31 Days Of Blogging Honesty: Day 28

There is a scandalous article in the newspaper about me today. Something from my past. Most likely it’s about…

More than likely it is about my spying or some might call voyeurism as a teenager. If I was running for some political office one of the girls that I used to spy on when my sister had her sleepovers may have known I was doing it. To this day I really believe (person to be nameless) had, in certain circumstances actually made it possible for me to see her and some of her friends undressing or naked. I suspected that this one girl was an exhibitionist and knew what I was up to long before I realized it, and she liked it.

Why would this girl who liked being seen turn me in to the newspapers? Maybe she’s not a member of the same political party I am. Perhaps she doesn’t know I destroyed all the photos. Or maybe, just maybe she feels some kind of guilt that she facilitated in helping me see the other girls. I don’t know. I don’t have all the answers but now that I told on myself there is no need for that article to appear. Better yet, at this point in my life, and no political ambitions, who would care?

Of course I can’t prove it but if something scandalous appeared in the newspaper about me, it would either be that or one other thing. Since the question doesn’t specify that I reveal more than I have to, that is all the information you need with this particular honesty session! Curious?

Saber Hodson of What Is Up With That?!? will be my guest blogger on June 4th. I say with a smirk on my face that you will surely enjoy the subject matter. Make sure you check out her site before June 4th and make sure you come back here Saturday to read the post!

, ,

  1. #1 by Deborah the Closet Monster on June 2, 2011 - 12:00 PM

    How could I not be curious?!

    • #2 by Tom Baker on June 2, 2011 - 7:51 PM

      To be honest, I answered these questions in February I believe. I have no idea what the other thing was that I mentioned. If I think of it though, I still won’t say, (hope I made you smile).

  2. #3 by Rose Reynolds on June 2, 2011 - 11:14 AM

    Great choice for a photo to go along with your post. Rear Window is a classic. Alfred Hitchcock was a master. Entire websites are dedicated to capturing ‘candid’ photos of people. So technology caught up with teenage curiosity and adult immaturity. I noticed from the meme we did that Ron has candid beach photos on his site.

    Some people want to see everyday people and not models. My husband and I discussed your history before I commented and he visited Ron’s site. He said he would much rather look at what is on Ron’s candid pages than Sports Illustrated or Victoria’s Secret. I guess models serve a purpose and that is to sell a product. Candid images or spy images capture real people. I think what you did just filled hormonal curiosities and that phase has passed you.

    I think even the most shy person has some voyeuristic tendencies. I mean if you see accidental nudity you just smirk and that’s it. The reporter in the locker room, the cab driver in his/her rear view mirror or the celebrity obsessed people who watch TMZ or Entertainment Tonight. Those shows might not have nudity but to want to look into the lives of celebrities with some of the fervor some folks have is still in my opinion voyeuristic. When a cop pulls someone over or there is a car accident it’s the voyeurs who slow traffic down.

    Coming back to your post. It would be scandalous but you’ve already admitted to it. You know what you did was wrong and that is as they say, it.

    You are a complex individual.

    • #4 by Tom Baker on June 2, 2011 - 7:55 PM

      We are a voyeuristic society. What I did is frowned upon though. I like what your email said too. Everyone thinks it is cute when the little boy is looking up the lady’s dress at age 5 but just 5 years later, he’s a pervert. And it was the laughter at age 5 that might have made him think his latter behavior was ‘okay’.

  3. #5 by Cherlyn on June 2, 2011 - 9:16 AM

    Lol I love your use of euphemisms lol. Sure, some may call it voyeurism or exhibitionism, I call it peeping or being slutty lol. No offense intended, we were all teenagers with desires and needs we couldn’t control. I’m not judging, I think it’s pretty funny – we’ve all done things that we may feel guilty about, or a little indecent, but gotta laugh at ourselves and move on :). As for the fictional article thing, I think in the future, the internet will cause a lot of problems with political parties. I mean, most people have a facebook, or a twitter, or a website – so if we’re sharing things with other people about ourselves that may be a little indecent or shows us in a negative light, I’m sure the media will find it. I can imagine it now, in twenty a years, a young man will run for president only to have a scandalous article about some college pictures where he was chugging a beer bong lol. I can’t wait, it’ll be toooo funny!

