loving the pains
scattering light,
the first fight
to have a feeling that possesses,
to be alone in recesses taking action,
reaching perfection

thought of you,
like morning dew

your eyes, your smile,
nothing venile

to witness you,
a myth that came true ;D

you in the morning,
cautiously warning

to breathe you,
in the hue

to grow old with you
to die with you

to *** seek you
an enchanted hope,out in the blue!

BEAUTIFUL is – ME with YOU.

***
To seek you is to seek me for myself.


She
by iBeingMe

Sitting at a table
she writes what’s in her heart
sharing words of love, pain and friendship
that tear her apart
but every word she writes is true
about her empty soul
and the way that her life
spirals out of control
making her question what
she must have done to be
treated as she is by life
because she can not see
anything she’s ever done
to be worthy of such pain
I know she’ll find happiness again.


All Rights Reserved © by their respective authors. Tom Baker and his Morning Erection blog make no claims to any poetry other than his own.

If your poem is featured on Poetic License please consider adding the graphic to your site. It definitely is not required but you would make me a happy camper!

, , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Rochelle on June 10, 2011 - 10:24 AM

    Oh man; I thought I was gonna be on here…. :(

  2. #3 by Cherlyn on April 7, 2011 - 10:31 AM

    I’m extremely impressed with the talent shown in these poems, they are all truly breathtaking. I think i relate most to “She”, but there’s something relatable in all of them. Thank you for sharing!

    • #4 by Tom Baker on April 25, 2011 - 11:39 AM

      Yes, She does strike a chord that is very much Cherlyn!

  3. #5 by tekia on April 4, 2011 - 6:00 PM

    Such wonderful poems! I love “Sunday Morning”, such inspiration and courage! “Love” is a very sweet and endearing piece I think. I like the tone of “Shadow of The Night”- haunting almost. Great piece as well! “Last Night” was sad yet beautiful- love lingering until the very end. Love “Two Stars”! Simply beautiful, I loved it! Like the last few lines. “Beautiful” was a fantastic piece as well- favorite line “BEAUTIFUL is me with you”- awesome! I think “She” speaks to a lot of people. We so often question what we’ve done to go through what we do, but I like the way it ended- ” I know she’ll find happiness again.” And I agree. We all find happiness again. Again, these were some amazing and beautiful pieces! Glad to be apart of it. Thank you! Blessings :-)

    • #6 by Tom Baker on April 25, 2011 - 11:38 AM

      Thank you Te’Kia. I appreciate the time you took with each poem and that you visited the poet’s site. Thank you for sharing your talent too.

  4. #7 by easylifestyles on April 4, 2011 - 3:58 AM

    Excellent job. Thanks for sharing. Sharing poems is something I truly enjoy doing. I enjoy reading your blog very much.

    Check out – A Day at the Park

    • #8 by Tom Baker on April 25, 2011 - 11:36 AM

      I’m glad you liked the post. Poetry is one of my favorite things and it seems to get lots of visitors here as well.

Leave Me With A Portion Of You ...

