31 Days Of Blogging Honesty: Day 30

Day 30 — I wrote a letter to someone I really miss (do this). I mailed it to them (postal, not email) and this is what I wrote…

Well, I did mail the letter and so far have gotten no response. Without this Day 30 question I don’t think I would have written it so I am grateful for this question. Here it is. Started sometime in late March or early April and mailed out on May 20, 2011.

Dear Best Friend from Elementary right through to High School,

I realize we haven’t seen each other in almost twelve years. We are both married now and not to one another like half of the school predicted. People thought we were surgically attached to one another and refused to believe that we were just friends. Even my parents refused to believe we were not romantically involved. How funny is that now?

I’ve heard that you have several children now. Congratulations! I hope this letter does not cause you any problems with your husband. There is no need for him to be upset or jealous. I do hope this letter finds you in good health and good spirits. Why am I writing after all this time?

I want you to know that even though we haven’t kept in touch over the years I still think of you often and I’ll always treasure our unique friendship. We broke all the rules proving males and females can be just friends.

Just so you know, I’ve kept all your secrets safe and I know you’ve done the same. Continuing with full disclosure and complete honesty I need to let you know this letter came to you as the result of a post on my blog. I know you don’t like computers but I invite you to follow my blog. If anyone can find my blog without any information at all, it is you.

I miss you and still think of you as a great friend. Love you always.

Tom Baker

, , , ,

  1. #1 by southwindtrails on June 22, 2011 - 8:53 PM

    I am SO late at commenting – I never seem to be able to keep up anymore. Anywho I liked your letter! This is such a neat idea – contacting an old friend whom you havn’t seen for awhile. It can be such a pleasant surprise to know that an old friend still rememebers all the good times you had together and somtimes can open the door to re-forming that relationship.

  2. #2 by Melinda on June 9, 2011 - 9:47 PM

    What a great idea! That would be great to reconnect. An old friend of mine from elementary – high school found me on Facebook last week and it was great to reconnect with an old friend. Hope you hear back. Getting a real letter has so much more meaning these days.

  3. #3 by Chris on June 6, 2011 - 9:54 PM

    Now that is a good idea. I like the thought of getting in touch with some long lost friends.

    • #4 by Chris on June 6, 2011 - 9:59 PM

      Sorry to double whammy on posts. Tom, I have to admit that the 31 Days of Blogging Honesty was quite the unique idea. It seems to have turned out well. Sorry I didn’t participate, but I didn’t think it really fit in with my blog. I’m glad it worked so well for you !

    • #5 by Tom Baker on June 7, 2011 - 5:13 PM

      It’s a great idea. In this day of instant everything, a nice card or letter might so someone’s heart good. Don’t worry about participation. Not everyone’s blog is set up for my schemes!

  4. #6 by savesprinkles1234 on June 6, 2011 - 9:36 PM

    I bet she’ll read your blog and then contact you. I know that’s probably what I would do in the same situation.

    I’m finishing up my Day 21 post to get out tomorrow or the next day. I’m finally back from vacation and having trouble getting back into the swing of things. Everytime I try to get something written my doorbell or phone rings!

  5. #7 by lisa pollard on June 6, 2011 - 4:03 PM

    What a brave letter to write! I really admire you for having the courage to write and send it. I’m not sure if I could. Growing up I had a guy best friend who I was super close to until mid-fifth grade. I was supposed to go and visit him and had to call and cancel. That was the last time we ever talked. Over the past so many years I’ve tried to find him on MySpace, then facebook, and Twitter, but his name is SO common I’ve had no luck. I hope that you get a response from your friend!!!! Good luck!

  6. #8 by Cherlyn on June 5, 2011 - 3:39 PM

    A sweet letter! Though I probably wouldn’t have mentioned anything about “causing problems’ with her husband. I dunno, I guess I just come from the mindest that it shouldn’t be a problem, and that people should be accepting and trusting, and that it is absurd that it would be a problem. But that’s just me, I guess I understand why you said it. It’s nice that you picked her to write too! I have few friends from elementary school that I keep in touch with, one of them is Saber though, so I’m greatful I still have her.

    Is it really that strange where you come from to have a boy and a girl be just friends? Maybe it’s just my neighbourhood, but I have plenty of guy friends who will only ever be just friends, and so do a lot of people I know. Maybe it’s the generation though, who knows.

    A really sweet letter, once again!

    • #9 by Tom Baker on June 6, 2011 - 1:04 PM

      Lots of people believe sex gets in the way of a boy/girl friendship. I disagree and have since childhood. People who can’t keep their legs shut or things in their pants don’t realize that it is possible to just be friends. I don’t think it’s generational. I think you have just been blessed in your circle of friends to not have had to deal with such foolishness. Most people don’t fully understand the term ‘friendship’ either.

      Thanks for saying it is sweet.

  7. #10 by Rose Reynolds on June 5, 2011 - 9:12 AM

    That’s a beautiful letter but risky. Not every man is insecure though. Perhaps she won’t write back. Maybe she will look for this blog instead.

    • #11 by Tom Baker on June 5, 2011 - 1:54 PM

      I called a female friend once who had the habit of falling for guys who were super insecure and thought they owned her. Several years ago I called her and she nearly cursed me out. The fact that a man called her home asking to speak to her would have drove her husband insane. I thought the letter was less risky but from now on I’ll try to leave well enough alone.

  8. #12 by therealsharon on June 5, 2011 - 12:34 AM

    Hope you get a response soon! :)

    • #13 by Tom Baker on June 5, 2011 - 1:51 PM

      Patiently waiting Sharon! If not so be it. I didn’t really expect a response to be truthful.

Leave Me With A Portion Of You ...

