31 Days Of Blogging Honesty: Day 11

I stopped __________ at age ___ …

I really don’t like giving away this secret but I didn’t stop wetting the bed until I was ten. I think it was more like nine but very close to ten. It’s not a great feeling having to wake up and change the bed trying to hide the fact from my sister and parents. I don’t recall ever wetting the bed when cousins or friends spent the night so I was spared that embarrassment, however it still took a toll on my self esteem.

If I had the chance to tell someone, male or female, I would let them know bed wetting is something you can get over and sometimes it’s just because you are a deep sleeper or have a bladder that is smaller than normal. My parents would get upset with me and tell me I was just too lazy to get out of the bed during the night. Perhaps it is true for some kids but I was never awake when it happened. Boy, that would be lazy.

I don’t wet the bed anymore.

, , ,

  1. #1 by Rose Reynolds on May 15, 2011 - 10:26 PM

    As I read and reread your honesty posts I have to say that all of your posts are excessively honest. I don’t mean excessively in a bad way either. I think you know what I mean. You are always candid and up front.

    • #2 by Tom Baker on May 20, 2011 - 9:01 AM

      Oh, you mean all my posts and not just the 31 days. Thanks. I try to be honest always.

  2. #3 by savesprinkles1234 on May 15, 2011 - 6:36 PM

    Now this is some damned honest blogging. I’ll admit I once peed the bed in college, but I was biind drunk at the time! Actually, I don’t think occasional bedwetting up to ten is that odd. My youngest was always a super deep sleeper and she had problems with bed wetting when she was young. Nothing to be ashamed of :).

    • #4 by Tom Baker on May 20, 2011 - 9:04 AM

      Thanks, the shame of it all has been gone long ago. When I learned to do my own laundry!!!

  3. #5 by PrinceConnoisseur on May 15, 2011 - 11:43 AM

    I know lots more people than will admit have had the same problem. Take it from experience it is better to not have older brothers or sisters when you have this problem!

  4. #7 by Cherlyn on May 15, 2011 - 8:21 AM

    Very brave of you :) And you know, I know quite a few people who have had this problem, and i dont think there’s anything to be ashamed about. It happens, and it’s sad that you had to deal with it alone!

    • #8 by Tom Baker on May 20, 2011 - 9:10 AM

      I’m all better now and the shame is gone! I can understand why parents get out of shape about it and sleepovers were a pain.

  5. #9 by therealsharon on May 15, 2011 - 12:43 AM

    This was brave of you to admit! I had the same issue until about that age because I had a small bladder. I was lucky though because the doctor told my mom that so she didn’t ever yell at me for it, she always understood.

    • #10 by Tom Baker on May 20, 2011 - 9:13 AM

      We all needed that doctor. Good for you and your mother!

Leave Me With A Portion Of You ...

