New Recurring Post Idea: Are You Smarter Today Than You Were Yesterday?

I have a wealth of knowledge in the deep recesses of my mind and from reading and watching Jeopardy, I find that I am constantly adding to the gray matter. I thought to myself that it might be a good idea to share what I know. Perhaps it would inspire someone to leave some of their knowledge for me in the comment section. That isn’t really important cause I just want to share. If you read this it won’t really make you smarter but it will fill your head with some new worthless trivia courtesy of Tom Baker.

FACT:

Your body makes 2,000,000 million new red blood cells every second of every day. That means your body is making 120,000,000 new red blood cells every minute. Which in turn means your body is making 720,000,000 every hour. That means you do the math because these figures are getting far beyond my pay level.

Additionally, red blood cells (erythrocytes) are made in the red bone marrow in your bones. Furthermore, despite what you may have been told as a child, blood is always red. It may appear to be blue underneath you skin but it is most definitely ALWAYS red. If you doubt, blood is drawn from your veins. Veins carry deoxygenated blood throughout your body. If blood were truly blue then when you donated blood it would come out of your body and fill the bag with ‘blue blood’. Blood is always red.

So tell me, is this a worthwhile series or just not a smart idea?

, ,

  1. #1 by Cherlyn on November 1, 2011 - 3:49 AM

    I like this post idea, and I look forward to the next one :) I did know this trivia about blood though – mostly due to combination of biology and regular blood donations. Thanks for sharing though!

    • #2 by Tom Baker on November 2, 2011 - 7:39 AM

      So, I need to come up with something that Cherlyn doesn’t know next time. I’m up for the challenge!

  2. #3 by brittany220 on October 30, 2011 - 3:27 PM

    That’s a ton of red blood cells!! Cool, I didn’t know all that. :)

    • #4 by Tom Baker on October 30, 2011 - 8:09 PM

      I tried to do the math for just one day and I got tired of writing all those zeros!

  3. #5 by pdasbarbara on October 27, 2011 - 9:18 AM

    actually a good idea…

    My personal addition.. the sky is blue not because it is coloured blue, the way we do it with crayons(!)…but because thats the only colour it cannot absorb and therefore reflects instead….

    • #6 by Tom Baker on October 28, 2011 - 7:19 AM

      I knew that but what is strange to me is that it reflect the ocean water but ocean water is really clear so what is actually being reflected? If you know, please share.

  4. #7 by actuallystrange on October 27, 2011 - 2:23 AM

    That sounds interesting. :) I think it’s a good idea; more knowledge is usually a good thing.

    • #8 by Tom Baker on October 28, 2011 - 7:16 AM

      Did you know all that about blood?

Leave Me With A Portion Of You ...

