Poetic License – December 2011

Posted on the first Monday of every month, Poetic License consists of eight carefully selected poems for your reading pleasure from the thousands posted across the Internet daily. I only want the best for those who make it through the sea of blog posts to my blog. I hope you truly enjoy this month’s selection. If there is a particular poem that you find moving, please visit the link of the poet and let him or her know.

Either Way
by Joel Portman

Coming home.
Upon the ground there are red roses, lying on white.
As I walk through them, I approach the darkness.
Strong.  Blue.  Black.
Can’t hear, but I see smiles.
Whose smiles?
Movement. Feel it.
Can’t do it.
Who is this? I didn’t know, but now I am sure.
From where? Leaning.
But is it sturdy? What happens if it is not?
I do not know.
Tell me. I wish I knew.
Clarity.
Why risk it? Why invest?
Maybe it is worth it. Maybe it is not.
Lying. Future. Possibility.
Smashed!
La la la.
Why not?
Okay.
I want to see the options…
Where are they going?
I wish I knew.

Fever Dream
by Hedgewitch

So many nights I go to bed alone
still thinking what I dream is what is real,
your name a vesper on my lips of stone.

The past is just a rind that I have thrown
beneath the churn of time’s unknowing wheel
that grinds the nights here as I sleep alone.

I hear your voice, a whisper made of bone.
I feel ghost arms that shut like traps of steel,
and pray for respite with my lips of stone

to ears made deaf, from which all care has flown,
that heed no word of mine, that will not feel
the burden of these nights I sleep alone.

I send my mind to sail on the unknown,
where fever dreams float ships that dip and reel,
and every seasick night I sleep alone.

The journey that I make can’t end in home
when nothing seen nor felt is ever real.
Yet still each night I go to bed alone
your name a vesper on my lips of stone.

Bound To Timelessness
by José Ruy Pimentel de Castro

My thankful soul
will always appreciate
the promise of a shared love life
that is bound to timelessness

(a few days ago, I called you my husband
A few days ago, you called me your wife)

In my wombs
there is life;
In my head
there are colorful dreams;
In my lungs
there is air I release
as a vivid love whisper
that mingles to my nectar tasting passion
sweetening your lips,
quickening your heartbeats,
feeding me with expectancy
of heated kisses at night
and playful touches I awaited all day

This day I spent wanting
to finally run to your arms
as you pushed the door opened;
and as this day finishes
I thank God for having you lying beside me
and for another day yet to come

You, darling, mean the Moon to me;
you are the high tide forcing my shore
you are the low tide inviting me in
only to submerge me
in breathtaking waves of delightfulness

And, darling, I want to mean the Earth to you;
I want my trees to bare fruits,
my rivers to refresh your body,
my soil to be the stand of our home
and the place where our children will play

My thankful soul
will always appreciate
the promise of a shared love life
that is bound to timelessness

But for now, I decide to stop thinking this much
and accept the invitation of your arms
calling me to the coziness of our bed
and the beginning of a well-lived life
with you


Beautiful Weed
by Christine Moran

I applaud the ability to
hold a bud of language
and transform it into
an exotic blossom of words.

I see my writing more
in terms of a dandelion;
(no offense to this
humble weed),

whose modest flower
becomes a ball of tufted
fruits which, if blown far
enough to reach me,
may stay just long enough
to procreate.

Road
by Reetam Majumder

every road i have to walk
and every key that has no lock
and every door i’ve had to knock
on when evening comes.

and every night without a day
and every word i have to say
and every barn where i lay
when my legs feel numb

a summer night
a winter sky
thoughts of rain
a pale goodbye
and i dream in grey
and i dream in grey

grasping at a flitting thought
the horizon i have sought
the special place that i lost
with the rooster’s call

on every corner of the road
past the pavement where i stood
the streetlights flicker like my mood
till the moment is past

the last time
that i smiled
the morning dew
our fates entwined
and i dream in grey
and i dream in grey

i am there i am here
till the day we disappear
we are not what we were
and my dream is a song

and my dream is a song.

Thus…
by A Pakistani Boy

First thought
When you ask
Why?

Is the sound
Of my breaking heart,
It’s noise.

And then flows
The train of pain,
Crushing my joy.

But still you
Cannot comprehend
Why?

