31 Days Of Blogging Honesty: Day 14

The most disgusting food I’ve ever eaten was…

Oysters! Oysters on the half slimy, nasty gritty shell are the most disgustingly grotesque food I have ever eaten and never ever will I eat them again. Fried oysters are fine. Oysters and clams in marinara sauce are great too but there is just something about those uncooked other worldly creatures that make my gag reflex go into overdrive.

I stopped eating a lot of shellfish and other sea critters because of the mercury content and other reasons so I don’t really run into too many oysters – even fried ones. I eat loads of salmon but I only eat wild caught. I might get the farm raised if I know I can trust the companies behind them, like Whole Foods. I’m a huge tilapia fan and could have that everyday. I do miss my shrimp, crabs and lobster at times but I hate raw oysters!

I will however concede, and admit they do have a certain visual appeal to them!


, ,

  1. #1 by Alive aLwaYs on May 18, 2011 - 6:19 PM

    ohh! the mercury content!
    This reminds of the documentary “The Cove”

    • #2 by Tom Baker on May 20, 2011 - 8:35 AM

      The Cove is being shipped and I should receive it today! I’m looking forward to watching it. Thanks for the heads up! Thanks for stopping by too. I appreciate you taking the time to comment.

  2. #3 by savesprinkles1234 on May 18, 2011 - 5:16 PM

    I’ve downed exactly one raw oyster in my life. I’d actually forgotten how awful they were! Hmm, there’s something vaguely familiar about that pic. :)

    • #4 by Tom Baker on May 20, 2011 - 8:36 AM

      Vaguely? Raw oysters are disgusting and I know one was way too many!

  3. #5 by Cherlyn on May 18, 2011 - 9:56 AM

    Teehee at the image lol

  4. #7 by GravureLover on May 18, 2011 - 8:01 AM

    Okra has to be the most disgusting thing my mother made me eat. It’s slimy and nasty. It even tasted hairy. Yuk.

    • #8 by Tom Baker on May 20, 2011 - 8:42 AM

      I hear if you cut okra with a very sharp knife on the bias, it doesn’t get slimy. I don’t care too much for it either unless it is in gumbo. I try to eat all vegetables because they are all good for us.

  5. #9 by Asian Dyna on May 18, 2011 - 12:12 AM

    What a great project for a blog site. Congratulations!

    Pity, though…I love oysters…:)

    Cheers!

    • #10 by Tom Baker on May 20, 2011 - 8:44 AM

      I have nothing against people who like oysters! Just the critters themselves.

Leave Me With A Portion Of You ...

