Poetic License – May 2011

Poetic License is that part of Morning Erection that allows me to showcase some of the great poets that I find in my travels throughout the Internet. I have found that posting works by other bloggers often brings more traffic to their site and that is a good thing. If you missed the first Poetic License, please check it out.

Each month I share eight poems. If you like poetry, I hope you come back each month for more! You can always find Poetic License on the first Monday of each month. May is also when our second trimester of Morning Erection’s Tri-Annual Poetic License Magazine is released. Make sure you read the magazine, especially if you missed any previous months this year.

Brighter
by Ans

Brighter,

Brighter than narrowed expectations!
You can keep your precious stars,
Your explosive super novas,
Your lightless black hole matter.
They can explode, can coalesce for centuries
As faces permanently crane northward.
Their indulgent stardust is mere glitter
comparative to the art of my own two hands,
too east-bound for high demands.

But here’s my timid secret
Too obscured for human eyes turned skyward.
Spoken, only whispered.
It can’t be heard by ears, so stubborn.
I’m stealing your precious, massive stars,
Replacing them with my soul-born shine
A glare so bright it hides my face
As I pluck each star out, light by light
And slowly, slowly, I’ll own this sky
But you’ll be too blind to know it’s mine

Young Love
by WFausser

Sorrowful long good-byes
Of tears and reddened eyes.
For one reason or another it was over.
No longer those sweet beds of green clover.
No longer led blindly by her soft caress,
longing for love, beauty in dress,
and warm soft timeless kiss.
All the time with her, I would miss.
My heart became chilled and closed
long since from that day I proposed.
A valiant wave would finalize the part.
Drove down the road with a torn heart,
passed a car going up a long blind hill,
detached of mortal spirit and will.

Friendship Is Worth A Thousand Words
by Soupiee1

What to do what to say
I’m starting to feel some kind of way
It’s all good makes me feel free
Cause around you I can be me
Goofy and silly all that stuff
No time for serious stuffed shirts
We can talk always will dream
And forever wonder what all of it means
One day it was here and then it was gone
Felt like I was signing some old song
But things changed and there was a second chance
This time i’m at the ball and we will share that last dance
So as time goes on there is but one thing to say
Now your back and I hope you will stay

Aroused Fancies Lack the Spirit!
by Romi Jain

Dalliance in reveries is enough to thrill!
But aroused fancies lack the spirit!

No warmth to ever rain on the lips
No shyness to ever cloud the lashes
No ecstatic pulsation to be ever felt on
The bosom—
No musing ever over revelation of the
Titillating treasure.

No delightful commotion to ever issue
From the vibrating life—
No vividness of the moment
That implanted the pearl;
No pleasure to spring
From caressing of the shell.

To overcome the blizzard
Coat is the companion:
There will never be a
Melting hug
And sensation will ever be frozen!

I Read Your Book
by Chris

I read your book
It was just a quick look
You keep it so close; always by your side
Is it your comfort or is it you guide

The feel of warmth still on the page
The essence of you I wish to cage
Curiosity that you seem to pique
Knowing the real you; is what I seek

Each page I turn earmarked or not
Brings me closer to an intention or thought
I probe the page not to pry, not to intrude
But to know your heart and in its full nude

For we build walls high protecting our hurt
To never let others  witness our dirt
We push out and keep at arm’s length
Wasting our effort and sapping our strength

I wish to learn all that is you
To be your plenty; to be your glue
Hoping you’ll invite me into your nook
With us paired together reading your book

A Broken Heart
by Robin Ellen Lucas

a smile can speak a thousand words
but it cannot calm a broken heart.
how do you talk to a heart
and tell it to live in the moment
to tell it it’s been broken for a reason?
it has no reasoning
only feeling…

how, after convincing it to open wide
to give itself to another
again going to a vulnerable place
this time because it’s safe
because the other expresses heart and soul,
how do you convince a heart
that its message is received, appreciated with love
but that demons have eaten it
because it was perfect exactly as it was?

how do you tell a heart that it’s ok
to stay open and surrender
when it can think of nothing else
but the last time you told it this
answering its prayers?

how do you tell it that
its karma was shared with another
so you did it no harm
trust me this time and surrender
sent to me from the stars
just your heart in exchange for mine
your soul for mine
to be a colony in which to become each other?

a heart is a star
but it can’t shine when it’s broken
broken because love brings up its brokenness
surrender…
because it’s unknown how long it will take
to heal, if ever.

yet all a heart asks is
why do you walk away from something beautiful?

it does what you say though
and surrenders again…
feeling itself in everything
for guidance
but still it all tells it the same,
that the heart it opened for
is still open
just hidden underneath
and that it should hang on.

