31 Days Of Blogging Honesty: Day 04

Day 04 — The worst thing ever to happen to me…

The very worst thing to ever happen to me was experiencing death. Not my death of course but the death of relatives and friends – the people I care about and love. It is a very strange epiphany to realize that life goes on after someone dies. It is very strange when it appears that people who have passed are forgotten and people who once were so prominent in our lives aren’t there anymore.

Too many of my friends, classmates and family members have passed away. Cancer, motor vehicle accidents and even a high school friend was murdered shortly after graduation. Death is very hard to get over and something hard to forget. I remember what I was doing and where I was during the Shuttle accident, Princess Diana’s car accident, Michael Jackson’s death and I can still feel in the pit of my stomach the dagger-like pain when I got the news about a family member’s death. All those lost from Hurricane Katrina, the Christmas Tsunami and others I can think of. Life is very precious and should be valued as such…

Funerals and burials have been the worst thing to happen to me.

, , ,

  1. #1 by savesprinkles1234 on May 5, 2011 - 5:09 PM

    Death is a big suck, I totally agree.

    • #2 by Tom Baker on May 9, 2011 - 4:21 PM

      I couldn’t have said it any better.

  2. #3 by Cherlyn on May 5, 2011 - 8:14 AM

    The passing of a loved one is never easy, and what’s the most horrible thing about it is that it’s never unavoidable. As long as you remember and cheris the memories of the ones who’ve passed, they’re never really gone – it sounds like you are still keeping those loved ones alive :).

    • #4 by Tom Baker on May 9, 2011 - 4:17 PM

      Death and sickness are real heart breakers.

  3. #5 by therealsharon on May 5, 2011 - 12:45 AM

    Death is truly a horrible thing

    • #6 by Tom Baker on May 9, 2011 - 4:19 PM

      Sharon you are truly right about that.

  4. #7 by stacey archer on May 5, 2011 - 12:41 AM

    I know that feeling/pain all too well :(

    • #8 by Tom Baker on May 9, 2011 - 4:18 PM

      It’s too bad anyone has to feel it.

Leave Me With A Portion Of You ...

