31 Days Of Blogging Honesty: Day 21

Someone or something  I know I should have let go a long time ago is…

The something that I should have let go is pop. Soda pop to be more precise. I know how much sugar is in a two liter bottle of soda and I know how it sucks calcium from your bones and I also know how your kidneys suffer but I keep drinking soda.

I have cut back quite a bit but I want to stop altogether. Maybe the soft drink companies should come up with a patch the same way the tobacco companies developed nicotine patches for people who want to quit smoking.

My favorite pop drink is Coke and Pepsi mixed together when I’m at home. If I go out to a restaurant that makes you get your own drink, I usually mix Sprite and Coke together. On rare occasions, I take tea, lemonade and Sprite together. When I’m not having a smoothie while watching a movie, I like to have Pepsi with half a lemon juiced into it. Mmm delicious.

, ,

  1. #1 by southwindtrails on May 29, 2011 - 8:17 PM

    You have some very interesting drink combinations there. I’m not much of a pop drinker – I don’t remember the last time I had one.

    • #2 by Tom Baker on May 29, 2011 - 8:24 PM

      Good for you. Don’t start. What do you drink? Did Cherlyn get you hooked on coffee?

  2. #3 by Cherlyn on May 26, 2011 - 8:48 AM

    I used to drink waaaaayyyy too much pop (we just call it pop over here, do you guys use pop for something else as well?). When I was in highschool, one year my friends and i hung out almost every day, cooped up in my friends tiny room, playing a game called Tales of Symphonia over and over again, drinking coke and eating hostess salt and vinegar chips. It’s amazing that none of us gained 100 pounds. I definitely only really have pop once in a while now. I do drink diet, which is bad for you in a different way, but *shrugs*, oh well. I drink regular pop mostly only when I’m having a drink, usually just rye and ginger (so tastey!). I do have asoft spot for Dr. Pepper.

    If you ever want a good recipe for iced tea (or do you guys call it sweet tea down there? I can’t remember!), I have a really good one, it’s got a lot less sugar, and this way you know what’s in it :).

    Have a good one!

    • #4 by Tom Baker on May 26, 2011 - 11:09 AM

      It’s iced tea where I’m from but McDonald’s just came out with sweet tea. I will take that recipe. Also in different parts of the US, we call it different things. I’ve heard sodey pop, pop, soda, soda pop.

      • #5 by Cherlyn on May 27, 2011 - 9:59 AM

        No, i”m saying what you guys call sweet tea is what we in Canada just call Iced Tea. I’m not sure if that all depends on where in the country you’re from though. I’d probably smack someone upside the head if they said sodey pop and weren’t under the age of 10.

  3. #7 by PrinceConnoisseur on May 26, 2011 - 7:57 AM

    Any drink you can buy in the stores probably has too much sugar in it. Whatever I drink I try to make at home and use agave instead of sugar. Carbonated beverages are very bad for your health and diet sodas are really bad.

    I wanted to let you know once again that we are closing both of our blogs soon. Femininity iMagazine will have its last post on June 30th and the last scheduled post for Connoisseur is December 31st. There won’t be anyone manning those blogs after May 31st though. Occasionally I might drop by to comment on your posts Tom but for the most part the team is breaking up.

    Thanks for stopping by occasionally and all the thousands of visitors you’ve sent our way from your Blogroll and Honorable Mention. Oh, and try to stay away from sodas! Love the image though. Looks just like summer.

    • #8 by Tom Baker on May 26, 2011 - 11:07 AM

      I just mentioned that in a reply. Dr. Oz loves agave nectar. You have lots of viewers/readers who will be sorry to see your site end. You post some very lovely ladies. Perhaps it’s time you all ‘grew up” though.

  4. #9 by savesprinkles1234 on May 26, 2011 - 7:24 AM

    “Maybe the soft drink companies should come up with a patch the same way the tobacco companies developed nicotine patches for people who want to quit smoking.”

    My daughter and I had a lengthy discussion yesterday about this very thing! A soda patch could administer caffiene to you without making you have to pee on long car rides!

    I’m actually not much of a soda drinker. Sweeted iced tea is my bad habit. I’ve stopped making it at home and limit it to when I’m out to eat. Good answer! >)

    • #10 by Tom Baker on May 26, 2011 - 11:05 AM

      Great minds think alike! And if you didn’t have to pee on long car rides you wouldn’t have to be envious of not having a penis!

      • #11 by savesprinkles1234 on May 26, 2011 - 12:28 PM

        You took it one step further, but you’re absolutely right!!

        • #12 by Tom Baker on May 26, 2011 - 1:14 PM

          You do know I was referring to your 31 Days post – the one about day 10.

          • #13 by savesprinkles1234 on May 26, 2011 - 10:31 PM

            Yep, I knew you were! And I’m still envious!

  5. #14 by Deborah the Closet Monster on May 26, 2011 - 12:54 AM

    I love Dr. Pepper. I loveitloveitlove it. I’ve felt this way since I was about eleven years old. I’ve gone long periods without drinking it, following which I’ve had “just one” . . . only to fall right back in to the trap. ><

    • #15 by Tom Baker on May 26, 2011 - 11:02 AM

      Dr. Pepper is the soda I hate the most next to cream. I guess lots of people do like it though. It’s still around after all these years.

  6. #16 by Broken Sparkles on May 26, 2011 - 12:11 AM

    I gave up on those drinks long time ago, once in a while I might have a coke, but that’s if there isn’t anything else to drink :)
    I’ve found a new strawberry tea and that’s my favorite for now … As for the something/someone I should let go off … well, few people I guess and some of my naive beliefs.

    • #17 by Tom Baker on May 26, 2011 - 11:01 AM

      Good for you. I’m going to again. I prefer not to buy anything from a store simply because there is just too much sugar and other ingredients that I don’t want in my body. I really enjoy a tall cold glass of water. I get my 8 glasses in almost everyday.

Leave Me With A Portion Of You ...

