31 Days Of Blogging Honesty: Day 20

The book that I read that has altered my perception of life is…

I read but I don’t read a lot. When I was younger I would say it was L. Frank Baum’s, The Wonderful Wizard of Oz. I learned a lot about the symbolism. For instance I learned that Oz was the abbreviation for ounces and the yellow brick road symbolized gold and the entire book was a commentary on greed.

Today I would say it is the Bible. I am getting a clearer understanding of what the Bible is saying as opposed to my misconceptions of something I talked about but never really knew what it was I was talking about. Lots of people, like myself “know” about Christianity but have never even bothered to research and find out for themselves. I am learning a lot from reading and learned lots when I was out in California this past December. It’s very interesting. I particularly like the book of John.


, , ,

  1. #1 by The Good Greatsby on May 25, 2011 - 9:05 PM

    I’ve never read The Wizard of Oz, but the insight on ounces and gold is interesting.

    • #2 by Tom Baker on May 26, 2011 - 10:59 AM

      I wouldn’t read it now, just because of my age, although I do enjoy reading Green Eggs & Ham every now and again! The symbolism in the book is astonishing.

  2. #3 by Cherlyn on May 25, 2011 - 1:14 PM

    An interesting answer for sure! I’ve never read either of those books, but I don’t read books much either. Hope you’re doing well!

    • #4 by Tom Baker on May 26, 2011 - 10:58 AM

      I’m doing well! Really busy but doing well. Thanks for inquiring.

  3. #5 by Rose Reynolds on May 25, 2011 - 1:06 PM

    I remember you mentioning before that you went to church in California and you’ve been reading the Bible more. It’s been a source of comfort for me and I’ve been a born again Christian for awhile now.

    • #6 by Tom Baker on May 26, 2011 - 10:57 AM

      I’ve been reading more and have altered several of the things that I do/don’t do because of some of what I’ve read.

  4. #7 by Broken Sparkles on May 25, 2011 - 12:03 AM

    I like that your posts come every morning at the same time, with my coffee :)

    Good answer Tom! For me that book is “A place called freedom” – Ken Follett

    • #8 by Tom Baker on May 26, 2011 - 10:56 AM

      What local time do you get the posts? I’ve heard of Follett, I think. I will check it out.

Leave Me With A Portion Of You ...

