Super 8 Movie

Pardon me for interrupting the 31 Days of Blogging Honesty. Chris from Nerds of the Round Table is always beating me to the punch on breaking science fiction news and giving out great information on upcoming movies and series finales, and comic book story lines and I could go on ad nauseum. I’m sure he knows about this new movie, Super 8 but he has yet to blog about it. The movie comes out June 10th so I felt like I needed to post it now and not later. Tomorrow you will be returned to you regularly scheduled post.

You know my love for science fiction. You know J. J. Abrams and Mr. Steven Spielberg are two very talented Directors/Producers/Cinematic Geniuses, right. If you don’t know already, the two have teamed up for a late seventies science fantasy/fiction horror film. It’s called Super 8 and for this one, I’m not sure I can wait for the DVD. This might be the movie we should see together Cherlyn.

Synopsis:
In the summer of 1979, a group of friends in a small Ohio town witness a catastrophic train crash while making a super 8 movie and soon suspect that it was not an accident. Shortly after, unusual disappearances and inexplicable events begin to take place in town, and the local Deputy tries to uncover the truth – something more terrifying than any of them could have imagined.

Genre:
Science Fiction/Fantasy, Action and Adventure

Official Site:
http://super8-movie.com

Director:
J.J. Abrams

Cast:
Elle Fanning, Kyle Chandler, Ron Eldard, Noah Emmerich, Gabriel Basso, Joel Courtney, Ryan Lee, Zach Mills, and Amanda Michalka

Writers:
J.J. Abrams

Producer:
Steven Spielberg

So, what do you guys think? Any takers? Do you think this movie will tank or be another blockbuster?

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by Chris on May 24, 2011 - 5:47 PM

    I was scooped, I admit it. I’ve seen a few trailers for the movie. However, I’ve not been a big fan of JJ Abrams horror movies. I really did not care for Cloverfield.

    I’ve never personally cared for most of JJ Abrams scary movies. It seems like they are built around tons of mystery and little clues into what caused the mystery. Part of the reason I didn’t like Cloverfield is that it never explained how things happened. A general observation is that JJ Abrams original content is designed to tease the hell out of you and never get resolution (see Lost and Alias).

    That being said I loved his work on Star Trek so really I think its the original content that gets me. Congrats on scooping me Tom!

    • #2 by Tom Baker on May 26, 2011 - 10:54 AM

      It’s not easy to do with you Chris. I didn’t like Lost and I was very disappointed with Cloverfield but like you said, Star Trek was great. I also ‘kinda’ like Fringe and I really enjoyed Undercovers until it was canceled. I’m hoping because Super 8 has children in it that it will be sort of a Goonies-type movie.

      By the way, I don’t really consider it a scoop if you weren’t going to post about it either way. It’s bittersweet.

  2. #3 by savesprinkles1234 on May 24, 2011 - 9:37 AM

    We’ll probably check this one out. My youngest daughter and her boyfriend are both mass comm majors with a concentration in film. They’re actually making a purposefully cheesy horror movie filmed on 8mm over their summer break.

    • #4 by Tom Baker on May 24, 2011 - 11:56 AM

      I look forward to seeing the movie on your blog perhaps!?

  3. #5 by PrinceConnoisseur on May 24, 2011 - 7:56 AM

    This looks like a good movie and it’s the first I have heard about it. Did you scoop Chris?

    • #6 by Tom Baker on May 24, 2011 - 11:56 AM

      As far back as I went on his blog last night I could see no mention of this movie.

  4. #7 by therealsharon on May 24, 2011 - 2:28 AM

    I definitely am wanting to see this! I love horror/thriller movies! :)

    • #8 by Tom Baker on May 24, 2011 - 11:55 AM

      I’m trusting it is going to be good. I’ve been let down by Skyline and Battle LA looks like it will be like Skyline…

  5. #9 by Rose Reynolds on May 24, 2011 - 12:21 AM

    Great clip. It has sort of a Goonies feel to it that I like. Maybe James and I will see this one too. He’s a huge fan of both Abrams and Spielberg.

    • #10 by Tom Baker on May 24, 2011 - 11:53 AM

      I was thinking of the Goonies remake when I saw the clip too.

Leave Me With A Portion Of You ...

