Extreme Frivolousity

People should be able to do as they please with their own money. Right? In most cases I would agree. I’m mean truly, what right do I have to tell anybody who has worked hard to earn their own paycheck, what they can and cannot do with their finances?

I do however, have the right to be upset when someone wastes their money. I have the right but still maybe I should keep my mouth shut about it. It is after all their money! I’m starting to get a sense of what makes reporters tick. Give the news without getting emotional about it.

I’m starting to realize that it’s not always feasible to keep your emotions out of something you want to spread the word about or in the case of a reporter; report the news story without bias.

Happenstance has it that I am not a reporter. I can share with you my feelings and my opinions. I can do it whether I am right or I am wrong. It is after all, my blog. I’m not being cocky, just a bit uppity in a humorous way.

You see I know people who are making unbelievable sacrifices to keep their family’s afloat in these hard times. I have seen the devastation from tornadoes, flooding, drought and earthquakes around the world.

Wait, I digress and I’ve digressed from the very beginning of this post. I just wanted to share with you how one person threw away 43 million dollars. I guess it is the mentality of some rich people. If they have the fundation, they can do whatever they please.

For God’s sake man, tell us what you’re talking about already…

Okay. Sorry for babbling on but I wanted to add some levity to this post because I am really upset with this guy. Hedge fund manager, David Tepper purchased a piece of real estate at 239 Gibson Ln in Sagaponack, New York. Sagaponack is America’s most expensive small town and on that piece of property was a $43.5 million, 6,000-square-foot oceanfront estate on 6.5 sandy acres. Most people would be drooling, wetting their pants, on the verge of orgasm if they could live in a house like that, in the same neighborhood as Billy Joel.

Not this guy. This is the property as it was when he purchased it.


Image credit Cully/EEFAS

Mr. Tepper didn’t seem to appreciate the mansion that was already on the property. So he razed the entire structure. So not to give away my rant until the very end of the post. Click here to see what the lot looks like now.

, ,

  1. #1 by Cherlyn on June 17, 2011 - 8:08 PM

    so frivolous…what a waste of money.

  2. #2 by Nathan Pralle on June 13, 2011 - 10:21 AM

    It’s amazing how perspectives change when lots of money gets involved.

  3. #3 by Juan202020 on June 12, 2011 - 9:48 PM

    This makes no sense at all. That property could shelter a hundred abused women and their children or it could be used for a myriad of other great things. Some people just suck!

  4. #4 by therealsharon on June 11, 2011 - 8:03 PM

    The nerve of some people! UGH! I have no words!

  5. #5 by savesprinkles1234 on June 11, 2011 - 7:48 PM

    My house could fit in one of the white squares on his tennis court! What a waste!

  6. #6 by Rose Reynolds on June 11, 2011 - 1:25 PM

    If I had money to waste I surely wouldn’t waste it! Great reminder of what’s important Tom.

  7. #7 by bridgesburning on June 11, 2011 - 12:25 AM

    Good grief! I try to leave all my mansions on waterfronts standing. Oh and love the word frivolously! :)

Leave Me With A Portion Of You ...

