A Doctor Who Icon Has Died; RIP Mistress Sarah Jane Smith

Sarah Jane, better known as actress Elisabeth Sladen passed away Tuesday, April 19, 2011 due to cancer at at the age of 63. Of all Doctor Who’s companions, Sarah Jane is perhaps the best known and most popular. Sarah Jane and K9 were the only companions of Doctor Who that I knew when I first got into the series. I really got into the show because my favorite incarnation of The Doctor, Tom Baker, was portraying him.

Sarah Jane was so popular amongst Doctor Who fans that she was rewarded with her own spin off show, The Sarah Jane Adventures. The show was geared to a younger audience but I found it more appealing than some of the programming the SyFy channel markets to adults. Sarah Jane’s popularity and TV show are reminiscent of the resurrection and popularity of Star Trek. It was 30 years between leaving Doctor Who and coming back in her own series.

The Sarah Jane Adventures can be seen on BBC America if you are interested and have never seen it.


, , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Cherlyn on May 1, 2011 - 11:24 AM

    I must have missed this in my inbox, my apologies. I did hear about this very sad news from many of my friends who enjoy Dr. Who. Though I’m not much of a fan (just haven’t gotten into it), it’s still a sad story – when someone who is so talented and brings so much joy to their fans is taken from our world, the world just doesn’t seem as special anymore.

    • #2 by Tom Baker on May 1, 2011 - 2:16 PM

      She was loved by lots of Doctor Who fans! I might by her series on DVD just because.

  2. #3 by Tom Baker on April 25, 2011 - 11:19 AM

    It was sad news. She will be missed. I first got into Doctor Who by watching it on PBS. How about you?

  3. #4 by manyabsurdities on April 20, 2011 - 9:34 PM

    I cried a little bit when I found out yesterday. Part of my childhood passed away…it feels odd. I didn’t even know she was sick :(

Leave Me With A Portion Of You ...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 444 other followers

