Did It Hurt When You Fell From Heaven?

Rarely has music moved me to tears. Only one time in fact and when I heard this young lady I didn’t cry either. That is because I held back the tears. Yesterday morning I heard Jackie Evancho sing a duet with Barbra Streisand. Who is Jackie Evancho? That’s what I said until I heard the angels in heaven singing through her.

What I heard was an angel. What I saw was a ten year old girl who came in second place in last season’s America’s Got Talent. It’s not a show I make a point to see so I missed Jackie and everyone else as well. I did see it last week, earlier this week, I don’t know but there was a six, seven and eight year old rappers on. They were so confident and cute… I digress.

I think I will alter my answer to one of the 31 Days of Blogging Honesty. I will remove Judas Priest from the list of songs for the deaf and instead add Miss Evancho. If you have never heard Jackie sing, I beg of you. I’m pleading, even as you read this. Take a few minutes and listen. Even if you open up a new window and go to a different blog, keep this window open and listen to the voice of an angel.

After hearing Jackie you might be interested in getting her soon to be released album, Dream With Me.

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by yuuki-chan on August 29, 2011 - 6:33 AM

    Been a while since I’ve been here :)

    I adore that child’s voice. Let’s hope for a bright future for her and her music!

    • #2 by Tom Baker on September 8, 2011 - 3:07 AM

      Let’s hope she has caring people around her to make sure she stays on a good path. It has been a while and I’m happy to see your return.

  2. #3 by brittany220 on July 19, 2011 - 10:30 PM

    Yeah I saw her on America’s Got Talent, last season, she’s an amazing singer!

  3. #4 by thoughtsappear on July 7, 2011 - 8:40 AM

    Wow…is that voice coming from that little girl? Amazing!

  4. #5 by Inside the Mind of Isadora on July 4, 2011 - 8:55 AM

    She is as sweet as she is talented. I heard her with Barbra , too. Her voice is like golden silk.
    Isadora

  5. #6 by abdulqayyumrao on June 18, 2011 - 11:56 AM

    beautiful, sweet song and kid, wow

  6. #7 by tinkerbelle86 on June 17, 2011 - 10:57 AM

    every now and again they find a good one. shame you have to sit through the dancing dogs though

  7. #8 by Melinda on June 16, 2011 - 6:26 PM

    Where does that strong voice come out of that little girl? She’s incredible and the new Barbara Streisand. I love that song. Gives me chills.

  8. #9 by Cherlyn on June 15, 2011 - 10:16 AM

    I didn’t cry, but I think I’ve cried enough the past while. If you like that, I’ll show you one that made me cry: http://youtu.be/DelJrP3P7tA

    That little girl has an absolutely gorgeous voice. So talented!

  9. #10 by Akira on June 14, 2011 - 7:32 AM

    I guess I’m too young to appreciate this kind of music but there is no denying that she has great talent.

  10. #11 by mariekb on June 14, 2011 - 12:31 AM

    Thank you so much for posting this. Extraordinary

  11. #12 by therealsharon on June 13, 2011 - 4:58 PM

    I happen to watch America’s Got Talent regularly so I saw her last season and was in awe of THAT voice coming from a 10 yr. old girl!
    Coming from an ex Music Major that took Voice lessons, I know that most girls tend to have a childlike quality to their voice up until around their mid 20’s when their voice matures and thus, for operatic singers, becomes their full voice. So the fact that a 10 yr. old girl already has a mature, womanly opera voice just contradicts that belief totally….She is definitely unique AND it will be interesting to see how much MORE amazing her voice will get as she gets older…cause science says it will and I can’t imagine her being any better than what she is now! Can you?!

  12. #13 by QuiannaK on June 13, 2011 - 11:48 AM

    Tom, I just went to Amazon and preordered her CD. She is blessed with such an amazing voice I cannot believe. Thanks for sharing this. I’m so happy I came by today.

  13. #14 by Nathan Pralle on June 13, 2011 - 10:30 AM

    A voice that incredible from a body that young is unbelievable. Whew.

  14. #15 by bridgesburning on June 13, 2011 - 1:46 AM

    I have heard her and she is incredible!
    Chris

Leave Me With A Portion Of You ...