Thus I’m silent,
Speechless.
Thus…Goodbye

Insert Title Here
by Aila Cruz

Stay

For every step that you take is a wound in my heart

If you love me,

Well, then bring me the horizon.

Say

Everything I want to hear from your lips, my love

If you love me,

Well then bring me the horizon.

For yours are the only hands that I want to hold

Your smile, even a glance

Nothing shall keep us apart, you see

Come with me to the horizon.


Mirrors Of My Soul
by pdasBarbara

As tears they flow
my feelings so overwhelming.
The happiness, when joy falls like beautiful pearl drops.
The pain, like shattered melted glass beadlets…
The passion at its peak, when love melts and flows:
Every sinew feeling the beauty of the world
in the beloved’s arms.
A fear, so great that it trembles its way out every nook:
Yes I have lived, yes I am alive;
In every tear that I shed as I live:
Mirrors of my soul,
My tear filled eyes.

All Rights Reserved © by their respective authors. Tom Baker and his Morning Erection blog make no claims to any poetry other than his own.

If your poem is featured on Poetic License please consider adding the graphic to your site. It definitely is not required but you would make me a happy camper!

, , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Aila Cruz on December 11, 2011 - 7:16 AM

    Thank you Tom. Really. I went AWOL on blogging for the past few weeks, now I think I found the inspiration to write again! *weeps* kidd. More power! :)

    • #2 by Tom Baker on December 11, 2011 - 7:55 AM

      I for one am glad to see you back. Inspiration is a good thing! It smells better than perspiration anyway!

  2. #3 by David (1MereMortal) on December 10, 2011 - 12:29 PM

    Beautiful selection of poems.

    • #4 by Tom Baker on December 10, 2011 - 8:54 PM

      Thank you David, I concur with your perception. It is always great to see you here.

  3. #5 by joseruypc on December 7, 2011 - 8:23 PM

    Thank you for letting me know my poem was featured here, Tom. I appreciate it.

    • #6 by Tom Baker on December 8, 2011 - 6:23 AM

      No, no, it is I who once again need to thank you for letting me feature the poem. Thanks.

  4. #7 by Seth Winternight on December 7, 2011 - 5:40 AM

    It’s great to read more poetic splendour that you submit to us. Even more joyful to see your blogging is still strong.

    • #8 by Tom Baker on December 8, 2011 - 6:21 AM

      Seth, glad to see you back online! Continue to enjoy the poetry because I don’t plan on ending this feature any time soon.

  5. #9 by ManicDdaily on December 6, 2011 - 9:36 PM

    Lovely poems. I am partial to Hedgewitch’s because I like her work, and also I like villanelles, but all are lovely. Thanks. K.

    • #10 by Tom Baker on December 8, 2011 - 6:20 AM

      Hers is very nice and I’m glad you took the time to stop by here to read a poem that you may have already read on her site. Thank you.

  6. #11 by A Pakistani Boy on December 6, 2011 - 10:31 AM

    A beautiful collection! Some of the poems are breathtaking!

    • #12 by Tom Baker on December 8, 2011 - 6:10 AM

      Thank you for letting me feature your poem here as well APB. I’m glad you liked the selection. Make sure you come back in January. It is shaping up to be another great selection.

  7. #13 by Rose Reynolds on December 6, 2011 - 6:51 AM

    Each one is beautiful in their own way and I think the last two are my favorite. Nice selection Tom.

    • #14 by Tom Baker on December 8, 2011 - 6:00 AM

      Hey Rose, I hope you and James are doing well. Each poem is great. Thanks for dropping in.

  8. #15 by hedgewitch on December 5, 2011 - 8:13 PM

    Thanks for featuring me, Tom, and for reminding me, as it’s been some time. Enjoyed the other posts as well.

    • #16 by Tom Baker on December 8, 2011 - 6:00 AM

      No, the thanks comes from me. I truly appreciate you allowing me to offer a piece of yourself to those who frequent this blog.

  9. #17 by TemptingSweets99 on December 5, 2011 - 12:09 AM

    Very nice collection of poems. Thank you.

    • #18 by Tom Baker on December 8, 2011 - 5:57 AM

      They are very nice. Poetry is one of my favorite forms of writing and I’m always on the look out for ones I can feature here!

Leave Me With A Portion Of You ...