    Great answer!! I had a feeling you’d answer with this :)

    • #6 by Tom Baker on June 2, 2011 - 9:56 AM

      I’m too transparent Cherlyn. You know me too well. I need to change things up a bit. I do agree with you. People are already denied jobs because of things they put up on MySpace. What? You remember MySpace, don’t ya?

      Next time when you ask the questions (yet another subtle hint), I will still be honest but stay away from this aspect of my past.

      • #7 by Cherlyn on June 2, 2011 - 6:29 PM

        Good thing my Myspace is deactivated – plus I was like 14, I didn’t get into any shenanigans. My rules are: I don’t talk about stuff I’m not comfortable to talk about. I don’t post (or take pictures for that matter) on my Facebook that include a)Me doing the duckface, b) acting like a slut, c) in the shower, d) on the toilet (lots of sluts do that), e)doing drugs or drinking excessive amounts of alcohol (sure, a few pictures of me having a drink or two, but nothing I’d never admit to), or f)something hazardous or cruel to others. Actually, most of that stuff I don’t do anyways lol.

        I’ll make up the questions next time, you just gotta let me know around when you wanna do it…hmm maybe the end of the year.

        • #8 by Tom Baker on June 2, 2011 - 7:49 PM

          Who knew MySpace would be beat out by Facebook? Things on the internet don’t seem to go away even when deleted. I’m looking forward to you making up the questions, however, I was not pressuring you by the hints. I was only seriously kidding with all the hints! December would be a great month if you so choose.

  4. #9 by savesprinkles1234 on June 2, 2011 - 8:48 AM

    I think we all have done things when our teenaged brains weren’t steering us in the right direction. You could have exploited her, but you didn’t. I had a boyfriend in college who had some “photos” that he had taken of me. He refused to return them when I broke up with him (he was cheating on me). I always worried that they were posted in the back of Playboy or that he had passed them around to his friends.

    • #10 by Tom Baker on June 2, 2011 - 9:58 AM

      Hopefully they were lost and he spends every waking minute looking for them! I can understand your concern though! Life, what a journey.

  5. #11 by Ava Aston's Muckery on June 2, 2011 - 4:11 AM

    This post was either entertaining or creepy, I haven’t decided yet :) LOL

    Have a great day Tom!

    Blessings,

    Ava
    xox

    • #12 by Tom Baker on June 2, 2011 - 9:58 AM

      I think it was both Ava! Definitely both.

  6. #13 by King Arthur and Queen Guinevere on June 2, 2011 - 2:51 AM

    You are not the same person today that you were then.This is something curious boys and girls do. You’ve learned from the mistakes of the past so that is a good thing.

    • #14 by Tom Baker on June 2, 2011 - 10:00 AM

      Yes I have and I feel I might even be able to help someone. Either the perpetrator of the victim. Probably not face to face but maybe my words will help.

  7. #15 by therealsharon on June 2, 2011 - 1:41 AM

    Obviously, you’re not the only person in the world guilty of spying on a person and/or taking photos of them. I’ve heard a lot of stories of this type before, BUT at least you didn’t put them on the Internet and allow the photos to ruin the girl’s life. Yea, that might not have even been a viable option at the age you were anyways, but still….you could have kept them and posted them later and you didn’t…so I believe that says something good about you. Think of all the guys who posted pictures and videos of girls after they became celebrities to try to get rich and everything? To me, that is just reprehensible…..to use something private of someone else to make yourself rich or famous, you know?

    • #16 by Tom Baker on June 2, 2011 - 10:03 AM

      I did keep them for a long time. Not because I was looking at them constantly but because I had them in storage. I got rid of all that I found. I am convinced that I still might have some somewhere. I agree with you but like it is said, The love of money is the root of all evil. And the revenge factor takes a toll on a lot of relationships.

Leave Me With A Portion Of You ...

