Spectacular Photographic Images Of Chile’s Puyehue Volcano

I’ll admit I don’t watch the news all that often but when a natural event such as a volcanic eruptions takes place, I expect someone might tell me. If I hadn’t logged into my email, I still wouldn’t have known about it. Maybe because no one has been killed it has escaped my view on the morning news I see sometimes.

Puyehue is located in Southern Chile in the Andes Mountains about 540 miles from Santiago.

It happened on June 4th. On Saturday Puyehue erupted after being dormant for more than 50 years. It produced some amazing lightning that was visible against a vivid backdrop of the ash cloud. The gas and ash shot up into the heavens as far a six miles. I hope you enjoy these images.

Click for larger images

, , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Akira on June 14, 2011 - 8:38 AM

    Can you imagine being there and seeing these images for yourself. Destruction can be beautiful I guess.

  2. #2 by therealsharon on June 10, 2011 - 4:49 PM

    I hadn’t heard of this either! WOW! Even with all the ways you can get news nowadays, how interesting that many things still seem to escape our radar!

  3. #3 by Rose Reynolds on June 10, 2011 - 8:21 AM

    Beautiful images. The first photo reminds me of what the end of the world might look like and the third one is so stunningly bizarre. Great post Tom. I hope all is well with you.

  4. #4 by Ava Aston's Muckery on June 10, 2011 - 12:35 AM

    Wasn’t sure I wanted to know what type of eruptions you were talking about Tom But glad I took a chance to check it out….spectacular photos.

    Have a great day.

    Blessings,

    Ava
    xox

Leave Me With A Portion Of You ...