Have You Ever…?
by Miilee

Have you ever confided in a tree?
Ever hugged it tight?
Ever leaned on a stout bark
Did it feel right?
Like a long lost friend’s hug
Even without the arms
The unfailing show of faith
trust without qualms.

Have you whispered to a river?
and heard her laugh back?
Ever trusted her judgment;
fulfilling where you lack?
Found answers in her ripples
when you lost your way?
Ever let her correct you,
when the world led you astray?

Have you ever cried on the shoulder
of a night, clear and starry?
and let him take your sobs,
when your dreams had gone awry?
Have you let him tell you tales
of worlds you’ve never seen?
Let him carry you far away
to a dreamland never been?

Have you shouted out with glee
in the ear of the breeze?
and shared his thrilling joy
even as you freeze?
Have you given him your hand
to caress with affections true?
Have you ever seen the world
from his point of view?

Its not too late for it all!
you are still breathing!
But now is the time for it;
shed that protective sheathing.
Heed the call of adventure;
No worry; no misgiving.
You get just one life;
So stop existing.. Start Living!

Being Single!
by Gaurav Sharma

Just because I’m single
Doesn’t mean I’m looking for love
Doesn’t mean I need anybody
And doesn’t mean I want to love again
Just because I’m single
Doesn’t mean you can walk all over me
Doesn’t mean I am alone
Doesn’t mean I am miserable
Just because I’m single
Doesn’t mean that I want you
Doesn’t mean that I’m normal
Doesn’t mean I’m broken
Just because I’m single
Can’t I just live my life?
Do they think we are alone without them?
Can’t singles be happy?
I know I am.

All Rights Reserved © by their respective authors. Tom Baker and his Morning Erection blog make no claims to any poetry other than his own.

If your poem is featured on Poetic License please consider adding the graphic to your site. It definitely is not required but you would make me a happy camper!

Poetic License, The Tri-Annual Magazine

Poetic License began in September 2010. I think it has been a great success as a segment on Morning Erection. I have compiled the last four month’s of poetry into one magazine style post. For everyone who contributed a poem, I hope you like the magazine and will share the link with readers on your site. Feel free to distribute the magazine, download it and print it too. This month’s Poetic License, The Tri-Annual Magazine will be posted on May 6th.

Sorrowful long good-byes
Of tears and reddened eyes.
For one reason or another it was over.
No longer those sweet beds of green clover.
No longer led blindly by her soft caress,
longing for love, beauty in dress,
and warm soft timeless kiss.
All the time with her, I would miss.
My heart became chilled and closed
long since from that day I proposed.
A valiant wave would finalize the part.
Drove down the road with a torn heart,
passed a car going up a long blind hill,
detached of mortal spirit and will.

, , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Gwen Greene on May 9, 2011 - 7:01 AM

    Congratulations to all. These are very beautiful poems. I really like Have You Ever…?

  2. #2 by Broken Sparkles on May 5, 2011 - 11:45 PM

    Broken heart by Robin is my favorite here, nice collection Tom!

  3. #3 by Quianna on May 3, 2011 - 10:05 AM

    Beautiful poetry. This is my favorite part of your blog.

  4. #4 by PrinceConnoisseur on May 2, 2011 - 9:31 AM

    This month again continues a great series and I think I like Young Love the best. It closely resembles parts of my childhood and teenage days. They are all great poems though! I am looking forward to the magazine and I wish I could be a part of the best blog post project you are doing but alas I don’t write on my blogs…

  5. #5 by Ina on May 2, 2011 - 7:10 AM

    You have found another great series of poems! Well done! :)

  6. #6 by robin on May 2, 2011 - 2:51 AM

    thank you, tom. it’s an honor to be here…… -robin

Leave Me With A Portion Of You ...

