John McClane To Die Hard Again, Then Pass The Torch

Die Hard 5: A Good Day To Die Hard is the working title for the upcoming sequel. Hollywood sequels are always subject to title changes so this is just what it is for now. Die Hard 5 will, of course star Bruce Willis as John McClane. The movie begins shooting next year and is slated for release on February 14th, 2013. Happy Valentine’s Day!

Russia serves as the setting for DH5 with John trying to bail his son out of jail only to find that he is mixed up somehow in a terrorist plot. Of course it depends heavily on who is cast as John’s son, but based on the title the torch might be passed on to him, if McClane dies in this movie. I wasn’t too happy with the idea of Shia LeBeouf taking over for his father Indy, but maybe Lucas and Spielberg know a little bit more about movie making and casting than I do.

Whatever the case may be, I am a huge fan of the Die Hard franchise and look forward to whatever may be. What do you think.

, , ,

  1. #1 by actuallystrange on October 18, 2011 - 12:36 PM

    I own the first three but my favourite is the original, probably because of my Alan Rickman obsession. :) Personally, I feel the franchise shouldn’t have become a franchise. The first one was amazing, the second one was good, the third was eh…why are they still making these?

    • #2 by Tom Baker on October 18, 2011 - 7:40 PM

      My guess is not because of the many fans the franchise has but because they must make money off of the films. I think my favorite film with Rickman in it has to be Galaxy Quest. He was so utterly unenthusiastic with his characters part it was hilarious.

  2. #3 by Deborah the Closet Monster on October 17, 2011 - 8:29 AM

    I remember the last one was so ridiculous, I could barely keep myself from laughing aloud through the entire movie and bothering the other patrons. (Who knows, maybe they were doing the same!)

    I think I liked the others, but all I recall now is my barely suppressed laughter!

    I do think of ‘im when I think of Friday’s post title, for obvious reasons: “Boo YOU, motherf****r.” I wasn’t thinking of him at all when I titled the post, though.

    • #4 by Tom Baker on October 17, 2011 - 8:55 PM

      Deborah, I liked the last one. It was far fetched but I like John McClane. I thought the one with Jeremy Irons was not as good but then Samuel Jackson made up for that.

  3. #5 by Cherlyn on October 16, 2011 - 11:03 AM

    I have a feeling if it comes out in February, they’re not expecting it to be a decent film…Typically February isn’t a tentpole month – but then again, release dates are often changed. And despite when it comes out, I’ll still probably see it.

    • #6 by Tom Baker on October 16, 2011 - 1:12 PM

      I hope not since filming hasn’t even begun or maybe Willis’ part is small in the movie. Maybe he dies early on in the film. I’ll want to see it too, regardless.

  4. #7 by A Pakistani Boy on October 15, 2011 - 4:56 AM

    I like Die Hard 2 the most! It’s hilarious!

    • #8 by Tom Baker on October 16, 2011 - 7:37 AM

      I’m a big fan of the original! Yippee-ki-yay!

  5. #9 by pdasbarbara on October 14, 2011 - 11:42 PM

    Absolute Die Hard Fan…. cannot wait to watch the new to be released. If the torch passes on…the son better be capable of taking on where his father (read Bruce) leaves off…else, as a fan I shall die hard…

    • #10 by Tom Baker on October 16, 2011 - 7:29 AM

      Don’t die hard Barbara. Maybe when the movie does come out and you see it, you could write a movie review. I would love to hear your thoughts.

  6. #11 by Paul Orr on October 14, 2011 - 7:50 PM

    I quite enjoyed “Die Hard”. There was something about Bruce Willis’ ‘tongue and cheek’ style. The new generation of actors take themselves much to seriously. Maybe it would be best if they called it a ‘day’.

    • #12 by Tom Baker on October 16, 2011 - 7:28 AM

      I’m starting to agree Paul. I think John McClane going out with a bang would be good the franchise and then leave it at that. As long as his death isn’t corny like Captain Kirk’s was in Star Trek Generations. Kirk isn’t really dead by the way. He’s still in the Nexus!

  7. #13 by Eve Montgomery on October 14, 2011 - 7:09 PM

    Not a Bruce Willis fan but I do love movie news.

    • #14 by Tom Baker on October 16, 2011 - 7:25 AM

      I have more movie news tomorrow. Stay tuned!

  8. #15 by Bridgesburning Chris King on October 14, 2011 - 3:03 PM

    I am a Die Hard fan…and let’s see…um..Taylor Lautner I think would do a fine job as son of having his shirt off and beating bad guys..although would hate to see Willis not continue..

    • #16 by Tom Baker on October 16, 2011 - 7:25 AM

      Sometimes too much of a good thing is actually bad. Maybe it is best that McClane die and no one takes over the reigns. The original Die Hard is still the best!

  9. #17 by Iron Cook Carl on October 14, 2011 - 2:57 PM

    Well Tom, I like Shia in Transformers but I wasn’t a big fan of the last Indiana Jones movie at all. I thought and I thought in just the few minutes I’ve been here and I cannot think of one person I would cast as John Jr. To be as good as his father without the vengeance factor will be difficult. Maybe it won’t be his son at all. Perhaps dude from Die Hard 4 married his daughter and he will take over for him? Maybe the daughter? Maybe it will be better if no torch is passed at all.

    • #18 by Tom Baker on October 16, 2011 - 7:23 AM

      Taylor Lautner’s name came up once or twice but he doesn’t look like Bruce and he doesn’t look like the girl who would be his sister. I’m reserving my opinion of him until I get to see his latest movie, Abduction. He might be a perfect fit. No the last Indiana Jones movie was ridiculous from start to finish. Maybe Bruce will just die and the franchise with it.

      • #19 by Deborah the Closet Monster on October 17, 2011 - 9:14 PM

        Ha! I forgot all about the real last one! I was thinking of the Samuel L. Jackson one. The other one (a.k.a. “the actual last one”) was reasonably enjoyable.

Leave Me With A Portion Of You ...

