31 Days Of Blogging Honesty: Day 13

My favorite activity to do alone is…

My favorite think to do alone, believe it or not is to watch movies. Don’t get me wrong. I love watching with friends, family and my wife too. I love snuggling next to her with a huge strawberry banana smoothie and popcorn and listening to her every question (love you honey). The problem is I watch movies the first time to look for the mistakes and inconsistencies and that tends to make people mad at me, especially when I go back and rewind to make sure I saw what I thought I saw.

Just last night I found another mistake while watching Transformers for the third time. A car door on Bumblebee somehow was shut when in the scene before it was open!

Finding the mistakes and vocalizing them is a huge turnoff for most people, so watching a movie by myself the first time is preferable but I do love company while watching movies too and I don’t like going to the theater alone. Also I have no problems watching most movies a second, third or even fourth time. I’m just a movie buff! If you are interested, Jurassic Park has the most mistakes I have ever found in a movie. Twelve, but one of my favorites is when Tim Murphy is electrocuted on the fence and his hair is horribly messed up from the electric charge, suddenly has his hair perfectly combed later on in the movie.

I am very happy to surprise EVERYBODY who was expecting a different answer from me. Go wash your minds out with soap.

, ,

  1. #1 by growingupguys on September 5, 2012 - 1:39 PM

    That is one of the best things to do…I almost feel proud noticing these things. I must say the WORST mistake i’ve seen was in the movie “Everything Must Go” with Will Ferrel. It was toward the end i believe and it is when he goes into the bathroom. You can clearly and obviously see the cameraman in the reflection of the glass shower. By far worst mistake. How could you not notice that?! lol

  2. #2 by southwindtrails on May 29, 2011 - 7:56 PM

    I like watching movies along when it’s an old favourite so that no one talks during the important bits (which are sometimes only important to me) and when it’s a stupid movie that only I like .

    • #3 by Tom Baker on May 29, 2011 - 8:11 PM

      I know what you mean. Today’s post is one that I needed to watch alone because of how stupid it is.

  3. #4 by Scott Moore on May 21, 2011 - 4:57 PM

    I’m not going to shy away from it you guys. If I have to be alone… I have to say masturbate. It’s not that I necessarily like to do it but sometimes I need to do it.

  4. #6 by savesprinkles1234 on May 17, 2011 - 10:03 AM

    My husband is the exact same way, but he likes to watch them alone so he can be the only one talking!

    • #7 by Tom Baker on May 20, 2011 - 8:44 AM

      It seems like your husband and I could be good movie buddies.

  5. #8 by Chris on May 17, 2011 - 6:42 AM

    I do the same things. Its like a scavenger hunt to find the mistakes and its a lot of of fun for me. Not so much for some of my friends.

    • #9 by Tom Baker on May 20, 2011 - 8:53 AM

      Right! You get to enjoy watching a movie and play a game at the same time!

  6. #10 by Cherlyn on May 17, 2011 - 3:56 AM

    Nice, I like watching movies alone too. I dont usually get all tied into knots with mistakes, however, I’m a huge story, flow, and technical buff so to say, so when something is just completely ridiculous story-wise, or the acting is horrible, I am definitely vocal. So yeah, I can totally understand where you’re coming from! I’m not allowed to watch Star Wars: Attack of the Clones with my parents anymore, because I yell at Anakin the whole time lol. Apparently, Apocalypse Now has the most mistakes (as of right now), which I find interesting.

    I think you and I would get along watching amovie, I watch movies multiple times as well. I probably wouldn’t get annoyed at you! Lol I’d be bitching about other stuff anyways haha.

    A really good answer!

    • #11 by Tom Baker on May 20, 2011 - 8:55 AM

      I think in person you and I would be great doing loads of things together. Coffee first, right.

  7. #12 by therealsharon on May 17, 2011 - 1:48 AM

    Sounds like you could be a movie director’s nightmare when it comes to telling them all the mistakes in a movie! I never really notice mistakes much…I guess because I’m a performer at heart so I pay more attention to the lines and the facial expressions of the actors than what’s always going on around them.

    • #13 by Tom Baker on May 20, 2011 - 8:56 AM

      Seriously, they should hire me to watch the movie before letting the actors go. I thought most movies had a continuity expert to keep mistakes to a minimum?

  8. #14 by Broken Sparkles on May 17, 2011 - 12:10 AM

    I like watching movies alone, but not to find the mistakes, I just don’t like to be interrupted by a question in a middle of a critic moment. If I like the movie very much that means I won’t be able to watch it second time, so since I see movies only once I like to see them properly :)
    Speaking of mistakes, have you seen Titanic? Well, I was so upset on the end that Leo has to die, so I couldn’t just pass on how Ms.WInslet after all the troubles, the water splashing them, pieces of boat hitting them, on the end she still wore lipstick :)

    • #15 by Tom Baker on May 20, 2011 - 8:58 AM

      Really? You only watch movies once. I watched Titanic because everyone else had, not because I was dying to see it. I missed that lipstick moment.

Leave Me With A Portion Of You ...

