Spring Salad

It is amazing how your everyday life can be altered by the unexpected things life throws your way. The weather here in Indianapolis has still been cold and gloomy despite what the calendar might have you believe. Even so, I decided to make a light meal the other night and came up with this recipe. If you aren’t a salad person, I hear ya! If some of the ingredients are not familiar, I hear that as well. But!, it was delicious and for that reason I decided to share the recipe. I did however, forget to take a photo.

Blogging        skills                         fading…

It has also been a long while since I posted something that was not scheduled weeks or even months in advance. This is a brand new post. I made the salad yesterday and everyone who ate some of it enjoyed it. Let it also be known that I miss you guys very much and once I get things situated I plan on answering all the comments I have been receiving but I have let go unanswered. It’s been a hectic time for me but things look like they will be shaping up soon.

I also wanted to make you aware that April’s guest blogger, Judy Santiago will still be guesting this month. Which Saturday? That we don’t exactly know just yet, however Judy assures me that something is in the works. Please be patient with the both of us!

Enjoy the salad.

Easily serves six people a healthy light meal. If you want to, add baked chicken breasts pieces on top for a more filling meal.

Spring Salad

1/2 tsp. diced and chopped garlic
1/2 tsp. sea salt
Black pepper to taste
1/2 tsp. raw sugar
8 tbs. extra virgin olive oil
1/4 cup fresh lemon or lime juice
1 red onion, diced fine
1 cup feta cheese
1 lb. jicama peeled and julienne
1 head iceberg lettuce
1/4 cup thinly sliced radishes
1/2 thinly sliced English cucumbers
1/2 tsp. ground flax seed
1/2 cup sunflower seeds
3 clementines, cut into supremes
2 grapefruit, cut into supremes

Make a garlic paste with garlic and salt by smashing the garlic and salt with the back of a knife. Blend together garlic paste with citrus juice, sugar, olive oil, and freshly ground black pepper. Add lettuce, grapefruit and clementines together with red onion, radishes, cucumber and jicama sticks. Combine sunflower seeds, cheese and serve immediately topped with roasted chicken if you like.

, , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Melinda on April 8, 2011 - 7:44 AM

    Sounds good. I don’t think I’ve ever had a Clementine so I’m going to have to be adventurous and give it a shot. It’s already hot here in FL and I love salads for dinner – only the kids complain about it. :)

    • #2 by Tom Baker on April 25, 2011 - 11:31 AM

      The chicken breast will help the kids.

  2. #3 by Cherlyn on April 7, 2011 - 10:39 AM

    This sounds really tasty, I think I’ll try that sometime in the near future. Although I’ll probably use honey instead of sugar, my dad is a huge honey freak. If I can find jicama I will definitely use it, if not, I’ll probably just omit it or try to find a tastey substitute. Thanks for sharing, hope to hear from you soon :)

    • #4 by Tom Baker on April 25, 2011 - 11:32 AM

      Let me know if you do decide to try it. I’d like to know what you thought.

Leave Me With A Portion Of You ...

