Near Earth Asteroid Passing Between Moon And Earth: Tuesday November 7th, 2011

It might be a long shot but if anyone knows how to get in touch with Bruce Willis or Billy Bob Thornton; call them now! The world needs them.

Actually we are in no real danger. The asteroid scheduled to pass between the Earth and the Moon’s orbits on Tuesday is larger in size than an aircraft carrier (roughly 1,100 feet long).

This particular space rock is coming closer to Earth than any other in almost 35 years. NASA’s Near Earth Object Program manager, Don Yeomans says that they (NASA) is 100 percent sure the colossal rock poses no threat to Earth and will definitely not hit us.

The asteroid was found in 2005 and consequently is called 2005 YU55 will be approaching Earth from the direction of the Sun.

“The best time to observe it would be in the early evening on November 8 from the East Coast of the United States,” Yeomans said. “It is going to be very faint, even at its closest approach. You will need a decent-sized telescope to be able to actually see the object as it flies by.”

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by Broken Sparkles on November 9, 2011 - 8:09 AM

    Yes, I’ve heard about that … from my 8 years old nephew who found it on google and wanted to stay awake last night and see the asteroid. It made me smile big time, it was hard to convince him that it will be so dark that he won’t be able to see anything …

    • #2 by Tom Baker on November 11, 2011 - 1:03 PM

      Too bad he doesn’t have a telescope to see the asteroid. What a thing to be able to tell his children he saw!

  2. #3 by barrycyrus on November 7, 2011 - 11:03 AM

    Err, when I was younger swamped in encyclopedias and science books, i actually got terrified as I was reading this kind of stuff. Lol.

    • #4 by Tom Baker on November 11, 2011 - 12:55 PM

      It can be a frightening thing for a child. I remember being afraid of sharks but I had my National Geographic and TimeLife books out all the time looking at them.

  3. #5 by Ms. Me on November 6, 2011 - 11:34 PM

    You know that’s pretty neat. Ironically I just saw my first shooting star yesterday night, I actually saw two in about a 5-10 min time frame the first was moving a tad bit slower than the second. It wasn’t actually the very first shooting star I have seen I just haven’t seen any since I was a little girl. I’ll be looking for this on Tuesday.

    • #6 by Tom Baker on November 11, 2011 - 12:54 PM

      Watching meteorites burn up in the atmosphere is very exciting. I’ve only seen a handful myself. The universe is an amazing place.

  4. #7 by Juan202020 on November 6, 2011 - 8:10 AM

    That’s too close for comfort. I came by for the guest post. What happened? What was the info she was gonna share?

    • #8 by Tom Baker on November 11, 2011 - 12:52 PM

      I agree Juan, it is too close for comfort. I’m still trying to contact Lakia to get more information from her. Stay tuned. Same Bat time, same at channel.

  5. #9 by TemptingSweets99 on November 6, 2011 - 1:08 AM

    I still think we need to call Bruce and or Billy Bob. The best way to contact Bruce would be through Demi. She’s on Twitter, right? Send her a tweet and she’ll shout out to Bruce. That’s the best way I can think to contact Bruce. :-D

    • #10 by Tom Baker on November 11, 2011 - 12:51 PM

      A narrow escape! It’s a good thing we didn’t need them. Unfortunately I’m not a fan of Twitter. Maybe I should get an account regardless.

      • #11 by TemptingSweets99 on November 11, 2011 - 1:00 PM

        LOL! Yes, it’s good we didn’t need them. Whew! I don’t have a Twitter account, either.

Leave Me With A Portion Of You ...

