31 Days Of Blogging Honesty: Day 22

As to whether or not I have ever contemplated giving up on life, my answer is…

Emphatically no! I have never had cause to contemplate suicide. I have thought about what might drive a person to do it, but I’ve never seriously contemplated it myself. I hope I never ever do feel that way and I hope and pray nobody reading this would ever do such a thing either!

Life is far too precious, to special, to ever consider ending it.

I do know several people who have confided in me and let me know that they once thought or even tried it. All for what seemed to me to be trivial reasons. I know now that even with physical pain, what might be terribly painful for one person might not even hurt a bit for another. So I believe the same is true for emotional pain. I just tried to be the best friend, the best listener possible and I thank God everyone is still around today. Not that I’m taking any of the credit but I am happy nobody ended their life that confided their intentions to me.


, ,

  1. #1 by PrinceConnoisseur on May 27, 2011 - 1:38 PM

    That’s good to hear that you never thought about seriously doing it, but you never thought about it at all?

    • #2 by Tom Baker on May 28, 2011 - 11:50 AM

      If I thought about it like that it was just in passing. I think we all do that.

  2. #3 by Cherlyn on May 27, 2011 - 3:51 AM

    A trivial reason to you may be the most important thing to another person. At least despite the inability to put yourself in their shoes, you were a good friend and greeted them with open arms. Sometimes that’s all you can do, and hope it’s enough.

    • #4 by Tom Baker on May 27, 2011 - 12:39 PM

      You are right again. Trivial is in the mind of the beholder!

Leave Me With A Portion Of You ...

